Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best sade studio album, 20 Nov 2003
By 
Eleni -. Maria Petratou (Athens , Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Deluxe (Audio CD)
Personally, I have never heard anyone saying that is album is weak. When it was released, back in 1992, it was raved by critics and public as the best Sade release to date. No ordinary love became instantly a huge hit, especially since it was the main soundtrack in the Indicent proposal movie. Then, 4 more singles came out of this album and received a great deal of airplay, including Cherish the Day, Kiss of life and Feel no pain.
This was one of the best selling albums in the nineties, and still is considered to be one of the best examples of REAL Rn'B music.
With a soundproduction as clear as glass, a deep and sensual bass and Sade's unmistakable Class, this album is a Perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cultured Pearl, 12 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Deluxe (Audio CD)
Love Deluxe is Sade's concept album on love. It is filled with the euphoria of loving and being loved romantically. But this is about love on many levels. The hearbreaking "Pearls" is about the love of a mother for her child, walking all day just to gather enough "pearls" to feed her. Even "Feel No Pain" deals with hatred in the ghetto and love being the only way out.
This wonderful and soulful effort alternates between happiness (Kiss of Life, Cherish the Day) and sorrowful regrets (Like a Tattoo, Bullet Proof Soul) and somehow manages to perfectly express both, reaching into our souls and putting into melody what we feel. It is a magical CD that you never tire of listening to.
Sade would be absent for a long time after this was released, only a "Best Of Sade" released before she came back several years later. Maybe only she knew how long it would be this time and decided to leave something wonderous to tide us over. The production is soothing and beautiful, the vocals artistry in motion. Sade reaches into her soul and lays bare both the joy and misery love can bring upon us.
This is an exquisite CD with almost a spiritual feel to it. Sade's fans (I include myself) are loving and loyal and that feeling has always been returned from Sade. This is everything that is good about music, a rich and rewarding journey into the heart. In a career filled with wonderful moments, this is her finest. Don't miss this basket of potpouri given as a gift from the lovely, talented, Sade Adu. This is a gift for the heart...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure passion enriched., 18 Nov 2007
This review is from: Love Deluxe (Audio CD)
Originally released in 1992, this set of highly polished songs stands the test of time, making it probably their best album to date. Touching lyrics delivered with genuine passion and no complications.

The music doesn't try to compete with the vocals, rather focuses on luscious sounds and musicianship performed with real depth of feeling, care and a controlled dynamic.

Sensitivity and compassion are order of the day here, rejoicing in life and accepting pain. No gimmicks and jokes - just a true insight into feelings enriched with love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sade (need I say more?), 21 Oct 2003
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Deluxe (Audio CD)
(...) As always, the smoky, sensuous voice of Sade Adu rings true and clear in this wonderful CD. Contrary to what the title may suggest, these are not all love songs in the romantic sense. However, all of the songs are great, displaying Sade's beautiful voice at its best. (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No ordinary album: a deluxe treat from no ordinary band, 6 Oct 2013
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Deluxe (Audio CD)
Sade's fourth album was released in 1992, a full four years following `Stronger than Pride' but nevertheless retaining the band's classy and distinctive style. It was (and still is) seen by many as the band's best, a high-point in a career with many high-points.

The album is full of heart-felt mood pieces with Sade's breathy vocals supported by the band's virtuoso musical backing, no one element dominating the rest and nothing out of place. Paul Spencer-Denman's deep bass is the foundation of the soundscape, and Stewart Matthewman's sax solos in particular are delivered with delicacy and finesse which often sends shivers down the spine. Production, as ever with this band's output, is an object lesson in faultless perfection.

`Love Deluxe' spawned four hit singles and each in turn a music video. `No ordinary Love' is the best known because it won the 1994 Grammy for Best R&B performance, and was featured on the soundtrack of the 1993 Hollywood movie `Indecent Proposal'. `Cherish the Life', `Feel no Pain' and `Kiss of Life' were the other three single releases, each a minor but enduring masterpiece.

Sade's music has a kind of classic status because it never seems to age; it's of its time, but for all time. `Love Deluxe' was the band's only release (apart from a compilation album `Best of Sade') in the 1990s decade, and has never been bettered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A No Ordinary Love album, 24 Feb 2013
By 
J. C. Chorlton (Wigan, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Deluxe [Clean] (MP3 Download)
'Love Deluxe' is by far one of Sade's best albums. An absolute gem that sweeps you away from start to finish especially when you sit back/chill out and plug in those earphones.
As a reviewer said earlier, 'Love Deluxe' is a "concept album on love" and rightly so! Sade Adu's vocals, the band's flawless musicianship, and the crystal-clear production is amazing! 'Kiss Of Life', 'No Ordinary Love', and the instrumental 'Mermaid' are now indelible in my mind. As a fan of Sade since the 'Soldier Of Love' album was released, I discovered a great back catalogue that I wished I'd discovered all those years ago. An album that any Soul/R&B connoisseur shouldn't be without!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snuggle up with ~Sade...., 9 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. J. H. Wheeler "Easy Street" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Deluxe (Audio CD)
Looking for something different from Sade? This isn't it. There is always a common breathlessness and rhythmic sameness with her arrangements and performance. On the other hand, I love her sound, always have, and this album is a key part of a rounded-out collection of her music...the lady is not for changing---and I'm glad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sade's best album?, 8 Dec 2001
By 
B. Muir "Brianlescargot" (Motherwell, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Deluxe (Audio CD)
I read with great disappointment that another website rates this album as one of Sade's weakest albums. Personally, I think this album is one of the best ever. It just oozes. I switch off the lights, put on the headphones and just drift away. It is such a relaxing album that I very often fall asleep listening to it and that is certainly not a criticism. I love Sade and her voice. Forget what any other site says THIS IS HER BEST ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased!, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Deluxe (Audio CD)
Beautiful and well worth the money. Can't get better on the high street. Don't worry about whether there is any quality, just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fab album, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Deluxe (Audio CD)
another great album from Sade with brilliant songs and lyrics to enjoy. Solid album to enjoy by all we believe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabc9524c)

This product

Love Deluxe
Love Deluxe by Sade (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews