Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid production, with excellent playing and singing
I have seen many productions of the Magic Flute (ranging from live performances to opera DVDs and Ingmar Bergman's film classic). To me this Levine conducted version is a good solid example of a reliable performance with well-judged tempi and good quality DVD sound and vision production. All singers are excellent and Kathleen Battle is particularly superb as Pamina.
Published on 31 Dec 2006 by maximus

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disapointing
The singing and orchestra were great, bu the staging and lighting were too dark, which is a shame as I was looking forward to it.
Published 23 months ago by Frances Coe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid production, with excellent playing and singing, 31 Dec 2006
By 
maximus (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mozart: Die Zauberflote (The Magic Flute) -- Metropolitan Opera/Levine [DVD] [NTSC] [2000] (DVD)
I have seen many productions of the Magic Flute (ranging from live performances to opera DVDs and Ingmar Bergman's film classic). To me this Levine conducted version is a good solid example of a reliable performance with well-judged tempi and good quality DVD sound and vision production. All singers are excellent and Kathleen Battle is particularly superb as Pamina.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best production I have seen of The Magic Flute, 31 July 2010
This review is from: Mozart: Die Zauberflote (The Magic Flute) -- Metropolitan Opera/Levine [DVD] [NTSC] [2000] (DVD)
I bought this DVD as a present. I have owned this production on DVD for some time and I still think that it is the best all round production ever of The Magic Flute.

From the artistic imagination of Hockney, the music flair of Levine, to the absolute best Queen of the Night I can wholeheartledly recommend this DVD.

Jan Jones
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Magic Flute, 24 July 2008
By 
Ian Mackay (Albany, WA Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mozart: Die Zauberflote (The Magic Flute) -- Metropolitan Opera/Levine [DVD] [NTSC] [2000] (DVD)
AMAZING. The SETS: excellent - schematic, evocative and inventive - you actually SEE Tamino and Pamina going through fire and water, for example. The CAST: extraordinary - a really funny Papageno, a wonderful Pamina (Kathleen Battle is utterly credible - which is saying a lot for a fantasy - I'd die for her at the drop of a hat!!!) and as for Kurt Moll, WOW! His is the first performance I've ever seen that squares with Bernard Shaw's opinion that if God listened to music, Sarastro's music is the music he'd listen to!!!! James Levine's conducting is superb, and his friendly, understated style just brings everything home. BUY THIS, and bless me for my advice!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Die Zauberflote (The Magic Flute) -- Metropolitan Opera/Levine [DVD] [NTSC] [2000] (DVD)
I am not an expert on operas but do like to watch them. This is brilliant, excellent music and very entertaining. My father in law said it was the best version he has ever seen. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly there!, 9 Jun 2013
By 
W. Kennedy (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Die Zauberflote (The Magic Flute) -- Metropolitan Opera/Levine [DVD] [NTSC] [2000] (DVD)
Orchestra, production and most of the singing excellent. but I deducted one point from the rating because of the tenor whose dry voice, particuarly at the top grated - Oh for a Fritz Wunderlich!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disapointing, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Die Zauberflote (The Magic Flute) -- Metropolitan Opera/Levine [DVD] [NTSC] [2000] (DVD)
The singing and orchestra were great, bu the staging and lighting were too dark, which is a shame as I was looking forward to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mozart: Die Zauberflote (The Magic Flute) -- Metropolitan Opera/Levine [DVD] [NTSC] [2000] (DVD)
I had sampled it on you tube - so knew it is sublime
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Super singing...but, 13 Jun 2006
By 
R. Orange-bromehead "Richard OB" (yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mozart: Die Zauberflote (The Magic Flute) -- Metropolitan Opera/Levine [DVD] [NTSC] [2000] (DVD)
A lavish traditional production with excellent singers and Hockney scenery, but the whole delivery is wooden and generally boring. One delightful moment with kathleen Battle singing with the three boys(who really are boys).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews