Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She Bangs The Drum Machine
The Stone Roses had blessed us with several brilliant tunes, right up to and including the inevitably underrated Second Coming. That is why people can't forget them, let alone their old record companies who are still troubling themselves with the thought of 'what could've been'. A remix album was always going to be a risky and a potentially sacrilegious project: how dare...
Published on 30 April 2001

versus
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can you remix the Stone Roses and get away with it??
I guess the fact that you're reading a review of this item suggests a certain reluctance on your part to become separated from your hard-earned for an album that by definition isn't going to be as good as the original - you can't improve on perfection, right? My sentiments too, but having taken the plunge, I wasn't disappointed. The remixes presented in this compilation...
Published on 9 July 2002


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars She Bangs The Drum Machine, 30 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Remixes (Audio CD)
The Stone Roses had blessed us with several brilliant tunes, right up to and including the inevitably underrated Second Coming. That is why people can't forget them, let alone their old record companies who are still troubling themselves with the thought of 'what could've been'. A remix album was always going to be a risky and a potentially sacrilegious project: how dare moderately successful dance artists (Utah Saints, Lion Rock) and mediocre indie bands (Mint Royale, Kinobe) attempt to touch such wonderful timeless classics with their grubby knob twiddling hands?
Well, it wasn't a bad idea after all and the main reason is that these remixes aren't you're bog standard Saturday night handbag productions. No way. Instead, we have some fine reworkings. The highlights include the 808 State take on 'Made of Stone' where Ian Brown's soft lyrics sit splendidly uncomfortably over mild electronic beats. The Bloody Valentine Edit of 'I 'Wanna Be Adored' is pretty cool too: a psychedelic trance tune, sprinkled with magical Squire guitar riffs. The two 'Fools Gold' remixes (A Guy Called Gerald, Grooverider) and the Perfecto version of 'Waterfall' are quite subtle if not tame and perhaps a reflection that even the mighty dance producers were afraid to tamper with the originals.
Soul Hooligan decide on a floaty groovy take on 'Shoot You Down' whilst there's quasi-trip hop remixes of 'Elizabeth My Dear' and 'She Bangs The Drums', which aren't earth shattering but pleasant to the ear, especially if you reckon you've overplayed the original Roses album far too much. Yet my favourite is Jon Carter's working on 'I Am The Resurrection'. How would this highly talented Big Beat producer be able to remix the greatest and most arrogant Stone Roses track ever? Well, by sampling Mani's funky bass line and playing it over familiar cheeky Monkey Mafia beats. Awesome stuff. It was always going to be difficult to try to enhance songs that were already pretty amazing yet this album shows plenty signs of innovation and creativity and the magical aura of the Stone Roses still runs through the record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I'd buy a terd if it had Stone Roses written on it, 6 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Remixes (Audio CD)
So over a decade after releasing their untouchable debut album Silvertone are still ripping off the Stone Roses for their undeniable talents - or are they? First off you have to like dance music. If you do there is some success without actually reaching the heady hights musically the Stone Roses managed effortlessly to achieve. There are some real stinkers, I mean how did Utah Saints manage to get invited in on the act, a decision that stands alone as mickey take. That said with decent remixes of 'Shoot You Down', Fools Gold', 'Waterfall', I Wanna Be Adored', 'Elizabeth My Dear' and my personal favourite Mint Royales imaginative remix of Elephant Stone. Where Ian Browns Vocals seem even more angelic as they glide high above the melody to create a fantastic tune, I challenge you not to sing along to it. The trouble is some of these remixes have been around for years so in essence, yes it is a rip off but its tenfold better than anything around at a time when music needs a Stone Rosesesque kick up the backside to induce some kind of creativity in world of music that is a little less colourful without the exsistence of truely great band like the Roses most certainly were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 20 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Remixes (Audio CD)
Another Silvertone cash in? Well yes it is but it's quite good actually. I was expecting it to mainly be a album of dance remixes but it's about half and half with mellow versions of songs. Tracks that stand out include Fools Gold, I Wanna be Adored, Elephant Stone and Made of Stone (which reminds me of Idiotheque by Radiohead). Most of the tracks aren't as good as the originals but as the 'Roses are hardly going to release anymore material it's worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can you remix the Stone Roses and get away with it??, 9 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Remixes (Audio CD)
I guess the fact that you're reading a review of this item suggests a certain reluctance on your part to become separated from your hard-earned for an album that by definition isn't going to be as good as the original - you can't improve on perfection, right? My sentiments too, but having taken the plunge, I wasn't disappointed. The remixes presented in this compilation are in the most part refreshing re-workings of some classic roses tracks. Particular highlights include the 808 State mix of 'Made of Stone', Soul Hooligan's 'Shoot you down', the Justin Robertson version of 'Waterfall', and Mint Royales take on 'Elephant Stone'. It won't change your life like the original, eponymous album did, but it might at least help to prolong the life of your rapidly decaying disc, especially if you're still playing it as often as I do. A change is as good as a rest, they say, and for those not wanting a rest from The Stone Roses - try a change instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Listen and smile, 31 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Remixes (Audio CD)
Paul Oakenfold leaves Waterfall almost untouched, perhaps not daring to interfere too much with a classic. Others just leave you smiling as you catch a snatch of the original songs, some are more cover versions than remixes. All are more fun if you know the original songs. Perhaps this would have been the Stone Roses if it had all happened ten years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the originals and save your money., 16 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remixes (Audio CD)
Remixes are hit and miss things. Generally I would say that if you like an original track then a remix will not usually add anything for you. If you hear a remix of a song first the original usually lacks something you liked about the remix. Even though I like the original stone roses tracks I still felt curious that the material might lend itself well to being remixed and bought this... I really shouldn't have bothered wasting my time and money. This is a completely pointless release devoid of any half interesting versions of the roses tunes (except of course to bring in more cash). Lets face it when you think stone roses you think shimmering guitar riffs uber catchy bass hooks and killer groove jams all of which i thought would be amped up and experemented with. Instead you get sterile dance beats, repetitive loops of less interesting elements and all the aforementioned grooves removed. Avoid, avoid, avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Version of 'Elephant Stone'., 4 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Remixes (Audio CD)
includes a 'Made of Stone', that sounds very computer song like, but some good heavy versions of Waterfall, I Wanna Be Adored and Fools Gold. Bring the sounds of 4nd Street into your bedroom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Remixes
Remixes by The Stone Roses (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews