Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exotic Pleasure
This truly is the best of the wonderful Nigerian songstress. Once you have all the Sade out there (pre-Lovers Rock) so that you can listen to the wonderful non singles like 'Bullet Proof Soul', 'Couldn't Love You More', 'Maureen', 'Tar Baby' and others, this is the one to own. It's the one you put on when you just want to listen to Sade!
There is an amazingly smooth...
Published on 12 Jan 2003

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great songs but poor CD
I have all the Sade Albums on Vinyl & the sound quality from this CD pales in comparrison. One of the things I love about Sade is the way the music was recorded. The songs are all great but much of the essence of the music has been lost in the digital version.
Published 23 months ago by Mr. R. W. Tracey


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exotic Pleasure, 12 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best of Sade (Audio CD)
This truly is the best of the wonderful Nigerian songstress. Once you have all the Sade out there (pre-Lovers Rock) so that you can listen to the wonderful non singles like 'Bullet Proof Soul', 'Couldn't Love You More', 'Maureen', 'Tar Baby' and others, this is the one to own. It's the one you put on when you just want to listen to Sade!
There is an amazingly smooth flow to this marvelously put together effort. You never want to skip around because the song before the one you want to hear is great to. It's like that. This is one of the best, 'Best Of' CD's out there. Every Sade fan has this one and you'll want to pick it up also. I have two. One is for my car, and the other is for my home. It's that great.
Whether you're a die hard Sade fan or just a casual listener, once you listen to this you will find yourself in the former category. That's what Sade does to you. The exotic blend of the band's rhythms and the smooth stylings of Sade Adu come together to form a unique musical experience like no other. There is no one like her so 'The Best of Sade' is the best, period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Consummate late night music..., 19 Mar 2006
This review is from: The Best of Sade (Audio CD)
Sometimes a "Best of..." compilation really does work and here's a perfect example. Not only does it live up to its title but it flows pretty seamlessly from start to finish capturing, on the way, some wonderful music from this underrated and increasingly forgotten artist. Sade's naturally "cool" voice weaves its way through a set of excellent, self-penned, jazz-tinged tracks featuring exquisite, perfectly "laid-back" arrangements to create a distinctive and unforgettable album that's a serious contender for one of the best late night records out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class, 24 July 2006
By 
Scully Bloke (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Best of Sade (Audio CD)
If ever i was asked to live on a desert island and i could take 1 album, then this would be it. I have played it to death over the years and i still find it new, still find new favourite parts.

Its simply an album of fantastic love songs, sung with a level of passion that you simply do not hear in other artists.

It is the ultimate, play at night, play in the car on the way home, wind down, hold your girl in your arms album.

Absolutely the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No One Does It Quite Like Sade - She Is Unique Both Musically & As An Artist., 13 July 2008
This review is from: The Best of Sade (Audio CD)
Sade along with Anita baker, queen of adult contemporary, jazz & R&B delivers this beautiful, romantic album which is absolutely flawless from start to finish, providing the ultimate smooth grooves & chill out classics, all the songs are a joy to listen to time and time again.

My personal favourites on this album would be the huge jazzy crescendos of `Is It A Crime' that song is just incredible, the sultry `Sweetest Taboo', trademark hit `Smooth Operator', `Paradise', the jazzy sultriness of `Jezebel', `Hang On To Your Love', `Love Is Stronger Than Pride', `Never As Good As The First Time' & `Nothing Can Come Between Us'.

A fantastic greatest hits from Sade, it's got all the ingredients, class, depth & an almost incomparable sophistication, my only criticism is that it only includes the solid hits from each of her albums, Sade has done some mind-blowing songs over the course of her career, this can be seen in particular on her earlier LPs such as `Diamond Life' & `Promise', it's a shame we only get to hear a small portion of what Sade is about, but otherwise amazing songs, amazing artist, no one does it quite like Sade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful cd for anyone who is a Sade fan, 14 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
Although there are a few songs from each of her individual cd's that are among some of my favorites, this cd does a terrific job of incorporating most of the best songs from each of them. This does have quite a few songs from "No Ordinary Love" so if you have this cd you may be disappointed - but it incorporates a great selection of the rest of Sade's songs. If you like Sade (and even if you don't know if you do) this cd can be listened to from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Lady who sings a beautiful song......, 7 April 2003
By 
Neal Reynolds (Indianapolis, Indiana) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Sade (Audio CD)
I find Sade Adu's voice enticing, hypnotic. There's a sensuality there, an earthiness, but maybe a bit ethereal and a bit other-worldly. Seductive, however you look at it.
Are these truly her best? Don't ask me, because I think every song on all her CDs should be considered her best.
Okay, I exaggerate. I don't usually, but she deserves it. This is for R&B listeners, for smooth jazz listeners, for soft rock listeners, along with a batch of other listeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just like Sade - Beautiful !`, 7 Oct 2002
By 
Scitzo (coventry, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Best of Sade (Audio CD)
Every romantic should have a Sade CD in their collection, and this is a well compiled CD featuring one of the most vocally seductive, and sultry artists around. Some editorial criticism i have noticed about Sade Adu is that her work all sounds the same, I would repudiate this criticism and argue that Sade is wonderfully diverse and unique, one of the true pioneers of R&B, this Gal has more strings in her bow than a guitar orchestra !
The best tracks in my opinion must be the moody, bluesy 'No Ordinary Love' drowned in sorrow, its lyrics are evocatively accurate about falling in love, 'Pearls' is a poignant track about starvation in Ethiopia Pearls being the metaphor for seeds a mother is collecting to grow food for her starving child, a very perceptive piece, musically so beautiful ending in Sade screaming Halleluya because shes so lucky (you gotta hear it), Cherish the day is cool, so is the satirical 'Smooth Operator' and Your love is king, another good ballad is 'Love is Stronger than pride'. I heard her new album 'Lovers Rock' and read shes aged 41, but she still looks and sounds better than ever.
Anyone with a pulse would love this
Anyone without one, it will awake you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth and steamy, 16 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Best of (Audio CD)
She's the best! This Nigerian goddess captures you with her incredible suede-and-velvet voice. A unique combination of elements of jazz, samba, reggae and pop that will continue to endure for decades. Percussion and acoustic guitar and Stewart Matthewman's saxophone to counter are an absolute delight. I listen to all of her releases from Diamond Life to Love de Lube, but this is a particular jewel. If you want to get in a kind of sweet and smooth mood, you will play this endlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great songs but poor CD, 17 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. R. W. Tracey "rickytracey2" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Sade (Audio CD)
I have all the Sade Albums on Vinyl & the sound quality from this CD pales in comparrison. One of the things I love about Sade is the way the music was recorded. The songs are all great but much of the essence of the music has been lost in the digital version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great easy listening, 21 April 2010
By 
T. Trousdale (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best of Sade (Audio CD)
This is a great album. Sade has a lovely throaty voice. Remember listening to this as a child as my parents had it and now I have bought it and love it. Timeless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best of Sade
The Best of Sade by Sade (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews