Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godsmack's outstanding sophomore release
Godsmack are the best kept secret in the UK, and somehow their enormous success in America hasn't been mirrored over here, yet. Every track on this album is is outstanding, they're heavy, intense and uncompromising. It's refreshing to see bands like this who deliver in all areas, where the vocals are as strong as the music, and the sound is original. They don't rely on...
Published on 7 Mar 2002 by sambarugh

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average
Only got one other album by these guys and that's IV, which was great. This isn't too bad but nothing really stands out!
Published 19 months ago by Steve


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Godsmack's outstanding sophomore release, 7 Mar 2002
This review is from: Awake (Audio CD)
Godsmack are the best kept secret in the UK, and somehow their enormous success in America hasn't been mirrored over here, yet. Every track on this album is is outstanding, they're heavy, intense and uncompromising. It's refreshing to see bands like this who deliver in all areas, where the vocals are as strong as the music, and the sound is original. They don't rely on effects and drum loops, just the instruments and aggresion they control. Stand out tracks are Awake, Mistakes and Trippin', but the rest aren't far behind. This album is as solid as they come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic..., 4 Oct 2001
By 
bjbinman@hotmail.com (Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Awake (Audio CD)
If you like your metal, then you'll like this album. Godsmack are fantastic at using heavy guitar to back the ever impressive voice of their lead singer, Sully. This is for metal fans who dont necessarily have to like the furious pace of bands like Slipknot, but enjoy slower guitar playing that you can appreciate. Instead of going mental, the band uses a lot of distortion and low pitch guitar riffs to give a controlled and infinitely likeable backing. The first few tracks, as you would expect, really jump out and grab you, and I instantly liked them. The later ones may take a few times to grow on you, but either way, this album is fantastic...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Great and heavily underrated album, 19 April 2007
This review is from: Awake (Audio CD)
While I would consider "Faceless" to be Godsmack's best and most accessible album, if you're already a fan you should get this without hesitation.

The album's title track "Awake" is perhaps the best song they have ever written, combining memorable lyrics with raw brute force and fantastic rhythms. "Greed" is also brilliant, another of the songs about one-to-one struggles that Godsmack make so powerful, but so easy to understand.

The two above songs are brilliant. Sadly, the album is not quite so consistent and compelling all through as "Faceless", so if you listen to the above two first you might be disappointed. BUT DON'T BE! There are still plenty of album tracks well worth a listen, including the opening "Sick Of Life" and the curious instrumental "Vampires". The unusual chord progression on "Forgive Me" might also catch you out.

The most ignored track on the album is "Trippin'," as it has a very slow pace and leads in quietly. However, the song is full of atmosphere and one of those powerfully delivered choruses we all love Godsmack for. It might just be my opinion in this case, but don't miss it.

I shall not go into the old argument about Godsmack's musical style being unoriginal - of course they aren't the first to do this sort of thing, but they are brilliant at it. The vocals are immense and the instruments all play together very well. So stop worrying about the influences and enjoy some of their straight up, decent heavy metal.

I strongly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CHUG CHUGGETY CHUG, 9 Oct 2014
This review is from: Awake (Audio CD)
This is Godsmacks Second album which features more of the same kind of thing from the first album. THe music is all about the rythm and groove with this band so there is very little Melody in the music itself It tends to be alot of Open C or D chugged in Really delicious rythmns and awesome drumming The bass is nice and heavy too. Sully makes up for the musics lack of melody by having some seriously powerful pipes he jumps from lustful to Shouting singalong choruses in seconds and really drives the music with his lyrics which are about alsorts of things
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awake your senses, 10 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Awake (Audio CD)
I bought this cd after hearing them supporting Limp Bizkit on the chocolate starfish tour. This album rocks from the word go, and has many brilliant tracks. Awake is by far the best track ,with its heavy guitar and bass, and Sully belts this track out in true Metallica fashion. Although the quality dips slightly towards the end of the cd, it is truely a fantastic cd, and well worth investing in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars zang, 29 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Awake (Audio CD)
excellent, does not sound so much like alice in chains on this one. A great album. It is one of those rare albums which you like from the word go and don't need it to grow on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, listenable, fairly heavy, 30 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Awake (Audio CD)
Well... I'd never heard of Godsmack until I was browsing through the archives at Amazon.co.uk I thought I'd give them a whirl... and the first few tracks amazed me and he others were poor... but do not despair if you think most the album is poor... you just have to get used to it. Unlike other bands like Slayer who scream their point at you (which I personally like) this band are more gentle with their vocals. The Lyrics are very good and the song tracks that stand out are Awake, Sick of life and Going Down. I only gave them 4 stars because they are not the heaviest band alive... and I love the music heavy. Enjoy the original sounds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unheard of In the UK, 6 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Awake (Audio CD)
Its been a long time waiting since I bought Godsmacks debue album 'Godsmack'. Having listened to and liking the style that Godsmack are capable of I eagly awaited the release of there next album. With passion it's here, at last, although harder to find on this side of the world having a music industry that really doesn't cater for us 'other' listeners I would highly recommend getting this album. More Bass, More Electric much of the same as there previous release. AWAKE is a long awaited break from the usual UK 'crud'. If you've not heard them, hear there samples and for those who have, get this album, you certianly will NOT regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awake (Audio CD)
very GOOD !!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tre Bien!, 11 Oct 2008
By 
P. Osborne (basildon, essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Awake (Audio CD)
Agonizing an articulate remonstration of machevellian stoicism, the album proports an idealistic tragedy of Macbethian proportions. At times subtle, at times extravagant, its pheneric essence is disturbed only by its melencholy. Texturely euphoric, the band attain almost diagnostic applomb..........fill ya boots!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Awake
Awake by Godsmack (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews