Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !
Tim Rice and Andrew Lloyd Weber must be proud of this work, that respects the original, being dressed with new clothes !
Published 10 months ago by Nuno Leal

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing Tracks
I enjoyed this album, having already seen the performance on DVD. However, what was disappointing was finding tbat some of my favourite tracks (which are essential to the story) had been omitted in order to fit the thing on to one CD. The missing tracks were 'Damned for all time/Blood money and 'This Jesus must die'.
Published on 10 Mar 2005 by mummythemerciless


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing Tracks, 10 Mar 2005
This review is from: Jesus Christ Superstar - A New Stage Production Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I enjoyed this album, having already seen the performance on DVD. However, what was disappointing was finding tbat some of my favourite tracks (which are essential to the story) had been omitted in order to fit the thing on to one CD. The missing tracks were 'Damned for all time/Blood money and 'This Jesus must die'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic !, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Nuno Leal (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jesus Christ Superstar - A New Stage Production Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Tim Rice and Andrew Lloyd Weber must be proud of this work, that respects the original, being dressed with new clothes !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest, 3 Mar 2005
This review is from: Jesus Christ Superstar - A New Stage Production Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Wow, this seems to be one of the best recordings of a musical ever, but the reason I couldn't give it a full 5 stars was down to Jerome Pardon, who plays Judas, don't expect him to blow your mind away, although his rendition of Superstar is fantastic, everything else lacks quality and that quality comes from Glen Carter and Tony Vincent as Jesus and Simon respectively, they are fantastic and make their solos worth buying this cd on their own right.
If you want a cd that in general is fantastic go fro this, just don't expect it to be the best musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jesus Christ At It's Best, 22 July 2002
By 
justin dunn (Edgbaston , Birmingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jesus Christ Supersta (Audio CD)
Having always liked the musical , I thought that it really was never recorded as a Rock show as advertised . This CD proves that theatre is comming on along way with a stella cast and a great orchestrea , this is Jesus Christ Supper Star at it's BEST . Led by Steve Balsamo the cd includes wonderful interpretations of such classic songs as Everythings Alright , I Don't Know How To Love Him and King Herods Song . Joanna Ampil (best known for her role as Kim in Miss Saigon)again manages to steal the lime light bringing such heart to the role of Mary Magdenlene , never before truly captured on disc . The cast is very strong , though I do think Alice Cooper was a strange choice for the role of herrod , bring nothing new to a great role .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i have never heard a better jesus, 10 Nov 2002
By 
Mr D P Quinn (Glos United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jesus Christ Superstar - A New Stage Production Soundtrack (Audio CD)
well where can u start, this is truly the best version of jcs i have ever heard glen is amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album! My Favorite!, 6 Aug 2002
By 
Gretchen "Theatre Lover" (Fairfield County, CT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jesus Christ Superstar - A New Stage Production Soundtrack (Audio CD)
I had the absolute joy in seeing Glenn Carter perform as Jesus 4 times on Broadway. He has an absolutely amazing voice! I really enjoy listening to this album! There is something about Renee Castle that I prefer her as MARY MAGDALENE instead of Maya Days' MARY MAGDALENE... Do not get me wrong! Maya has a great voice, but there were times when she "squeaked," instead of "sang"... My one real regret is that Paul Kandel, the gentleman who was HEROD on Broadway, was not in the most recent Movie of JCS...
Rik Mayall reminded me a little too much of Hannibal "the Cannibal" Lecter from 'the Silence of the Lambs' and 'Hannibal' with the direct, unblinking stare... It was all I could do to NOT to hear Rik say "'I had him for dinner with some fava beans and a nice cianti.'" or whatever that fantastic line was!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars JCS, 10 Oct 2009
By 
This review is from: Jesus Christ Superstar - A New Stage Production Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Product fine but as a DVD I would have expected some "sleeve notes" inside the case and there wern't any which was disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not great!, 31 Dec 2013
This review is from: Jesus Christ Superstar - A New Stage Production Soundtrack (Audio CD)
There was no music on it, just a strange list of odd files. Rather bizarre. Have returned it for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent Work., 9 Jan 2001
By 
Agustin Buenaño (Capital Federal, Buenos Aires Argentina) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jesus Christ Superstar - A New Stage Production Soundtrack (Audio CD)
Glenn Carter's (who is actually performing Jesus in Broadway) performance is really superb. Rick Mayall also does an excellent Judas. I really liked the voice of Mary Magdalene although I liked Maya Days best in the Broadway version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jesus Christ Superstar - A New Stage Production Soundtrack
Jesus Christ Superstar - A New Stage Production Soundtrack by Andrew Lloyd Webber (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews