Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a treat for the senses AND the imagination!
This film is simply wonderful!
Aesthetically, there is a dreamy, timeless quality to this film... and the costumes and settings are just beautiful. The attention to detail at times quite took my breath away!

Quite frankly, anyone who has watched this film and called it rubbish has, in my opinion, vastly missed the point!!! But it is incredibly erotic. For...
Published on 18 April 2006 by Ms. E. L. Bullimore

versus
59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disapointing cut
This dubbed version is far inferior to the subtitled original French version. I suspect that this is the release originally shown in the USA, but in any case it suffers for crucially cut scenes and poorly translated dubbing (often mangling the books original text). Sometimes cut scenes mean that the story jumps about and doesn’t make complete sense. Even the...
Published on 22 April 2002 by C. Makepeace


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disapointing cut, 22 April 2002
This dubbed version is far inferior to the subtitled original French version. I suspect that this is the release originally shown in the USA, but in any case it suffers for crucially cut scenes and poorly translated dubbing (often mangling the books original text). Sometimes cut scenes mean that the story jumps about and doesn’t make complete sense. Even the haunting score is ruined because of time changes from these cuts.
All the dubbed accents are American (even the supposedly English sir Steven) and Sir Steven is annoying called Sir Stephan (as if he was French) even though the original French soundtrack clearly pronounces his name ‘Steven’.
In the French version this is easily worth 4 stars (Even for die hard fans of the book like me). I advise any fans to wait for someone to release the original cut, or watch the film4 version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointing, 8 Jun. 2005
By 
BS DAVIES "izzard7" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Story Of O [1975] [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I had huge expectations of an erotic film that would remain in my memory for years to come. What I got was a hugely disappointing mess that had no direction or momentum, that would not have been out of place on the Channel 5 watershed spot. Quite frankly, if this was the film that got the pulses pumping, then I must have missed something. I assume the original French version with English subtitles changes this hyped up drivel to the raved about classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a treat for the senses AND the imagination!, 18 April 2006
By 
Ms. E. L. Bullimore "elle" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is simply wonderful!
Aesthetically, there is a dreamy, timeless quality to this film... and the costumes and settings are just beautiful. The attention to detail at times quite took my breath away!

Quite frankly, anyone who has watched this film and called it rubbish has, in my opinion, vastly missed the point!!! But it is incredibly erotic. For anyone interested in BDSM, this is a fantastic description of the lifestyle offering informed insights to the emotional as well as the sexual aspects of the lifestyle.

Where many glimpses at BDSM have a tendency to make the acts look cold and often off putting to anyone who doesn't share the inclination, this film offers both an informed and touching account that can't fail to stir the curiosity. The psyche's of the characters are well explained and the relationships well developed. Sure, at times, it is a little cheesy... but the cheese simply adds to the wonderful world of frolicking nymphs and unhindered sexual exploration that is created.

For anyone that is seduced by the idea of chained waifs and dominant Masters cavorting in castles... this is a must see!
A real treat for the senses and the imagination!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The British edition SUCKS!!!, 6 Sept. 2006
By 
Ricardo Rebelo (Gondomar Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the greatest erotic novel ever written and the movie is truly a wonderful erotic experience!

But this edition, made and censored (gee wiz) in the UK (I guess que BBFC prefers canes), sucks like a vacuum cleaner.

There are no subtiles. Don't get me worng. I don't understand jack of french so I prefer english subtiles instead of enflish voices. Also, the voices are misplaced sometimes... It's just plain horrible.

If you really want to get a Deluxe Edition of this try Amazon.ca, where you get a disc with all the options (sbtitles, lengages, etc.) plus lots of extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A poetic movie. Review contains spoiler., 7 Nov. 2010
The movie is about a woman called O who is on a journey to please her lover Rene. Her journey is one of sexual slavery, objectification, freedom, emotional and physical bonds, ties and training. O later meets Sir Stephen, someone who will become a really big part of her life.

I've seen this four times and I'd watch again. Maybe not every day even if Story of O is one of my favourite books but this is a nice, quality movie version. The best parts are the music, not the pop songs or an attempt at those which are cringeworthy (thankfully there's only one when they show O being a professional photographer, in which the actress is talented but she's given cliche lines and it's a bit cheesy). The instrumental is quite lovely. It also fits the cinematography and pretty colours of the movie.

I think the movie is also what you take from it. It's not particularly erotic, for example when O is whipped whilst I like that you can see she's not laughing like some maniac and so fitting in with some people's views of BDSM, she's actually reacting to the whipping like a "normal person" but I'd have liked to have seen more sensuality. Afterall this is a sensual story. It is a story about love too and there is intensity, perhaps more I feel between O and Sir Stephen. I liked Sir Stephen in this, even if at one point the narrator tells us that he whips O to the point of unconciousness (for her) but there is a quality to the actor. I didn't realise it was young Udo Keir who played RENE, so I looked at him a bit different the next time. Initially I found him a boring pretty eyed young man, with not nearly as much charisma as Sir Stephen.

And when O is touched, it's not erotic at all. It comes off just as pain and tolerance and we're led to believe she does enjoy it because the point of Story of O is she a willing and complete sexual slave to those Rene and later on Sir Stephen want her to be. Even the part where she is making love to Jacqueline wasn't that sensual, perhaps because it had no drama unlike what we have seen O experience at the Chateu- where she undergoes some of her training to be a sexual slave.

So it's a pretty looking movie, a nice one, I don't feel it adds anything to the book by any means but it's not a bad adaptation. It's quite classy, with the instrumental music that will stay in your head and the movie does have in particular one beautiful image which I love, O on the boat by moonlight wearing an owl mask and arriving at a party Sir Stephen's property and slave. She looks stunning.

I'm unsure about the ending of the movie. The dvd does have extra features which include an interview with the director but they ask about the beginning of the movie. Not the end. This movie presents Story of O as a story of love. The trailer included on the dvd, calls it a heartwrenching tale of love. I suppose O wouldn't be O without her love for Rene so it is a love story.

Spoilers.

Sometimes I think the ending of the movie is there to imply a sequel to O, that that is its main purpose. Hm..But, still the movie is one adaptation of the book. The book is something else, it's in a higher league I feel, doesn't matter how much you take from the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English was the language this was shot in, folks, 2 April 2008
By 
A. Salas "fennis2000" (Brooklyn, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I see lots of griping about the French language version of Story of O being "the original, and "better" than the English. But, uh, most of the dialogue was shot in English, since the film used British, French, German and Spanish actors. Yes, they were later dubbed, as was common in those days with international co-productions, but this means everyone in the French version is dubbed as well.

Oh, and by the way, Sir Stephen has a British, not American accent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sado-masochism for beginners, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A film that belongs to a different era but still a worthwhile show , at least for Corinne 's performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Jan. 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Story Of O [1975] [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I have seen worse films, not many, this one was a waste of money. I've seen better erotic films on television after the 9pm watershed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film !!, 7 Jun. 2009
By 
Mark Southwell (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I brought this dvd as I had seen it on Amazon for ages and ages and was curious what it was like , I was surprised it was a very good film , I expected some 80.s sleese film with loads of naked woman in it and loads of seedy sex , none of that was in the film , the story was good and easy to follow , the film has a lot of bondage in it but is very tastefully put , the sex scenes are tasteful , the one where they are having sex at the dinner table is a bit extreme but stays in context with the story , if your looking for hard core sex bondage porn don't buy this , if you want a sensual story with some very tasteful bondage and sex scenes this is the film for you .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars No love but vanity, 19 Aug. 2011
Anyway, easily the best things about the film are the pleasing soft-focus photography and Pierre Bachelet's haunting score. The stunning-looking Corinne Clery is ideally cast in the enigmatic title role - not so her male co-stars, stolid Udo Kier and a rather bemused Anthony Steel.

With too many characters involved but not enough explanation as to their particular motives, the film winds up being mostly uninvolving as a result: the female `victims' are too easily willed into participating into the clandestine and degrading goings-on, as if they - and the viewing audience with them - are supposed to take all of this twaddle for granted (not to say seriously)! However, the finale - in which Clery is seen to have mastered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Story Of O [1975] [1999] [DVD]
Story Of O [1975] [1999] [DVD] by Just Jaeckin (DVD - 2000)
£34.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews