Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A returm to form for the boy Smith
The Fall have their off moments, and I've witnessed a few!, but The Unutterable is a strong,gutsy album with welcome diversions into the blues and jazz influences which are clearly on Mark Smiths' mind. If you have ever wondered what The Fall are about but have been confused by the vast back catalogue, then this album is a wonderful introduction to their style.
Published on 6 April 2001

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars what's a computer?
My 30 somethingth Fall cd, an expensive habit... I didn't find it as accessible as other stuff, but some is jolly. My complaint is that it fades away towards the end, as I felt about Marshal Suite. I love Ketamine Sun. I wish they'd do a bit more with the artwork- those from the mid 80's all had plenty of stuff tolook out, not some dodgy little computer generated pic that...
Published on 24 Nov 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A returm to form for the boy Smith, 6 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Unutterable (Audio CD)
The Fall have their off moments, and I've witnessed a few!, but The Unutterable is a strong,gutsy album with welcome diversions into the blues and jazz influences which are clearly on Mark Smiths' mind. If you have ever wondered what The Fall are about but have been confused by the vast back catalogue, then this album is a wonderful introduction to their style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long awaited and excellent NEW album from The Fall, 11 Nov 2000
This review is from: The Unutterable (Audio CD)
For those hardened fans of The Fall, this is the long awaited new album that leaps from a sea of re-releases and rehased material.
This is an all new album from an all new band, with the notable and unreplaceable exception of the Manc legend MES.
This is probably not a classic Fall album, but it contains some real gems. Notably, the kicking Two Librans and Way Round. MES is back on form with his comment on real urban life in Dr. Bucks' Letter. This is a musically adept album from The Fall, pushing new limits in their musicality, in tracks such as Ketamine Sun.
This album is a must to any fan of The Fall during the past 20+ years.
For the uninitiated who may choose to buy, listen and then ask "what is this?". Put it back in the CD player, listen to it once more, and then again, then like an insidous growth it will nag inside you and call attention to itself. You will become a fan of The Fall and this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'I lost my temper with a friend...', 28 Feb 2001
This review is from: The Unutterable (Audio CD)
Sounding more energetic and downright exiciting than they have done for several years, the fall's latest is comparable with the very best they've done. Forget 'This Nations Saving Grace', 'Extricate' or whatever your personal favourite happens to be, this is here and now. 'Dr Bucks Letter' is indeed a classic cut, grinding, repetitive and with a fantastic lyric which will make you marvel once again at the man they call MES. 'Cyber Inseckt' a great opener and 'Hot Runes' apart from name-checking ex footballer now Talk Sport radio present Alan Brazil in the lyric, contains the sort of great guitar riff the fall always used to do so well.
Always interesting, right through to the end, which although presents several more 'experimental' cuts, still enthralls.
Buy it today, and make yourself happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Six years on..., 26 Jan 2007
By 
Blake Paine (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unutterable (Audio CD)
...This is still a great album. I can't really describe the music any more than I could write it, but the amazing riffs, the unique rhythms, the wonderful tunes and the vocals make it something very special indeed.

We should rejoice that this country can still produce songwriters of this quality in an age when the public are expected to admire the mediocrity of 'The X Factor' and boy bands.

If you are prepared to take a step outside your cosy musical familiarity and buy this album, it may just open your mind to something unexpectedly brilliant.

After you've listened to a few Fall albums, the fact that MES can't actually sing in the conventional sense becomes an asset rather than a hinderance.

Spend your money on this album as an investment for the rest of your life. You won't regret it, unless you like 'The X Factor' and boy bands of course, in which case please stay put in your musical cul-de-sac.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Latest offering sees the Fall on a rise, 24 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Unutterable (Audio CD)
For anyone who's bought at least one Fall album in your life (and there must be thousands of you) and you're still a bit sceptical that MES and the team can still deliver the goods, buy this album and set your mind at rest. There are three classic on here: Ketamine Sun, Two Librans and Dr Buck's Letter. This sounds fresh, new and compelling and when it doesn't win next year's Mercury Music Prize, we should take to the streets demanding a public holiday to mark the Fall's 35th anniversary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unutterably good, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unutterable (Audio CD)
OK not every track is excellent but this has to be one of the best Fall LPs ever. MES in sharp form with great songs & quite a dose of humour 'Cyber Insekt come on back :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars innovative and bursting with vitality, 19 April 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unutterable (Audio CD)
The Unutterable is quite simply one of the most amazing musical and lyrical experiences I have ever heard. As an exercise in creativity and inventiveness it ranks amongst the very best in the history of rock music. If you appreciate challenging, innovative and ultimately rewarding music, that is ideally suited as an accompanyment to illicit pill consumption, then this is for. The Unnutterable stands up there with the very best - Can's 'Tago Mago', Captain Beefheart's 'Trout Mask Replica', Boards of Canada's 'Campfire Headphase' and Beta Band's 'Three Ep's'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Help me, please...I can't seem to get this out of my Walkman, 8 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Unutterable (Audio CD)
Wow, I haven't gotten this excited about a Fall release for quite some time. Hell, I haven't gotten this excited about ANY release for quite some time. What's not to like about it? Perhaps I could do without the bumbling "Midwatch 1953" (but then again, I always adored "Bug Day" from Wonderful and Frightening World - a track it seems almost everyone else hates). Personal favorites: "Cyber Insekt," "Sons of Temperance," "Dr. Bucks' Letter," "Hot Runes," "Ketamine Sun," and "Hands Up Billy."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dr Bucks Letter - Best Fall Song Ever, 12 Mar 2008
By 
P. J. Sharp "Hill Top Man" (Marlow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Unutterable (Audio CD)
My title says it all. I have no idea what the rest of the CD is like (truely) I just have Dr Bucks on repeat - deep rumbling bass, funny lyrics, brilliant when turned up to 11...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Unutterable (Audio CD)
The Fall return with what is arguably their best release ever, and easily the most accessible. This album is catchy, fresh, light and upbeat (even more so than the Infotainment Scan). Stunning keyboards, and catchy riffs - it's a joy. 'Ketamine Sun', 'Cyber Insekt' and 'Hands Up Billy' are the stand out tracks. Nice to see NME giving it the thumbs up as well. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unutterable
The Unutterable by The Fall (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews