Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They may not be Plump, but their music certainly is., 6 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Plump Night Out (Audio CD)
The Plump DJ's are actually two of the least plump people you're ever likely to meet, but the phattness of the beats provided in this 'compilation' gives meaning to their quirky alter-egos.
The CD takes about a minute before it gets into it's groove, but believe me, it is worth waiting for.
The high point of the album for me, has to be the Plump DJ's track "Fever". It comes in the middle of the CD, and not only do the preceeding tunes lead perfectly into it, but the tracks following it keep the listeners' attention.
If Breakbeat is your thang, and you have purchased a recent copy of a magazine, with a free CD mixed by the Plump DJ's (no names mentioned!), then this is an essential purchase. I guarantee that once this CD enters your Hi-Fi, it will remain there for weeks on end.
Buy it, for your own sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phatter than a fat bloke who's just ate his Christmas dinner, 24 Aug 2001
By 
Andre Mountain (Lincoln, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Plump Night Out (Audio CD)
This is THE breakbeat album of the moment - huge beats, incredible basslines, and lashings and lashings of funk. Still being played at clubs all around the country, the Plump DJs have delivered a collection of their own tracks that anihilate the 'progressive' breaks idea. The tracks that really do the business are Push, an uplifting melodic track with a wicked funky guitar lick , Scram, a thunderous beat and evil bassline, and Electric Disco, a funky bassline groover. Get your credit card out and get it now - you won't regret it. Outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I defy you to sit while listening to this!, 20 May 2005
By 
C. Quinn "totality denier" (County Louth, Eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Plump Night Out (Audio CD)
Just awesome, no-frills dance breaks. Clubbers will have heard it already. Headphonauts will buy it for the bleeps and chirps but end up sashaying across the floor in their swivel chairs. Dammit, they might even GET UP and dance. It's that good. You might think you didn't like techno, or electro, or even disco. Then you heard THIS...
For my money, this beats even the admittedly excellent follow-up, 'Eargasm'. That has more cochlea-twisting studio prankery, but this has that sawdust-on-the-floor, Flat-Eric-limbs-everywhere edge to it. If you know what I mean.
Only a CORPSE could fail to enjoy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plump DJ's, the heavyweights of the future!, 10 April 2001
By 
This review is from: A Plump Night Out (Audio CD)
Even though i had never experienced the geniuses that make up the Plump DJ's before,my friends were constantly raving about it. Feeling curious i bought the album. I was not disappointed! The fatastic , funky beats of 'Pucker up' and the warped vocals of 'No Way' had me instantly hooked. The first four tracks built up to the amazing climax that is 'Bumper'(A true classic). From then on the buzz remains and left me thinking that the Plumps first big hit is Finger Lickin Good! Even if your musical tastes don't extend to full on breaks and beats this album is still sure to have you dancing off those spare tyres again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars breakbeat heaven, 3 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Plump Night Out (Audio CD)
Plump dj's are the current "in" folk of the music scene and listening to this album its not hard to see why.The album is just full of the best breakbeat tunes ive ever heard (unfortunately no humanoid remix!)in one place.they take all the best elements of the genre and come up with some beautiful sounds(man)and their remixing skills are beyond reproach-bumper remix is astounding-of their own stuff scram is truly awe-inspiring-one of the darkest,freakiest tunes you'll ever hear-kinda reminds me of justin robertson-all sorts of noises to mess with your head-electric disco and fever are quite simply two of the most danceale tunes in a long time,funky beats,cool vocals and earth shaking bass lines and the rest is just as good-im listening to it as i type and think im going to be for a long time yet-a MUST have for any self respecting dance(or any other type)music fan -go buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep, dark & dirty..., 10 Mar 2001
This review is from: A Plump Night Out (Audio CD)
The remixers of the moment deliver a seamless selection of breakbeat remixes and tracks of their own; a journey along dance music's sharpest cutting edge. With hefty beats at the core, the plumps build and meld various other styles into the mix - aspects of funk and trance with slick precision.
If you like the Y3K mix series or welsh masters 'Hybrid' this is a logical progression.
'Pucker up!', 'Bumper', 'Move It With Your Mind' and 'Scram' are standout tracks - offering all that is so exciting about this most organic of genres.
This kinda' stuff is just *made* for travelling at high speed at a crazy hour. I challenge you to remain still listening to this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are looking for a reason...., 7 Sep 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Plump Night Out [VINYL] (Vinyl)
...to buy this album then you have come to the right place. For starters, you are looking at this very page because you obviously enjoy good music. If you want to increase your collection of good music, this would be a wise choice. I`m listnening to the CD for the first time as I type, currently half way through track 8, WAR by Galaxy (Plumps remix) and found myself inspired to write a review which I have only ever done for Leftfield Leftism and Pungent Effulgent by the Ozrich Tentacles... So I brought this on impulse you might say? I`m going to do that more often if my impulse leads me to buy music of this quality! Simply put, an album that should be in the collection of anyone who digs groovey, funky, large sounding drums and sporadic electric shock blasts?? Whatever that is?? You`ll have to buy and discover for yourself like I did. So what are you waiting for? Can`t you find the buy now button or something??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plumptastically Gorgeous!, 20 Nov 2001
By 
kbale (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Plump Night Out (Audio CD)
I bought this album on the strength of a free Ministry magazine CD that the Plump DJs remixed (a CD worth paying for), and i wasn't at all disappointed. This album oozes an almost edible funkiness which combined with its delicious bass lines will demand the volume to be plumped up to max. Tracks to look out for are Electro Disco, Fever and The Push. It's a definate classic, don't miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a near perfect example of breakbeat in 2001, 27 Jan 2001
By 
This review is from: A Plump Night Out [VINYL] (Vinyl)
if you like breakbeat or anything with a hint of funk or electro, this album comes highly recommended. the plump djs touch down with some of their classics as well as some of the tunes youll be hearing in the clubs over the next year, but you can be reassured that even in these fickle times for dance music, youll keep coming back to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorund-Breakin', 13 Dec 2001
This review is from: A Plump Night Out [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Although I'm a bit of a Plump DJ 'Groupie' I can honestly advise anyone who's into any form of adrenalin fuelled dance music to buy this one.
I especially recommend 'Scram' as it's a killer tune but unfrotunately they did leave a few of theie best remixes off so I have to mark it down for that........especially for not including their remix of Orbital's 'Funny Break'
Otherwise Top
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Plump Night Out
A Plump Night Out by Plump DJs (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews