Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll want to watch this again and again!!
This is one of the funniest films I've seen. Ever. It shows how teenagers really are, horny, desperate, confused and full of abusive language.
The way Alyson Hannigan portrays Michelle, the sexually active band geek is awsome. You'll be going to you friends "This One Time..."
This definatly holds some of the funniest character's you'll ever come across. Stifler...
Published on 2 Aug 2004 by buffy_harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I remember it at the time.
Maybe because I'm older, maybe because it's dated, maybe because I've seen it before and had heard all the gags. Whatever reason, this just didn't seem as funny as I remember it 10 years ago.
Published on 10 Dec 2010 by G. Ellis


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll want to watch this again and again!!, 2 Aug 2004
This is one of the funniest films I've seen. Ever. It shows how teenagers really are, horny, desperate, confused and full of abusive language.
The way Alyson Hannigan portrays Michelle, the sexually active band geek is awsome. You'll be going to you friends "This One Time..."
This definatly holds some of the funniest character's you'll ever come across. Stifler is pure entertainment, Jim is generally amusing, Finch is just so werid and everyone else is so unique you'll be falling off your chair with laughter!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Funny, Funny, Funny, Barf, Funny......., 7 Mar 2000
This review is from: American Pie [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Some people have stated that this film is the Porky's for the nineties. I disagree, Porky's was unrealistic and daft. American pie, it has to be said, is one of those films which captures the moment precisely and is therefore extreemly funny. The script was written by someone who fully understands the sexual angst that teenagers go through in order to 'come of age'. The whole apple pie scene definitly deserves to enter cinema myth and legend as one of those great funnies, which I'm sure will be copied to death, as will the 'Beer with added extras' scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The King of Teen Comedies, 22 Aug 2002
By 
This review is from: American Pie [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
A hilarious tale of high school friends on the ultimate quest to lose their virginity. American Pie succeeds not only because is it hilarious, but also because the portrayl of teenage urges is something that most people can relate to. The cast are all fantastic in their roles, a first for a teen movie. Jason Biggs and Sean William Scott are the most notable of the teenage roles, but the real highlight of the cast is Eugene Levy as Jim's outrageous father. A great film to watch alone or with friends, and good for repeated viewings. The sequel is also recommended for bigger and louder laughs, but it lacks the heart and charm of the original.
There are a few features on this DVD, the usual trailer, an interesting featurette, some out-takes and a commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars witzig... und spritzig, 21 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: American Pie [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Mich hat der Film königlich amüsiert. Man(n)/frau erinnert sich an die eigene Teenie-/Schulzeit zurück, wo das be"filmte" Thema ebenfalls Ranghöchstwert hatte. Zwar ist der Film nur beim "ersten Mal" wirklich komisch - im Kino habe ich Tränen gelacht wie die meisten auch -, allerdings kann man ihn sich mit Freunden und jungen Familienmitgliedern öfter ansehen und dabei noch schmunzeln. Sieht man ihn sich jedoch unter "pädagogischen" und "künstlerisch wertvollen" Aspekten an, setzt man zu hohe Erwartungen, die der Film weder erfüllen kann noch meines Erachtens erfüllen will.
Schade um diejenigen, die das nicht beachtet haben. Ihnen ist der eigentliche Sinn dieses Films meiner Meinung nach entgangen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fine film, not to be missed, 28 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: American Pie [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
'American Pie' is great! I went to see it twice at the cinema, and I can't wait to get it on video. The previous reviewer is right that it's like a version of 'Porkies' for the nineties - it's a modern updating of the 80's frat-house comedy genre in more ways than one. By contrast with its earlier (inferior) cousin, 'American Pie' is intelligent, unexploitative and has decent roles for its female characters.
It's also tempting to compare 'Pie' to 'There's Something About Mary' because both films share a high gross-out factor - Jim's exploits with the pie, his sock (!) and a collection of adult magazines form a running joke through the course of the whole film, and there probably isn't a sexual taboo that isn't confronted. And of course there's the funny-tasting beer and the laxative gags (both of which the film would have been better without, really).
But to compare 'American Pie' with either of these other films is to miss what makes is truly unique - it's outlook is unashamedly romantic and optimistic, with a complex set of messages that you'd never expect from a film nominally about four guys out to get laid. Our heroes' relationships evolve in entirely different, unexpected ways, largely avoiding clichés and cheap gags too... resulting in much of the film being totally hilarious: the live-sex Internet broadcast is awesomely funny. See this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So not the usual US teen cheese., 29 Aug 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ever since 'Animal House' and 'Porky's' almost every American high school/teen comedy has been dire, notably anything with Tom Green in it. So, when a friend leant me their copy 'American Pie' on vid i was pretty skeptical at first. So, I was pretty schocked to find myself chuckling out loud almost continuously. Best scenes for me are the Internet broadcast, dad and his porno mags and the killer line at the end of the 'band camp' blarney. This is way better than 'Animal House' and 'Porky's' and is possibly the best comedy for a very long time. And that includes 'The full Monty'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUETLY THE BEST FILM EVER, 30 April 2000
By A Customer
Ignore anyone whos says this film is pants, it is the ultimate in hilarity. If you are one of those sad people who doesnt enjoy disgusting humour, you must be a lonely person! Ameican Pie just never stops with the jokes, I can't stop watching it! From the "Pale Ale", to "warm apple pie" and "I stuck a flute in my........", oh and "Stiflers Revenge" and........there are too many good points to this film that I just can't list them all. Stop reading these reviews and just BUY IT NOW.........GO ON DO IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Pie when is number 2 out??, 22 Oct 2000
By A Customer
There isn't much extra in the uncut version, but it is a extra funny film,I have watched it countless times, and still laugh at it.I can't wait for no 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feast on this Pie, 29 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. William Oxley "oxenblocks" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The scene is set with all four teenage boys realising that prom night is approaching fast and none of them have become men yet. Thay make a pact to lose their viginity before the big night ends.

The visual humour flows thick and fast. Sit back and enjoy what you wish happened when you were 18, and at other times thank god did not happen when you were 18.

The second and third installment do not match up to this, because this is fresh and new, whilst the next 2 build on the same joke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Pie, 24 Jan 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
If you mix some of the most toe-curlingly embarrassing scenes with some of the grossest practical jokes with some of the twee-est and sugary sweet romantic episodes all together you should end up with a film that is, in simple terms, a load of rubbish. You get all this, and more, with American Pie and yet somehow this remains and one of the most entertaining and funniest films I have ever seen.
The "rite of passage" of teenage high school kids has been filmed again and again, some with more success than others, and this film doesn't have any secret ingredients. It follows the story of four high school friends trying their hardest to loose their virginities before the high school prom dance. Each has their very own particular hang-up about why they never seem to succeed with girls and we follow our four heroes through their varying ups and downs.
What American Pie does do differently to the other brat-frat type films is take a huge dose of self-depreciation so that it never comes over high handed or fantastical. Yes, all the high school kids seem to have perfect teeth, hair and bodies, but they are all so imperfect in their own way you can identify with them and sympathise with their predicaments.
Anyway enough of the "message", what about the great scenes. The "father-son" relationship of Jim and his father is simply magic. The transformation of Oz from sport-jock to choirboy-romantic whilst being almost vomit inducing on the one hand works in such a lovely simple way on the other you can't help but be drawn in by it. The "Graduate" likening of Finch's big night is great fun and the best character has to be "Band Camp" Alyson. Where did you leave your flute by the way?
Forget the meanings, forget good taste, sit back and roar with laughter. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

American Pie/Half-Baked Value Pack [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £29.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews