Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Lyricist Lounge Vol. 2 Is DOPE!!!
The second release from Rawkus in the Lyricist Lounge tradition builds on the former and although isn't a revolution is just a natural evolution of the series, a natural progression. The follow up to Lyricist Lounge Vol. 1 wasn't going to be easy but Rawkus seem to have pulled it all together very well. The album flows very nicely, very smoothly and the sheer quality of...
Published on 13 Dec. 2000

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hip hops finest put out something average
dont get me wrong, this is a good album, and im sure most hip hop fans will like it, but for me I was chasing after the dirty raw sound that the first album provided. This album sounds a lot cleaner and more produced. A couple of really good tracks on here, but mostly I was left largely uninspired by it on the whole.
Published on 22 Mar. 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hip hops finest put out something average, 22 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lyricist Lounge - Vol.2 (Audio CD)
dont get me wrong, this is a good album, and im sure most hip hop fans will like it, but for me I was chasing after the dirty raw sound that the first album provided. This album sounds a lot cleaner and more produced. A couple of really good tracks on here, but mostly I was left largely uninspired by it on the whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars wack-tactics now played by rawkus as they go commercial, 21 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lyricist Lounge - Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Compared to soundbombing 1 and 2 and lyricist lounge 1 this is low grade ish and steadily dipping darkly into the no-limit function of sound = cash. i would'nt waste your money on this because it is unorigional and doesn't state anything new except for the regular curse of oh-no which they have chosen to utilise and make money out of. Buy something else thats my advice, soundbombings or some kweli ish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lyricist Lounge Vol. 2 Is DOPE!!!, 13 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Lyricist Lounge - Vol.2 (Audio CD)
The second release from Rawkus in the Lyricist Lounge tradition builds on the former and although isn't a revolution is just a natural evolution of the series, a natural progression. The follow up to Lyricist Lounge Vol. 1 wasn't going to be easy but Rawkus seem to have pulled it all together very well. The album flows very nicely, very smoothly and the sheer quality of the tunes on this recording is absolutely unbelievable. If you are a real Hip-Hop fanatic who has a passion for real Hip-Hop this is a must have, whether you actually buy it or bootleg it, this album is deserving of your ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty tasty, 31 Jan. 2001
This review is from: Lyricist Lounge - Vol.2 (Audio CD)
This is an album with phat beats and a few dope lyrics even though the intro is a bit weak it soon picks up with artists such as mos def, dilated peoples and talib kweli, my favourite tunes include: 2, 15 and 17, Check it out!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It don't get any better than this....., 22 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lyricist Lounge - Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Full respect to Rawkus for another Fat album...Although some tracks could be better, and even with an awful Biggie Intro Mos Def comes out with Oh No with Pharoah and Nate Dogg...top tune..i'd have bought it just for this track!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A collection of hot lyricists!!!, 19 Sept. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Lyricist Lounge - Vol.2 (Audio CD)
This album is a hip-hop classic. There are 18 tracks including an outro by Q-tip & an intro as a live performance by biggie. All the other trax are hot!!, and i dont think threre are any songs on the album that arent particularly worth listening to.Though, the best songs are "get up" by cocoa brovaz,"sharp shooters" by desd prez& talib kweli&"battle" by erick sermon.So this is a definite,definite buy 4 yall hip hop fans.Bottom line...Its a collection of talented lyricists ,I'm out(r.i.p.Pac, Yak & BigL)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Vol.1, 2 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lyricist Lounge - Vol.2 (Audio CD)
Now must of the other reviews have been saying how the first Lyricist Lounge album is better due to it being more of a live version, but i think the effect is better in the new version as it is much more produced and the sound is clearer. There are much more pumpin beats in this album with songs such as "oh no" and "get that dough" by beanie sigel" that tend to steal the show for me, but the one that stands out has to be number 10, Kool G rap and M.O.P. If you havent got this album then get it, if you dont have the first album then get it. If you have both albums then get something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Lyrics!!, 6 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Lyricist Lounge - Vol.2 (Audio CD)
This CD, consisting of possibly the best rap/hip-hop artists, is one of the most pure albums I have heard (apart from Restless by xzbit). All the songs are amazing except for track 17 by Macy Gray. Although it contains the skills and sounds of Gang Starr and the DJing skills of DJ Quik, I have never liked her music and Iam not planning on starting because she has Gang Starr company. Apart form this misfortune the rest of the CD is pure quality. Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lyricist Lounge - Vol.2
Lyricist Lounge - Vol.2 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews