Customer Reviews


10 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irish Dance Sensation, 22 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dancing On Dangerous Ground [DVD] (2000) [2001] (DVD)
Dancing on Dangerous Ground is given an excellent presentation on this DVD. It was filmed during a performance of the show at the prestigious and historic Theatre Royal Drury Lane in the heart of London's West End where the show premiered on 6th December 2000. The show stars Jean Butler and Colin Dunne who had previously been working in Riverdance. Jean and Colin wanted to show the world a new form of Irish dance show, they sucessfully created an exciting and dynamic piece of dance theatre. The show is based on Irish mythology - namely "The hunt for Diarmuid and Grania", there are many versions of this legend and DODG uses elements of several versions, the story and the dance are passionate and dynamic. Of course seeing a show on DVD is not the same experience as seeing it live but as it is highly unlikely that the show will be revived this DVD will be the only way that many fans will get to see the show. I was fortunate enough to see the show a couple of times in London, the DVD serves as an excellent reminder of the show. The dancing is simply brilliant, much attention has been paid to the group pieces as well as Jean and Colin's duets and solos. The show features alot of hard shoe work which is danced to perfection. The Dolby Digital sound does a good job of recreating the acoustics of the theatre and has been mixed to be played loud. I can assure you that the music and tapping from the stage were at loud volumes in the theatre for the live shows - I could feel the sound not just hear it (as a trainee theatre designer I was very impressed - this can really impact on the audience). The costumes are superb, I particularly like the group costume in the prologue, Jean Butler's wedding dress and the costumes of the women of the court in "The cry for war" as they demonstrate the military side of their nature preparing to hunt with the Fianna for the fugitive lovers. Sorcha McCaul's solo piece here is danced beautifully. The music is composed and played live on the upstairs part of the wonderful set by Solas - Seamus Egan and Solas are pre-eminent as champion musicians and hailed as a touchstone for a calibre of sound renowned for its brilliance and innovation. I thought Riverdance was good. Dancing on Dangerous Ground is far superior in every way imaginable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mature Irish Dancing at its best, 26 Nov. 2002
By 
K. J. Walker "Kiernan Walker" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing On Dangerous Ground [DVD] (2000) [2001] (DVD)
Having failed to see the show when it ran in the theatre, I was delighted to see this appear on DVD. It is a pleasure to see rather excellent Irish dancing performed as it should be, without the ludicrous glitz and blinding lights that accompanied certainly Lord of the Dance and to a lesser extent, Riverdance.
This is an Irish dance show for the more discerning and appreciative audience. The two principls are as ever, superb. Colin Dunne comes into his own on this show and Jean Butler is as ever, incomparable. Tony Kemp also plays his role effectively, glowering, dismay then resignation evident in his demeanour.
The camers work on the DVD is far better than the hopelessly frenetic cut cut cut of the other shows mentioned. There is more tracking a dancer as they move so you have some idea of the dancing involved. The music is excellent if understated and compliments the steps perfectly.

Let's face it, it was impossible to watch Lord of the Dance particularly and Riverdance (with Mr Flatley involved) without being faintly embarrassed at his gurning showboatery, pseudo boxing movements on the former and self-aggrandisement generally. Dancing on Dangerous Ground is a proper Irish dance show, exhibiting the skill of all of its dancers with no laser shows etc. Alas, the world was not ready for such simple pleasure and the show ended.
I recommend watching this show to anyone who appreciates quality Irish dancing, excellent music and great production. Quite apart from that, it is Irish dancing on DVD where the ubiquitous Flatley is not present. This is a boon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Irish dance, 16 Jun. 2002
By 
P. Korf (Gorinchem, Zuid-Holland Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing On Dangerous Ground [DVD] (2000) [2001] (DVD)
Dancing on Dangerous grounds.
One of my all time favourites together with Riverdance,Lord of the Dance. Rhythm of the Dance and Gaelforce and many others.
Here you see the wonderfull work of Collin Dunne and Jean Butler.
Too bad that the show didn't make it and many of us weren't able to see the show.
Let me tell you:
It's a breathtaking performance with all aspects of Irish Dance in it.Some very high speed dance numbers are just too good for words.
Here is where you see the talent of the dancers and ofcourse the talent of Jean and Collin.
My advise: If you haven't seen the show or don't owe a copy, it's very worthwhile getting one.
Peter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic dance & music from former Riverdance stars., 4 Dec. 2000
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Colin Dunne and Jean Butler have created a well choregraphed dance story of an Irish folk story. The music is as strong as the dance, and this show is what other Irish dance shows aren't.....there is a fantastic story here and it's expressed beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but flawed, 2 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Dancing On Dangerous Ground [DVD] (2000) [2001] (DVD)
This was a brave attempt by Dunne and Butler to move away from the spectacular style of the Flatley shows such as Riverdance, Lord of the Dance and Feet of Flames, but I think therin lies its problem. Its not very exciting. There are some excellent ideas in both storytelling and choreography, yet they are done to death (like the scene where they dance in ropes... a brilliant idea, but it lasts forever!) Flatley had a perfect sense of timing, he did enough to make you want more, yet in DODG,I often feel like you wish the number would finish so you could see what happens next. I didnt like Colin Dunne much in Riverdance, but he is much better in this, with better acting, stage prescence, and he can use his own style of dancing which didnt seem right in the Riverdance setting. Music is pretty good in places. A worthy addition to any irish dance fans collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I just like the story abaut the keltic myths, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing On Dangerous Ground [DVD] (2000) [2001] (DVD)
I saw Jean Butler and Collin Dunne for the first time in RIVERDANCE and loved theyr way of dancing, theyr way of expressing theyr selves and of corse theyr steps and start dancing by myselves as I hear the Music.
I like hovever the preformance of the hole team, and yes- I do recomend tis to the People I mean could have an interrest of this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 8 Jun. 2008
By 
L. Lambourne (Wirral, Merseyside, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was so excited when I saw a new show with my two favourite Irish dancers, Jean Butler and Colin Dunne. This is a big difference from Riverdance, but my goodness it is amazing. They have certainly put their own spin on things, but Colin Dunne is incredible as ever, I could watch him dance all day and Jean Butler is graceful. Tells the story well and is definately worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most BRILLIANT Irish dance show ever!, 6 May 2001
I loved it! The show is pure magic, it's brilliant. The dancing is superb, this is Irish dancing at it's best! Jean and Colin do a wonderful job bringing the legend of Diarmuid and Grania alive.
Jean is a breathtaking dancer. Her hardshoe is fast, rhythmic, powerful and graceful all at the same time. In softshoe she's at her absolute best, grace personified. No dancer is as graceful as she is. When she's dancing she looks as if she's doing the most natural thing in the world. Jean is without a doubt the best Irish dancer in the world, and her portrayal of Grania was incredible.
Colin is a brilliant dancer, his taps are fast and rhythmic, powerful and natural at the same time. I could watch him all day! His dancing is simply incredible, he's the best Irish dancer in the world! As Diarmuid he is superb.
The acting in this show is very convincing. Jean really is a brilliant actress. All of the emotions come through in her body language and facial expressions. Colin also does a great job. Tony Kemp plays Finn, Grania's betrothed, and his is a non-dancing role. He is an incredible actor, his acting is fantastic!
Both Jean and Colin have an amazing stage presence, when they're on stage, all eyes are on them. As Diarmuid and Grania, they exude passion and drama. These were Celtic mythology's most passionate lover's and the show does not disappoint. It's filled with incredible dancing - the troupe are a very talented group of dancers, the music is brilliant by Solas, and the duets between Jean and Colin are sizzling!
Overall, it's the BEST show out there, and everyone should be buying the video! It really is a must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Celtic dance great, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing On Dangerous Ground [DVD] (2000) [2001] (DVD)
If you liked Riverdance and Lord of the Dance then you'll love this offering. I've certainly enjoyed it and several people I know also like it so well worth a look if you like this sort of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dancing on dangerous ground (dvd 2000 2001), 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dancing On Dangerous Ground [DVD] (2000) [2001] (DVD)
a great dance masterclass on dvd of intrest to all ages and capabilities it comes at a great price too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dancing On Dangerous Ground [DVD] (2000) [2001]
Dancing On Dangerous Ground [DVD] (2000) [2001] by Dancing On Dangerous Ground (DVD - 2000)
£15.15
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews