Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Chords- A fantastic Collection
Wow! Get this 2 CD set and become an overnight Chords completist! Every thing they ever recorded (almost) is on here.
The Chords were the shining stars of the short lived and much maligned Mod Revival of ’79, they were really more punk than mod and this certainly hindered their commercial ability at the time.
Despite being superior in every department to...
Published on 15 Aug 2003 by Andrew MacKinnon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars bit of a con
being a huge fan of the chords way back then i decided to buy this cd. read all the reveiws on it ect. it wasnt cheap either. i would advise anyone to just get the so far away cd. The chords anthology has loads of different versions of the same songs. For eg 3 versions of now its gone, 2 versoins of im not sure, 2 versions of maybe tomorrow ect ect. I think its a bit of a...
Published 20 months ago by marky


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Chords- A fantastic Collection, 15 Aug 2003
This review is from: This Is What They Want (Audio CD)
Wow! Get this 2 CD set and become an overnight Chords completist! Every thing they ever recorded (almost) is on here.
The Chords were the shining stars of the short lived and much maligned Mod Revival of ’79, they were really more punk than mod and this certainly hindered their commercial ability at the time.
Despite being superior in every department to their peers of the time (Secret Affair and Lambrettas) a breakthrough single was not to happen. Their biggest hit was the totally fantastic ‘Maybe Tomorrow’, which scraped in at 40 and then disappeared.
This compilation contains all the singles released by the original band, together with the final two with Kip on lead vocals. Every one of these releases is an absolute gem, my personal favourite being ‘British way of life’ which at the time received a partial radio ban because some stupid DJ thought the song was racist!
The final two singles were a fitting end to the group who really should have been given the chance to make another album, because on the strength of these offerings it would have been a classic. What really went wrong was by 1981 Mod was about as fashionable as being a Teddy Boy, the audience had moved on to the next fad (unfortunately in this case the fast emerging New Romantic scene) and as such record sales were minuscule.
Great sleeve notes accompany this top package with the band looking so young! Posing around the streets of their hometown.
The brief spell with Jimmy Pursey as mentor and (poor quality) producer is also covered via some interesting versions of some of their early material.
The unreleased final single is also a high point, as is the truly superb demo version of ‘I’m not Sure’ which displays the band at their absolute peak, fast furious and really in tune. Drumming as always is totally manic at this period, with chief stickman Brett Ascott clearly following in the Keith Moon school of performance!
The Jam comparisons dogged the progress of this band, but the singles and stand out album track ‘So far away’ detail a group with to these ears a stronger run of releases than that of the Jam at the time. Both versions of So far away are on here; the edited version at some stage intended for a single release-I’m sure this just might have got the band the much required hit.
It all ended up a bit bitter in the end with the group clearly disillusioned with the whole record company business, as cynically revealed in the final single ‘Turn away again’
The collective output here is certainly a real credit to both songwriting and performance and as such is a fitting tribute to these fondly remembered mod leaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is What You Want!, 15 Aug 2005
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This Is What They Want (Audio CD)
For a brief time at the end of the 70's and beginning of the 80's, The Chords were the most powerful quartet in music.
In the past they've been labelled - unfairly - as a poor man's Jam, but nothing could be further from the truth. The Chords take the mantle from The Jam's In The City and crank up the power a few more notches! If any album was recorded with the speakers turned up to 11 then their one and only album So Far Away was it.
The power is breathtaking. At their peak, no one could touch the Chords and this album is a God send to ex-mods like myself and gives us a chance to relive our youth.
Highlights include the fine singles Now It's Gone, Something Missing and the truly awesome Maybe Tomorrow. Also included are a smattering of album tracks from the aforementioned So Far Away and some unreleased tracks, best of which is Empty Dreams.
The band imploded before they could fully realise their potential, but they did leave behind some great records to remind us just how good they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agreed, 12 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: This Is What They Want (Audio CD)
There is nothing I can say that hasn't already been said above. What I will say is this - I'm an American who fell fixated with The Chords in 1985 when I bought "Maybe Tomorrow" at a basement record shop in London. I managed to acquire the lone album and all the 45s. "Maybe Tomorrow," to this day, maintains a slot on my 'Desert Island Discs' list. As the fan above noted, this is how music should sound. Exuberant, melodic and manic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic gem of street wise power pop, 11 Jan 2001
This review is from: This Is What They Want (Audio CD)
This is an incredible album. The Chords are one of the most overlooked bands of the modern era. Fantastic song writing by Chris Pope, emotional singing by Billy Hassett, great guitar work by both, mad, mad drumming by Moon influenced Ascott and punchy hook laden bass lines by Mason. This was a socially conscious band that just didn't get the breaks they deserved. The Chords are power pop at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underated power pop geniuses, 23 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: This Is What They Want (Audio CD)
The Stone Roses and Primal Scream rated The Chords as one of their favourite bands. In 1981 they meant a great deal more to the mod kids from the suburbs than any other band. Would love to hear more from around the time of "Turn Away Again"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X 82 to 87 East London Mod, 21 Dec 2006
This review is from: This Is What They Want (Audio CD)
The Chords and purple hearts and Secret affair to me were the driving force of mod music with quite a few others

The Jam by most mods didn't class them as mod, they jumped the band wagon from PUNK

The british way of life should be the UKs national anthem and it would make more sense to us

You cant go wrong if you like music that says something solid with a force to be reckoned with be you a mod or not

and its cheap too

Mod is for life so keep on modding
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new album from an old favourite, 11 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All my favourite tracks all in one place, great to listen to the new stuff as well part of my mp3 soundtrack
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars bit of a con, 15 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is What They Want (Audio CD)
being a huge fan of the chords way back then i decided to buy this cd. read all the reveiws on it ect. it wasnt cheap either. i would advise anyone to just get the so far away cd. The chords anthology has loads of different versions of the same songs. For eg 3 versions of now its gone, 2 versoins of im not sure, 2 versions of maybe tomorrow ect ect. I think its a bit of a con from the record company to get more money. Dont get me wrong The Chords were in my opinion the best " mod " band of the era and thier music is as powerfull today as back then but repeating songs aint great so if you want to hear a good cd of the chords i would advise you buy " so far away "
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT OVERLOOK THE CHORDS, 4 Oct 2010
The Chords ARE one of the best bands to come out of Britian, Their unique sound sounds as fresh today as ever, and could so easily be riding the charts if they were not so overlooked by the British Music Media of their time,(Except John Peel).

The Chords Mixed Mod & Punk, something no one else has ever done before or since, and with explosive results.
They are the missing link between the late 70s early 80s Punk and Mod movements.

All I can say is buy this album, you wont be dissapointed. This is the band that inspired the Stone Roses, Blur, Oasis and other great british guitar bands.

What a great time to get introduced to The Chords with a UK Tour coming up, and yet another CLASSIC single release "another thing coming".

Give these lads the credit they deserve, and get yourself some ear candy at the same time!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely What They Want !, 12 Oct 2009
By 
M. ISAACS "MaJIcs" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is What They Want (Audio CD)
As a firm fan of the band from their breakthrough during the 'mod revival' of the late 1970's/early 1980's I have all the singles and the album on vinyl, but had never gone as far as 'upgrading' to disc. The 30 year anniversary of Quadrophenia & the reformation to celebrate this anniversay of some of the other bands around at that time (Purple Hearts, Secret Affair, Long Tall Shorty) prompted me to 'rediscover' my enthusiasm for the music of that period. The Chords are the stand out band from that era and this anthology is as good as it gets. Crank up the volume and listen to the vibrancy and verve of CD1 and tracks like 'Maybe Tomorrow' and 'Somethings Missing' and the social comment of 'Dreamdolls' and 'Turn away Again', while the hugely descriptive 'British Way of Life' and 'In My Street' evoke a Britain emerging from a 1970's of Strikes, Shortages and Oppression into a new age. In their way these songs paint a picture of britain at this time as colourfully as The Kinks did during the 1960's. CD2 can't quite maintain the pace and momentum, but hearing demo's and rarerity's from a young band struggling to make a name for themselves supplements the 'finished articles' of CD1. Outstanding then outstanding now. Keep the faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is What They Want
This Is What They Want by The Chords (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews