Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Musical Antidepressant for the dark winter-days
Play truant and immediately start to listen to 'Hop the Wag', the latest cd by piano-wizard Jools Holland and his illustrious Rhythm & Blues Orchestra, it will be well worth your trouble. Starting off with the sizzling full blazed 'Honeydripper' going all the way up and down the musical scale to solo purity with 'Remember Me'.
Jools can be considered an...
Published on 15 Jan. 2001

versus
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the usual rave review
ok...having skimmed through the other reviews...it seems like this guy can't do anything wrong. ok how do i put this nice-like...NOBODY'S PERFECT. Covering yourself is indicative of a MAJOR NEED for new songs. not that he's prone to that...and his lyrics still are like a babbling brook...not that there's anything wrong with that. but...he needs to really LISTEN to...
Published on 17 Nov. 2003 by april harper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Musical Antidepressant for the dark winter-days, 15 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hop The Wag (Audio CD)
Play truant and immediately start to listen to 'Hop the Wag', the latest cd by piano-wizard Jools Holland and his illustrious Rhythm & Blues Orchestra, it will be well worth your trouble. Starting off with the sizzling full blazed 'Honeydripper' going all the way up and down the musical scale to solo purity with 'Remember Me'.
Jools can be considered an eclectic stylist, although his favor for good old boogie woogie and blues in the deepest shade of blue never fails to emerge. Covers and originals are equally treated with enthusiasm and sheer love for the joy of music . 'Bloodsucker Blues' and 'T Bag Scuffle' are 'live' real crowd pleasers - and it's hard to top these guys 'in concert' - but they've managed to uphold a lot of the vibrating quality in the studio. If one should think that it wasn't possible anymore to use the cliché classics 'The way you look tonight' and 'I'm in the mood for love' just listen to Jools' ska versions, with the sultry vocals of Jay Kay aka Jamiroquai on the latter. 'June Rose Lane' is a charming waltzing tribute to his mother, but leave it to Mr. Holland to surprise with an odd song like 'Loutette', recited by a certain Mr. Norman Wassberg, who just happens to be a customer of Jools' local pub, but it boogies never the less. Or the rather strange yet delicate sounding 'Lost Content', with lyrics from a poem by Victorian poet A.E. Housman.
'Blue Guitar', which first appeared on 'The Full Complement' cd as a sulky, intimate song, has matured into a more gutsy, shorter version in 2000, which just proves that 'recycling' of your own work does pay off sometimes. The title track is a nice shuffling tune with Jools and saxophonist Phil Veacock, whom is also responsible for a lot of the arrangements, which add to the rich, yet airy and vivacious sound of this production. Other members of his high-quality band which should not remain unmentioned are the likes of legendary Rico Rodriguez on trombone, Mark Flanagan on guitar and Gilson Lavis, his loyal drummer since the Squeeze days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This'll get your Boogie muscle twitching, 23 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hop The Wag (Audio CD)
In my opinion this is the best Holland album. From the Big Band bash of Honeydripper - including an earstomping drum solo from Gilson Lavis - to the simple beauty of Remember Me with some inspired playing by Jools, this is a great album. The uplifting Bloodsucker Blues is excellent, while T Bag Skuffle will get your foot tapping while listening to phenomenal solos from Holland himself and the rest of the band. I'm sure this is one album you'll find hard to take out of your CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet again Jools Rules!, 14 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hop The Wag (Audio CD)
Mr Holland can just not put a foot wrong! Another brilliant album from one of the masters of Britsh jazz! I do admit, I had to listen to the album more than once to get me totally hooked, but soon the boogie gets to you! The best tracks? Hard to say. Fell totally in love with "Blue Guitar" & "June Rose Lane" whilst listening to the Radio 2 show, but other highlights include "The Blues Is A Feeling" & the very groovy "Loutette"! Well done Jools! Another marvellous album! Jools Rules!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jools Holland at his Best!, 16 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Hop The Wag (Audio CD)
I recently went to see Jools perform live with his Rhythm 'n' Blues Orchestra. Most of the songs performed at the concert were from his latest album 'Hop the Wag'. This is one of the best CD's in my collection. If you like funky, jazzy; big band music then nothing else comes close. The variation and diversity this man has to propel you to a new level of understanding and apprietiation of music is truely amazing. Most of us will buy an album and after listening to all the songs on it will only listen to the few that we really like. This album is special after listening to all the songs you want to listen to them all again. Each time you hear each song you hear something new. I hope you will buy this album it is a break from the 'norm' of chart boping pop music. One last note is that if you do decide to buy this album (the best decision you have made this week) listen to track 16-panic attack. This is one of the best tracks on the album, but alas is only 2.40 min long. You will not be dissapointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 Nov. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hop The Wag (Audio CD)
In my opinion this is the best Holland album. From the Big Band bash of Honeydripper - including an earstomping drum solo from Gilson Lavis - to the simple beauty of Remember Me with some inspired playing by Jools, this is a great album. The uplifting Bloodsucker Blues is excellent, while T Bag Skuffle will get your foot tapping while listening to phenomenal solos from Holland himself and the rest of the band. I'm sure this is one album you'll find hard to take out of your CD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The One that got me hooked, 10 Oct. 2007
By 
A. Dunn (Newcastle,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hop The Wag (Audio CD)
If you are not already a Jools fan then don't just go for the albums with the famous friends on them. Some of them are pretty good but this album is really what Jools is all about.

Some fans will possibly disagree but in my opinion this is his best album (and I've got them all). It doesn't rely on fitting in with styles of people Jools admires even though they don't really fit together as well in a musical style.

But let's get to the songs. See him live, even to this day and you'll probably hear Bloodsucker Blues and the Honeydripper. They're feelgood songs and make you move like it's infectious. The Way you Look Tonight is a very jaunty take on the version you may already know and is kind of ska but then again not because the accordian gives it somethign extra. I could comment on them all of course but for those of you interested in his sheer skill then listen to Panic Attack which like Bumble Boogie on an earlier album, makes you marvel at the ability and you'll want to learn it yourself (it's in his sheet music book so have a go!)

Sunset Over London was my first Jools Holland Album and I loved it but this is the album that made me buy all the rest. Definitely worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skip the Jump., 31 July 2008
This review is from: Hop The Wag (Audio CD)
`Hop the Wag' is Jools' second long player for major record label WEA and here he's covering himself, no doubt wanting to bring the songs he recorded on independent labels to a bigger audience. First track is `Honeydripper' which Jools first recorded for `World of his Own', another remake is `Blue Guitar' with a far superior arrangement than it had on `The Full Complement'

As ever old Squeeze colleague, Chris Difford supplies an original lyric to great effect here to `T-Bag Scuffle' which is one of the highlights of the album. Other highlights would be Holland's own `Bloodsucker Blues' and a perfect cover of Bob Dylan's `It Takes a Lot to Laugh, it Takes a Train to Cry' which really lends its self to a big band arrangement. The remainder of the tracks vary from covers of Jazz standards to Holland originals the majority of which shine with charm.

In fact this is an almost perfect album with the only low point being `I'm in the Mood for Love' recorded with Jamiroquai for a Harry Enfield film, which should have been left on the cutting room floor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant (of course), 11 May 2003
By 
Jonathan Waterlow (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hop The Wag (Audio CD)
Jools Holland has had a great deal more commercial success sales-wise with his two (so far) “Small World Big Band” albums, but “Hop the Wag” (his most recent apart from those bestselling duet issues) is, in my opinion, just that little bit superior.
Jools epitomises “boogie-woogie” – a genre not often admitted to by many artists these days, but Jools and his orchestra have made sure its reputation remains a damned good one. This album could hardly do it better justice – starting off with a great swinging tune which morphs into something completely different halfway through, you’re left in little doubt about this man’s creativity. There are ballads, sung more than ably by the divinely-voiced Sam Fox. There are great bass-line moments, especially “Bloodsucker Blues” which lodges itself right into the brain and refuses to leave for days. There’s also the duet with Jamiroquai’s Jay Kay which appears on “SWBB volume 1”, a standout track from that album and this.
It’s quite hard to write a proper review of this album, because if you know what Jools Holland is all about and like it, then this is a brilliant example of just that. If you don’t, well… listen to a couple of clips and you’ll see! Rest assured the rest of the album is just as entertaining – Holland turns out catchy riffs mid-song that could form another one in its own right. He’s surrounded by a wonderfully talented orchestra, and he’s not a half bad singer, either.
This album shows off all their abilities to great effect. Absolutely excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD has got to be heard over and over agin, 8 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hop The Wag (Audio CD)
I am so looking forward to seeing this performed LIVE at the Royal Albert Hall in November, this Cd has a great mixture of soft swing tracks, great 'boogy woogy', blues and jazz. I really love it, you would be mad not to have a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Jools, 28 Jan. 2012
By 
John T. (chesterfield uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hop The Wag (Audio CD)
I just can not get enough of this brilliant musicians music.I don't think this is the best CD from Jools output but having said that it is full of the lovely big sound the Rhythm and Blues Orchestra produce with such ease.The opening track "Honeydripper" really gets the music flowing(avoid track 10 "Loutette").Everything you would expect from this fantastic outfit, cheap at the price.Just to add my favourite Jools album is "Jack O the Green"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hop The Wag
Hop The Wag by Jools Holland (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews