Customer Reviews


196 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles: #1 then, now, and forever
Beatles fans take their love for the Fab Four very seriously, as evidenced by some of the disappointment espoused by some enthusiastic fans over this compilation. I think we can all agree that this is not the ultimate Beatles CD, but - my gosh - you get 27 of the band's most familiar songs crammed on to one single CD. Even if you have all of the essential Beatles CDs...
Published on 28 July 2004 by Daniel Jolley

versus
39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the contents, really!
This is the first Beatle-compilation for the CD-generation. LP-buying Beatle-fans had already bought the Blue and Red double-cd's..

The big advantage of the "Red" and "Blue" were that they were quite creative in compiling album-tracks and making the public (I believed it!)think that tracks like With a Little Help from My Friends or A Day in the Life were...
Published on 20 July 2006 by Yovra


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles: #1 then, now, and forever, 28 July 2004
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beatles: 1 (Audio CD)
Beatles fans take their love for the Fab Four very seriously, as evidenced by some of the disappointment espoused by some enthusiastic fans over this compilation. I think we can all agree that this is not the ultimate Beatles CD, but - my gosh - you get 27 of the band's most familiar songs crammed on to one single CD. Even if you have all of the essential Beatles CDs already, it's nice to have such a great one-CD collection. I would much rather take this little jewel case out to my car than to try and put together a single disc of my own, and this has better sound than any disc I could make myself on my computer. I'm a big fan but not an expert on the Beatles, so I can't comment on the issue of stereo mastering versus the original mono versions of the earliest hits - to my ears, all of these songs sound great on this CD. I also won't quibble over what tracks got excluded. This is a collection of #1 hits, not a greatest hits collection. These are the songs that hit #1 on the charts of either the UK (Record Retailer) and/or the US (Billboard). Apparently, even such a seemingly straightforward approach to choosing the tracks allows room for debate - it apparently comes down to what your definition of "#1 hit" should really be. In the end, the fact that the three surviving Beatles (now, sadly, only two) authorized this compilation is more than enough for me to accept it with open arms (and ears).
It's easy to get lost in the enjoyment of such stellar individual songs, but when you take a step back you realize that this CD affords you some interesting insight into the evolution of the band over the course of eight years. The early songs, while fantastic, are actually not that musically complicated. By the time you get to the tenth track, Yesterday, you begin to get a wonderful sense of how the Beatles began to innovate and push the boundaries of rock and roll. They redefined music in their own image, and in the final five years of their existence they established a legacy no band will ever equal - they became the greatest band the world will ever know. If you want to really see what stereo can mean, there is still no better teacher than Yellow Submarine or the songs from Sgt. Pepper (none of which, rather ironically, are included on this compilation). I still marvel at the amazing variety of music the band released in its later years - All You Need Is Love, Lady Madonna, Hey Jude, Get Back, Something (the only George Harrison specialty on this CD), Come Together, Let It Be. What can one say about the amazing variety to be heard in such high-quality songs? Just compare the first and last track on this album; Love Me Do and The Long and Winding Road could hardly be more different, yet they are both vintage Beatles classics.
This CD was in a certain sense unnecessary, especially for decades-long Beatles fans, yet look what it accomplished. It immediately jumped to the top of sales charts and inspired yet another grand awakening among the music-listening population of Beatlesmania. Young people had the chance and the means to discover the Beatles on their own; while that experience will never compare to the craziness and excitement of Beatlesmania in its original form, it is still important. Decades after their breakup, the Beatles were #1 once again, and that is just one of many reasons why I love this 27-hit compilation CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of the Fabs?, 22 Oct 2000
By 
M. Oliver (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beatles: 1 (Audio CD)
All the Beatles No.1s from Love Me Do to The Long & Winding Road. You can't grumble about the quality of the songs or value for money - a single CD (and 79+ mins) with more tracks than the double Red album (1962-66).I just wonder what the motivation is behind this release. Maybe it's simply to provide a single disc career overview of the greatest pop band in history to those who don't want to invest in 2 double CDs. There will no doubt be those that will complain that no Beatles hits package is complete without Strawberry Fields Forever. But this is a compilation of all of the Beatles' US and UK No.1 hits and unfortunately that song "only" reached No.2 in the UK. The Billboard Hot 100 in the US is compiled from a combination of sales and airplay, and though Penny Lane (the double A flip-side) reached No.1, Strawberry Fields only got enough radio play to reach No.8. I suppose they could have used a different criterion to select their greatest hits, but with so many hits to choose from they couldn't help but exclude some favourites (Please Please Me, Twist & Shout, In My Life, and there is not a single song from from Sgt. Peppers). Still, this is the first time that such classics as She Loves You, Yesterday, Help!, Hey Jude, Get Back and Let It Be have all appeared on the same album. So if you don't own a Beatles album, this is the place to start, and it makes a great gift for anyone who hasn't updated their scratched vinyl records.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the contents, really!, 20 July 2006
By 
Yovra (Driebergen, Holland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beatles: 1 (Audio CD)
This is the first Beatle-compilation for the CD-generation. LP-buying Beatle-fans had already bought the Blue and Red double-cd's..

The big advantage of the "Red" and "Blue" were that they were quite creative in compiling album-tracks and making the public (I believed it!)think that tracks like With a Little Help from My Friends or A Day in the Life were actually hit-singles, while they were actually album-tracks!

Sound-wise it's a beefy remastering-job EMI did here; especially the post '68-tracks suffer from the harsh, bassy sound.

If you want to know the Beatles, the Red & Blue are still better places to start (AND the Blue one actually opens with the indispensable Strawberry Fields Forever), if you want the hits, this is a nice one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a work of genius..., 11 Oct 2005
By 
This review is from: 1 [VINYL] (Vinyl)
well i would never have dreamed when i first heard the beatles in 1962 at the tender age of 9 that i would still be listening to them today, and they sound just as fresh and exciting to me as they did then! in those days everything was literally "flavour of the month". i'm pleased the younger generations of music fans appreciate these simple works of genius still too. i don't know anyone who doesn't like beatles music, proving good things cut across all barriers. i expect they'll still be playing beatles music in 500 years time! this album is a great clean collection of songs guaranteed to hook the uninitiated into a lifetime appreciation of beatles music. i must have heard these a thousand times and still find them refreshing. definitely a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good first album if you're a new fan, 11 Aug 2005
This review is from: The Beatles: 1 (Audio CD)
I especially recommend this if you're new to The Beatles - every song is a classic. And there is plenty there to get you interested in the band.
It is great to hear their progression from the 'She Loves You' era to 'Hey Jude'. It only took five years - but you could be forgiven for thinking it is a completely different band! The styles range from the catchy pop of 'From Me To You', to the hard rock of 'Revolution' and the gospel sounds of 'Let It Be'.
I just can't wait for '2'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Stuff, not detracted by Strawberry Fields omission, 19 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beatles: 1 (Audio CD)
I'm not a great fan of Strawberry Fields forever...well, not the finished, over-polished version anyway, and I don't think this album loses anything by its non-inclusion.
Actually this album is rather old hat. The Bealtes have had many "greatest hits" albums, none of which are really greatest hits albums at all. The fact is, nearly every Beatles song is a great hit...but a Number One's collection is a valuable addition to the collection.
What I like about this album is that, although it's not really that representative of the Beatles absolute best stuff (for that you need to listen to every album) it is a great history. When you play it, you really do start an amazing journey: from 1962 to 1970 - aeons apart in the life of John, Paul, George and Richard: you see their development from the mop-top Rock and Roll and Mersy Beat years to the bona fide fathers of most modern music.
There are, however several classics on this album. "I Want To hold Your Hand", "I Feel Fine", "Day Tripper", "Paperback Writer" among them, and every song that's not, in my most humble opinion a real classic is still fantastic to sing along to. Undoubtedly, however, it's songs like "Eleanor Rigby" "Hey Jude" "Come Together" and "Let It Be" that are going to blow you away.
A good buy. Beginners start here, but I disagree with those who say it means nothing to the Beatles faithful: for this is surely a collection like no other. There aren't many bands that can boast 27 Number 1 hits - in eight years - and in a time when it was quite possibly twice as hard to get a number 1!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential puchase for any vinyl lover!, 7 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 1 [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is a fantastic greatest hits compilation, and a superb intro to the music of the Beatles - at last we get all the UK and US No.1 hits on one double LP. And this is a far better compilation that the awful "20 Greatest Hits" LP issued back in 1982, which had different tracks included on the US and UK versions. Having all the US and UK No 1 hits on a double LP is a superb idea! The remastered sound quality of the songs is stunning. I own this LP on CD too and, even though it's mastered from a digital source, I feel the vinyl does actually sound better. Play it on a decent hi-fi system and it really gives the CD version a run for its money. Also, the packaging of this double LP is superb, with a giant poster and 4 prints a la White Album. The vinyl is very thick (feels almost like 180g) and flat too. Just shows you what these record companies can actually do with vinyl when they try! This lavish double LP package is an absolute must-have for any Beatles fan and any vinyl fan for that matter. As for the music itself it's great of course although this album does fall some way short of painting the complete picture. The Beatles revolutionised the whole popular music scene and took it in a new direction with ground-breaking recordings like Revolver and Sgt Pepper. To appreciate the Beatles fully you need to check out their albums, especially their work from 1965's Rubber Soul onwards. But let's not forget, these guys were THE masters of great pop melodies and here is the proof, if ever any was needed. Just try NOT to sing along to this stuff. I'm 31 and a life-long fan of the Fabs since I was 10. My children will listen to this music, and their children, and their children. As their producer George Martin once said, the Beatles were the classical music of their times. So, here for your listening pleasure 27 of the finest pop songs ever written. Never equalled and certainly never bettered. If you need any more convincing to buy this LP, then you really do need "HELP!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 15 Jan 2011
By 
J. Peters "audreyfan" (SouthWest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Beatles: 1 (Audio CD)
A brilliant album, offering a great selection of beatles hits all on the one album. Well worth a try, particularly if you want the one CD rather than a compilation set. All in all, a really good buy and a must for the CD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great CD that takes you on a journey, 2 Jan 2009
This review is from: The Beatles: 1 (Audio CD)
What I like about this CD is that these are not the Beatles "greatest hits" we are talking about. There are a few in there however most of the hits take you on a journey of the Beatles' life as a band.

I have always loved the Beatles - my grandfather got me listening to them from the age of around five and i still listen to them today. A truly revolutionary band that I think will never be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant groundbreaking pop/rock music, 4 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Beatles: 1 (Audio CD)
When you listen to this album, you realise just how good the Beatles were and how derivative and lightweight most pop/rock music is today. With the odd exception (Yellow Submarine), every song is arresting, fresh and original. If you don't have the album, buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beatles: 1
The Beatles: 1 by The Beatles (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews