Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant film restoration!
Who would have known that one of Bruce Lee's greatest cinematic achievements could sound and, especially, look as good as it does in this recent DVD edition? Considering that this movie, much in the same way as the other early martial arts pictures that Lee made for Golden Harvest, was typically shot on a relatively low budget, with poor to average film stock being used,...
Published on 23 May 2006 by Siamese

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film by why edit??
Good film with great fight scenes!!

However, If your looking for the original 'The Big Boss' without any of the rubbish editing then this is not the dvd for you. Why did they change the credit theme?? Now its as if Bruce's character is feeling sorrow for what he did rather than triumph!

The only place I have found the original 'The Big Boss' is the...
Published on 10 Mar 2009 by O. Barton


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant film restoration!, 23 May 2006
Who would have known that one of Bruce Lee's greatest cinematic achievements could sound and, especially, look as good as it does in this recent DVD edition? Considering that this movie, much in the same way as the other early martial arts pictures that Lee made for Golden Harvest, was typically shot on a relatively low budget, with poor to average film stock being used, this restored version is nothing short of miraculous. The Fortune Star print makes it look like it was shot a few months ago, as it looks as clear as it probably never was when it first came out in March of 1972.
The colour balance, the picture resolution and the correct aspect ratio are rendered so perfectly that you start noticing small details that were always missed thus far. I will give you an example: in the major fight scene where Bruce's character faces all the Japanese students in their dojo, while he's holding the famed nunchaku ready to strike his opponents yet again, there's a very tight close-up of Lee's face. Here you can clearly see the little veins in the eyes, which were fuzzy in the previous DVD edition.
This is truly a classic brought back to its full glory that had previously faded, and enhances all the great qualities it possesses, namely the fact that this turned out to be one of the most dynamic, intense and spectacular performances that Bruce Lee has forever recorded on celluloid.
Don't miss this DVD, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bruce, 27 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
This, for me has to be the best Bruce Lee film there is. It contains every part of Bruce's dynamism that I don't think is visible in his other films.
Based on a true story, Bruce portrays the character Chen Jun, a past student of a school of martial arts at which his sifu (master) has just died. On returning, Bruce does not believe his sifu died of natural causes and after a while discovers the truth, at which point he goes on a killing rampage. For every second that Bruce is on the screen he has an aura which surrounds him that I think gives you an insight into why he is a legend. His performance is unlike any other, not only in this film but in the era also.
Scenes to remember for me are;
Bruce seeking revenge in the Bushido school, returning the 'sick men' sign.
the scenes in which before and after he discovers the real reasons for his sifu's death
and the climactic battle with Petrov.
I've watched this film again and again and I'm always amazed at Bruce's on screen presence, even now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - a completely different film to the older VHS, 7 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
My other half and I were stunned by the difference in the story line of the complete version of this film to the 3 other VHS copies we have tried. The whole emphasis of the story changes, even your impression of the time line. I never realised that it contained a love story, broken up by the tragic murder of the Master and the need for revenge. Just brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NOT THE BEST BRUCE KICK FLICK, BUT HEY, IT'S A PLATINUM EDITION!, 15 April 2007
By 
This is a very good martial arts movie and probably Bruce's most violent and bloody one. Out of his five films this one comes fourth, in my opinion. But since all of his films are absolutely bloody brilliant, that's not a bad thing at all. This new Platinum Edition is absolutely fantastic, and a dream come true for all Bruce Lee fans, with some very interesting extras for you to loose hours of your life watching.

The only off-putting thing about this film, or even this DVD package, is the overly exaggerated sound affects whenever somebody throws a punch or lands a kick. But trust me, I've heard worse!!!

Buy this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Little Dragon's most defining role is class!, 14 May 2002
By 
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
After the unexpected global success of 'The Big Boss', Bruce Lee followed it with the noticeably superior Lo Wei-directed 'Fist Of Fury'.
Chen Zhen (Lee), a student at the Jing-wu Mun School of martial arts, returns home to find that his master Fok Yun Gap (who was actually a real-life master - the photos you see in the movie on his shrine are those of the real guy) has died suddenly. The funeral and eulogy are broken up when members of Master Suzuki (Riki Hoshimoto)'s neighbouring Bushido School, together with their interpreter Mr Wu (Wei Ping-Ao, 'Way Of The Dragon', 'Ninja In The Dragon's Den'), who brings them a 'present' - a sign with the Chinese symbols for 'Sick Man Of Asia'. This greatly angers Chen, so, after having been forbidden to exact his ever-growing fury at the prejudice on Wu and the Japanese during the funeral, he later pays them a visit and single-handedly defeats all of the Japanese students with his incredible fighting skills.
After a revenge attack from the Japanese on the Jing-wu school and its students (which includes a guy played by a pre-cosmetic surgery Jackie Chan), Chen is asked to leave for the school's sake. He refuses, and stays the night, but soon has his peace disturbed when he finds out that something more sinister may have been responsible for the death of Sifu Fok Yun Gap...
This was not only considered to be Bruce Lee's most defining role as he defends his fellow Chinese against prejudice from the Japanese (his most famous scenes, which caused raucous cheer, are (a) the line where he says 'We Chinese are not sick', and (b) the bit involving the racially-discriminating 'No Dogs or Chinese Allowed' sign outside the park). He also shows some more realistic choreography that has less of the hokey moments present in 'The Big Boss' (although some still remain that Lee would have preferred weren't there, such as physically lifting a whole rickshaw with Wei Ping-Ao on it - even Lee wasn't that strong), and also introduced the weapon most famously linked to him, namely the previously-censored Nunchaku (although bits where he used them had to be sped up as he had only recently started using them at the time). He also had a Westerner (Robert Baker, a real-life student of Lee's) to contend with, where Lee really shows his stuff, particularly with the speed of his punches.
Note that even though Han Yin-Chieh is listed as the fight coordinator, Bruce Lee actually choreographed the fight scenes he was in (you can tell because of the different overall feel of those which did not feature him, which looked limp and unrealistic in comparison). Lee surrendered credit to Han out of respect for an elder.
Top marks for Hong Kong Legends for reintroducing the new generation of action fans to this classic, which (on DVD anyway) comes complete with the usual trailers, special features and an audio commentary with Hong Kong cinema expert Bey Logan, who adds some interesting and entertaining background to Lee and the movie itself, as well as pointing out key actors and actresses, including ones who would later make it big (look out for people such as Jackie Chan, Yuen Wah and a brief appearance from 'Mr Vampire' star Lam Ching-Ying). Also included is the usual Hong Kong Legends DVD choice of either the English dubbed version or the Cantonese (they redubbed it from the original Mandarin track it had on initial release in 1972) with remastered English subtitles (which I admit contain the occasional typo).
If you were a bit disappointed by the hokery in 'The Big Boss', don't let that put you off this one. Lee's first scrap doesn't take long to kick in (pun fully intended), and all his fights are far more impressive. In fact, fans cite this as containing the best fights of his tragically short career, as well as showing him and Nora Miao sharing what would be his only screen kiss.
This movie is a classic, and if you're a Lee fan (or any action fan) you'd be a fool to miss this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce Lee at his most intense and manic !!!, 19 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film about 20 years ago when I was 11 years old. It was completely uncut and I became a Bruce Lee fanatic straight away. Since then I have seen it about 20 more times and have been grossly disappointed. The versions that could be obtained from UK video shops were always severely cut, with the nunchaka and throat-kicking scenes taken out. There is a huge difference between the newly released DVD version and the previously cut versions on video. In this film, Bruce Lee is manic. His master has been murdered and he will not stop until he seeks revenge on the killers. There are no light hearted moments in this film. Bruce Lee's character kills a lot of people in this film, in an extremely manic and intense manner. This is a highly charged movie, full of racial tension, tragedy and irony. It is, also, the best martial arts movie I have ever seen !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reexperience Bruce Lee's "Fist of Fury" in its entirety!, 12 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
After the release of "The Big Boss - Special Collector's Editíon", HKL follows up with Bruce Lee's second kung-fu epic, "Fist of Fury". As with "The Big Boss", this remarkable edition is completely uncut with a boosted picture and sound quality. For the first time ever, I had the chance to view the legendary nunchaku scenes that have been missing for so many years in the video releases of this film in Sweden. In their unabridged state, all the fighting scenes tend to radiate a never-before-seen freshness. The audio commentary to the film is truly enlightening and the option to select between English and Cantonese soundtrack is also a nice feature. At last, with HKL's "Fist of Fury", lovers of Bruce Lee and martial arts films finally have an opportunity to enjoy Lee's on-screen persona "to the full". Definitely worth each penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bruce Lee Magic is Back!, 9 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fist Of Fury [1993] [DVD] (DVD)
It has been almost thirty years since Bruce Lee blazed across cinemas and
lit up screens with his charisma and persona. What a wait - finally, we have a DVD print that shows what Bruce and the producers intended the audience to see. This edition is stunning. The colours are vibrant, the digital audio remastering giving full rein to classic chop-socky effects, for me bringing back memories of that pivotal cinematic experience. Bruce looks far better than he ever did on VHS, and the restored nunchaku scenes show why they became his trademark weapon. A fantastic tribute to the man, and a chance to understand why, for his fans, Bruce will live on forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Film by why edit??, 10 Mar 2009
By 
O. Barton "Oli" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Big Boss [DVD] (DVD)
Good film with great fight scenes!!

However, If your looking for the original 'The Big Boss' without any of the rubbish editing then this is not the dvd for you. Why did they change the credit theme?? Now its as if Bruce's character is feeling sorrow for what he did rather than triumph!

The only place I have found the original 'The Big Boss' is the 30th anniversary box set, which I definitely recommend!

The editing of this film is the only reason I have not give it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DEFINITIVE MARTIAL ARTS MOVIE!, 15 April 2007
By 
THIS WAS THE MOVIE THAT MADE BRUCE LEE INTO THE LEGEND THAT HE WAS, AND RIGHTLY DESERVED TO BE! DO NOT for one second, take heed to 'MADGE's' review, as it is quite frankly not right, and is an insult to Bruce's legacy. This movie displays such a brilliant array of pre-arranged and improvised martial arts that it's just stunning. The fights are realistic and bloody brilliant!!! The dubbing is absolute CRAP, but hey-ho, that's not what we're here for is it? You don't watch an Arnold Schwartzennegar film for the acting abilities do you? You watch it for the kick-ass action. And so it should be for a Bruce Lee film (although his acting was very good)!

Plus, this new Platinum Edition is wonderful, including far too many extras for any sociable person to watch all of in one session and still be considered human! It even includes a small programme about the locatons and details of the film, made by good old 'Bey Logan' himself!!!

The Chinese audiences cheered when they first saw this film at the cinema, they absolutely loved it, and so should we! If all we can do to celebrate Bruce Lee's short but revelutionary career, is to spend hours of our time watching his works of pure genius, then hell let's do it!!!

Buy this film! A brilliant edition to anyone's DVD Collection!

(Now perhaps I show my appreciation for Arnie's cinematic legacy by spelling his damned name right)!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb26d3e64)

This product

The Big Boss [1971] [DVD]
The Big Boss [1971] [DVD] by Lo Wei (DVD - 2000)
7.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews