Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars91
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£47.97+ £2.03 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2001
Quite simply, this is a fantastic game. For those who love manager games it's the very best of the bunch, and for those who don't, or who haven't really tried them before (like me) its a sparkling introduction. The gameplay is bang up to date and superb, the financial side is excellent, and with youth training and transfer markets galore you'll never be short of new talent, if you know what you're doing. You also have the option to watch and manage your team in-game,in 'real' time, so you can even see them at work. The graphics in the in-game element are not fantastic, but pretty good for a manager based game! You can even install an editor which lets you add and (surprise surprise) edit players, teams, strips and managers, and make yourself the best player in the world (lets face it, thats what we all want to do). You can guide your team through league, cup and international competitions, and keep an eye on your country's performance as you go. Truly this game has everything, but beware, its VERY addictive, and you won't be able to win it in a day.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is quite simply the greatest game of all time. As an owner of Championship Manager 99/00 I have some previous knowledge of the standard of the Championship Manager series, but this quite simply blew my socks off. Everything you could possibly want in the way of improvements from the 99/00 season are here on this version.
The media interaction with the manager is a definite bonus and the FA requests are realistic (They always back the referee!)
Achieving success if definitely harder than in 99/00, which I found relatively easy after a while. So far I've failed to reach a European final with any club including Man Utd, Arsenal, Barcelona, Real, Milan, Juventus. In the league I've been coasting with Man Utd at the top of the league through 'till March and then found my players just aren't performing any more, and I'm conceeding five goals at West Ham or Derby County, and the title has gone down south to Arsenal. This game truely does test your management skills.
The editor is a welcome plus to the game, however, it really isn't the easiest feature to use and editing a team can take a VERY long time. I've found i just can't be bothered with it and just want to get on and play the game. The producers should have looked at the 99/00 editor available on the internet which was far more user friendly.
That said, this is simply a must buy game, and a steal at around ...
BUT BE WARNED YOU RISK LOSING YOUR LIFE TO THIS GAME
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2001
Back in the times when PC's where usually referred to policemen there came a game called championship manager. The early versions did not grasp me but when 97/98 came out I was hooked. This latest version beg to question where does reality begin and the game end, of course I'm not overwhelmed by this life choice/game but they have in my eyes developed the ultimate foootball experience. The interface has developed into a well oiled machine and there so much stats that it seems to cover all the departments. This game is tops.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2001
Pure magic!! An absolutely addictive piece of software that will keep any diehard gamer captivated from dusk until dawn.The amount of effort that has gone into providing such in-depth statistics is admirable. Breathtaking......
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2001
As an owner of every version of every CM game that has ever been produced, and as someone who once lost his girlfriend because of the addiction, I feel qualified to brand the latest version an absloute success.
The main complaint against the CM games is that you cannot see your players or staff, and that the text-based format is boring. If that is your view then all I can say is that either you have not fully immersed yourself in the game, and discovered the shear wealth of data included, or you do not enjoy the complexities of the modern game of football.
Without making myself sound too sad, there is no bigger thrill (in a computor game sense) than seeing your team fly to the top of the table, and no greater challenge than trying to rescue the team after you have annoyed the players, the board and the fans. The realism of the game is simply breathtaking, often causing me to confuse it with reality.
If you like football to the extent that all you care about is 4.45 on a Saturday afternoon: but this game. If you're the kind of guy who says "Dennis Bergkamp, doesn't he play for Tottenham Rovers", go andd play a cheap, inferior alternative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2000
After looking forward very much to the new footie season as i was, apart from being a frustrated Nottingham Forest supporter as i am :(..It was great to see Championship Manager 00/01 on sale. After playing the previous season with such a perfect rounded realistic management simiulation which gave me hours of enjoyment i was not disappointed with this seasons package. With a choice of 26 leagues to play in and the worlds current football players this game is the most complete football simiulation and is a game of unlimited complexity and involvement. Regardless of which team you choice to start your management career with it is essential that you have individual skills additional to those necessary if playing the game. If you didn't experience Championship Manager 99/00 you missed out on the highs,lows,stresses,frustrations,joys and celebrations of being a football manager so do your self a favour as a recommendation go out and buy this reasonabley priced management simulation game you won't be disappointed its truely AWESOME. (Adrian Hall)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2001
Like many reviewers I have played the game since the first Amiga version (the floppy disk one where you couldn't sell a player for 30 weeks). I've bought every version and get excited about playing a new game. However, loading it is somewhat of an anti-climax. I can no longer even sit through a whole season of a game which has become too immersed in itself, and to be honest, is utterly boring and dull. The thrill of trying to win each game has vanished, the hunt for the next star no longer exists. Players cost excessive amounts - why don't the club just say he is unavailable, instead of wasting 10 weeks in fee negotiations?
All together- the game has gone 10 steps too far, all anyone wanted was an update of player data each year for about £10. Instead, a production line of minor upgrades costs me £30 each year, and i've had enough after 8 years!
Sorry- but this game has had its day
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2000
The game might have improved a bit from the last. Like now having more choice when fining a player the game play is still the same the screen layouts are still the same. The only feature that truly gave the game a new edge over the last one is that there is now an editor available. I have been disappointed with that last one and this one. I bought the 94-95 versions then the new green CD, which was a great improvement from the old blue screens where you can only buy one player a week, and you could not free anyone. Then I bought the red up date disk, which was still good. Then came another green disk, this time the first editor and that was the best game. Then came out 98-99, which was good because everything change, then 99-00 was nothing new. Now the 00-01 is just the same, with just a few new features. Think b4 buying this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2001
This game is like having a hamburger meal at McDonalds. There's great anticipation, then when you get it, it's very tasty, but after about 1 hr you feel pretty dissatsfied and you long for something more substantial.
Championship Manager 00/01 is no different. There's lots of hype regarding this game (see user reviews) and when you play your first couple of seasons you're engrossed. However, after a few weeks of playing this game, it becomes repetitive and boring, with your team having become invincible and all the "unknown" players having been discovered.
Far too similar to the previous titles in the serious. I wonder how many of the users who gave this game a 5 star rating have played it for more than 5 seasons. I suspect that the 5 star reviews are based on 2 or 3 seasons playing this game and no more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2000
If you're a fan of the series, but are hesitating on whether to lay out another ~£.. for this game, take my advice: BUY THIS GAME! With many more leagues than previous versions, and increased player/media interaction, you will be addicted to this game. It's rather more realistic than I expected: complain to the FA about the referee, and they will always back him... In a game managing Chelsea, I won the FA Cup, finished sixth in the Premiership, reached the second group stage of the European Cup, and got sacked by Bates, which is about right... And England failed to qualify for the 2002 World Cup in every game I've played thus far... Now, waiting to see what more EIDOS/SI can put in the next version... I'm sure we won't be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.