Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obligado Ill Nino
What a stunning album. From the first instance I loved it. It was played solid on my car stereo from the moment I got it until the new KoRn album came out. It is fabulous. This is another album that I love every track. It is heavy and soft in all the right place. The mixture of lyrics from one language to the next is fantastic and the latino feel to it just makes the...
Published on 31 July 2002 by Kelly Lewis

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars fairly bad...
Ever wondered what Linkin Park would sound like if the played Soulfly covers?.....me neither.
This album is yet another Nu-metal album from the Roadrunner stable (when will they introduce some diversity!!) It is okay if you like light weight so called metal!
If you wanna hear tribal metal done properly, buy Seputura 'Roots' or 'Chaos A.D.'.
Published on 4 Mar 2002 by alex_d_nicholls@hotmail.com


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Obligado Ill Nino, 31 July 2002
This review is from: Revolution Revolucion (Audio CD)
What a stunning album. From the first instance I loved it. It was played solid on my car stereo from the moment I got it until the new KoRn album came out. It is fabulous. This is another album that I love every track. It is heavy and soft in all the right place. The mixture of lyrics from one language to the next is fantastic and the latino feel to it just makes the album unique.
I could rant and rave about this album all day, but see for yourself, you won't be disappointed. The more you hear it the more you will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baila la rumba latina!, 30 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Revolution Revolucion (Audio CD)
WOW! this is album is great. I bought it after just hearing Rumba, and to my delight I found that all of the songs our just as amazing. My favourite now is What Come's Around. But every single track really is just superb, from the aggressive Rip Out Your Eyes, to the (shockingly) soft With You. Cristian's voice is amazing, with English and Spanish roaring growls but also very soothing. Buy this album now, you won't be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A daringly different album, 31 Oct 2002
This review is from: Revolution Revolucion (Audio CD)
Ill Nino really have done well with this debut. Their noticeable connections with other South American groups such as Soulfly and Sepultura are evident from the beginning where the album starts with 'God Save Us'. A mixture of heavy guitar patterns and melodic singing and latin percussion and a catchy chorus to top things off, this is a great starting track. The next track,'If You Still Hate Me' continues on along the same lines with Cristian Machado's powerful vocals blending with another catchy guitar pattern. 'Unreal' is a fast paced, shock of a song. The lighter sound of the congas constantly battle against the distortion of the guitar. 'Nothings Clear' starts off with a melodic acoustic guitar intro with percussion driving it then suddenly changes into the grind of the guitars followed by another catchy and melodic chorus then the song twists back to the acoustic guitar beginning with a short burst of singing in Spanish. 'What Comes Around' is one of the best tracks on the album, Machado's vocals taking a break from the usual anguished screams to go melodic. 'Liar' is another excellent track, again very catchy with flamenco guitar breaks in the song at several points. The next songs follow the same formula as the previously mentioned songs, but they are very distinct and are never boring up to the amazing 'With You'. This is a great to a brilliant album, a ballad with soft acoustic guitar parts and latin percussion and more of Cristian Machado's soulful vocals. The bonus track, 'Fallen' sees a slower but nevertheless relentless heavy return to such songs as 'What Comes Around' and 'Liar' with touches of drums accenting excellent guitar patterns. 'Eye For An Eye' is a live cover of a song by Soulfly. It is a good effort, but will never replace the real version. 'God Save Us' sees Ill Nino captured in top form in a live concert at the Brixton Academy in London. This track also proves how very able Cristian Machado is as a frontman for the band. The track sounds hardly different from the album version, a very clear recording capturing the passion of the band playing live. Then there are versions of 'What Comes Around' and 'Unreal' in Spanish which you might think was somewhat odd but every lyric fits in perfectly and makes these 2 songs very unique and original. Finally, the CD has an enhanced feature containing the video for 1 of Ill Nino's singles, the excellent 'What Comes Around'. The future holds great things for Ill Nino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeeewalitay, 19 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Revolution Revolucion (Audio CD)
I bought this album on what might almost be a leap of faith. I like to hear an album before buying it, or at least 2 or 3 of the songs, but with this I had only ever heard and loved 'God Save Us'. And, thankfully, the rest of the album lived up to the expected standard. The best tracks are all at the start of the album, being basically all of the first 6 ('God Save Us', 'If You Still Hate Me', 'Unreal', 'Nothing's Clear', 'What Comes Around', and 'Liar'). These songs vary from one another greatly, starting with the basic but effective 'God Save Us', leading into the absolutely banging 'If You Still Hate Me' and an attempt (and a successful one at that) at something like hip-hop in 'What Comes Around'. Even after these first 6 songs, the standard doesn't drop too much, because the second last song (the title track, 'Revolution/Revolucion') is nearly as good as these. The sound of bongos is refreshing in the album, and mixes in brilliantly well, and the singers voice ranges from high quality singing, to high quality low-pitched screaming (as summed up in 'God Save Us'). These are one hell of a talented band, and deserve to be bigger than they are. I can't think of anyone that they can be compared to, but if you have heard just the one Ill Niño song and decided you liked it, you'd probably like the rest of the album. BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album is a bombshell, it will explode in your ears, 28 Mar 2002
This review is from: Revolution Revolucion (Audio CD)
The beginning and end of Ill Nino's debut Revolution/Revolucion are complete opposites. The opening track 'God save us' is a sign of things to
come in this album. At the end of it is a soothing slow track called 'with
you'. With Ill Nino being Latin you would expect some Latin influence in
their tracks, and you aren't disappointed. In tracks like Rumba, What
comes around, Predisposed and the title track Revolution/Revolucion hav-
ing the influence of of drums and bongos, Spanish guitars and having
some parts of the lyrics in Spanish. This has to be one of the best debut
albums released to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Increased my bench press in the gym!!!!!!!!!!! MAD, 19 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Revolution Revolucion (Audio CD)
Great Album. Key tracks are: God Save Us, Rip Out Your Eyes, Revolucion/Revolution, Liar, Rumba, If You Still Hate Me.
Not ashamed to say a beautiful latin love song at the end in, With You (comes as a bit of a shock).
Angry ripping lyrcis with heavy guitar riffs mixed in with Latin percussion.... Quality! Bought it after hearing God Save Us on Kerrang as something to whip me into a fury in the gym. It did the trick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ill Nino - the Revolution, 11 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Revolution Revolucion (Audio CD)
Yet another great debut from 2001 and what more can I say!
The album kicks in with the top track of 'God Save Us' which gtes you hooked from that start wanting more of the goodness Ill Nino have 2 offer.
Then there's 'What Comes Around' which the riff gets you hooked straight away!
Its within doubt that Ill Nino have been compared to the lieks of Sepultura but personally I think they are better =0) you most certainly won't be dissapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GodSaveUs, 3 Jan 2002
This review is from: Revolution Revolucion (Audio CD)
Better than drowning Pool? It's true. another classic band in the making break in2 a crushing monster of a song in opener God Save Us & keep the tempo up right up until closing track with you which calms the thrashing heart of ne with a pulse who just experienced this awesome album. key tracks are God save Us, What comes around & i am loco. The nu-metal gets more exciting by the day & if this is their first album we're all in for a treat when the second album is released, just buy it!! u need this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive,brainless fun., 14 Jan 2002
This review is from: Revolution Revolucion (Audio CD)
Yes all the songs sound a bit samey and yes, they're just adding a nu-metal spin on sepultura's tried and tested formula but none of this is stops Ill Nino from being probably the best Nu-Metal band to have emerged this year(with the possible exception on Drowning Pool).
Frankly this is brainless,thrashy fun with chugging tribal riffs and throat shredding vocals from Christian Machado,it lacks the skull-splitting power of Sepultura or the blistering heaviness of Soulfly but Revolution/Revolucion is still an essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best metal album to come out in years..., 8 July 2009
By 
E. Wright "Guns Ed" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revolution Revolucion (Audio CD)
I purchased this album on the strength of hearing "If You Still Hate Me" but from the time I first heard it I loved it and every track is a winner. An amazing blend of latin guitar music and heavy metal, it leaves very little to be desired - pounding rhythms and powerful heavy guitar melodies will infuse you with the sound. My only criticism is that some of the tracks sound similar to others, but it's really a backhanded compliment as the songs are simply so awesome that you want it to continue. Personally I found "Unreal" and "Predisposed" to be my favourites - if you like a little screaming but relish the chance to really sing your heart out along to a heartfelt and passionate and tuneful chorus with bass lines to stir your soul, then this album is for you. Other tracks like "What Comes Around" and "Revolution/Revolucion" are also incredible and their machine-gun drumming and heavy guitar will make you want to get up and rock out. Finally to add a twist to the tale, "With You" ends the album on a brilliant accoustic track, but even metal fans wont be disappointed - anyone with a nuance of taste in music will love this track for the genius that it is.
I can't stop playing this album on my car stereo. This is an album that benefits from being played really loud - you'll want to turn it right up, and if your ears aren't ringing when you eventually turn it off, the tunes will be playing in your head for days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6d92fa8)

This product

Revolution Revolucion
Revolution Revolucion by Ill Nino (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews