Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, great cast, lots of humour
this is a good film for 3 reasons,
1) its simplicity, there are no dramatic twists or moments in the film where you have to ask yourself "what the hell's going on?!" this does however make the film somewhat predictable, it has lost a star for this reason however.
2) excellent british cast. ray winstone, jude law, johnny lee miller, kathy burke, rhys ifans,...
Published on 1 Mar 2006 by robbid17

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thought it was dreadful
I personally thought this film was awful. I was literally cringing watching it. The acting is terrible (Jude Law is the most unconvincing gangster I've ever seen) and the quality is rubbish. It looks like someone filmed it on their home video camera. Really really terrible. There are one or 2 funny parts (mainly acted by the body guards and not the main characters)...
Published on 24 Jan 2012 by al.rose


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, great cast, lots of humour, 1 Mar 2006
This review is from: Love, Honour And Obey [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
this is a good film for 3 reasons,
1) its simplicity, there are no dramatic twists or moments in the film where you have to ask yourself "what the hell's going on?!" this does however make the film somewhat predictable, it has lost a star for this reason however.
2) excellent british cast. ray winstone, jude law, johnny lee miller, kathy burke, rhys ifans, etc. all are brilliant and the roles played by the operation good guys crew are fabulous. very well acted by all involved.
3) this film is so funny!! it works on the level that it never takes itself too seriously as a gangster film and this allows for some humourous slapstick comedy! i wouldn't call it a spoof though (to say it does to gangster films what 'scary movie' done to horror films is a bit wide of the mark) as it comes across as too avantgarde for that.
overall this is a class bit of film-making and although some people may not find it very rewarding in terms of the plot, it has enough laugh out loud moments to keep even the harshest of critics entertained for 90 mins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 20 Dec 2003
This review is from: Love, Honour And Obey [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST BRITISH FILMS EVER. FACT. i'm serious, i've watched it soo many times.
It's essentially two rival London gangs - North Vs. South. Young boy Jonny - a new recruit - takes it upon himself to set a turf war between the two - playing them off against each other. His counterpart in the other gang is of equal insanity and so the chaos kicks off.
It's violent, exciting, tense, funny, and even thought-provoking in some places - particularly the end. The acting is fantastic and the storyline is very beleivable.
The actors are incredible, the director couldn't have chosen anybody who would have suited the jobs better.
It's also a film with loads of memorable quotes in it, things you'll find yourself saying again and again.
Another great point is the fact that there is absolutley NO CHEESE what so ever in the film - it's all top quality. Buy it - honestly - you WON'T regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Worth Watching, 1 Feb 2007
By 
D. G. Parrott "Big Bald Bugger" (Out There!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love, Honour And Obey [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
When my wife suggested we watch this movie, I wasn't too keen. I'm very glad I did watch it, from the opening karaoke scene this film is a good old fashioned british mob movie.

It's incredibly funny at times, and the humour very black, but its just sooooo good! Ray Winstone is exceptional as the east end mob boss 'Ray' and Jude Law is also up there as his nephew 'Jude'. Ray Burdis is brilliant as Ray's second-in-command (also called Ray) who has erection problems, and spends most of the film wondering how he's going to satisfy his wife, played by the always funny Kathy Burke.

Most of the film tends to centre around a new boy to the gang - played by Jonny Lee Miller - who manages to get accepted into the east end gang, only to cause problems when he takes out two gang members from the south london gang, led by Sean Pertwee.

One of the funniest bits is the gun battle which takes place in a timber yard - Watch the film, and you'll see what I mean.

Other people starring in this film are Denise van Outen, Laila Morse (Mo' in eastenders) and also happens to be the sister of Gary Oldman! Rhys Ifans also appears.

One of the best british films in a long time, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very funny - very British comedy - with Karaoke, 19 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Love, Honour And Obey [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
For any fan of the spoof 'Fly on the Wall' cop series "Operation Good Guys" this is a must-see. Featuring much of the same cast and written and directed by the same guys this is unsurprisingly very similar.
Love Honour and Obey sees the likes of Jude Law, Sadie Frost and Ray Winston as the North London posse of gangsters and Sean Pertwee, Rhys Ifans et al as South London's. When Johnny Lee Miller joins North London he almost immediatly starts a feud with South London's Ifans without Head Honcho Winston's knowledge.
The movie is rather violent in places - although nothing compared to your average American outing - but the fact that the film in general is down-played and therefore more realistic makes the violence more believeable and so might not play well with those of a weak constitution. However, the humour throughout the entire film - especially that punctuating the violent scenes - I felt was strong enough to diminish any squeamishness.
The film is rather a self-indulgent excerise for all involved - but everyone seems to be geniunely enjoying themselves which makes the on-screen relationships seem more believeable.
Anyone with an open mind and good sense of humour should find this a fun outing.
If you watch this film for no other reason - watch if for Fat Alan's demonstration of how to fend off a knife-attack. Hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winstone magic, 7 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Love, Honour And Obey [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film is supurb. If you have a sense of humour you will love it. Non sense of humour don't bother as you won't get the hilarious one liners as "Your fat& ill throw you in the river" also when they have the shoot out in the car park and they get the giggles. Its brilliant you can watch it over and over.
If you are in love with Ray Winstone as my friends and I are then even better.
Watch it you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Mack me off like a two bob!, 19 July 2006
This review is from: Love, Honour And Obey [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
No I don't know what that means, and neither does Ray Kreed, Daddy of the North London boys. Facing Ray across the river is Sean and the South London boys, a man of taste with his decent champagne, his classy bars, and his tendency to make up words as he goes along.

Love, Honour & Obey is a gangster movie following the progress of Johnny (Johnny Lee Miller) in joining his mate Jude's gang (Jude Law) headed up by Ray Kreed (Ray Winstone - who else). They run scams, they fight with South London and throughout it all Fat Alan gets stabbed, beaten up, drugged, forced to eat dog food, and blown up until he thinks it's about time he gets another line of work.

A London Gangster movie with an edge overlaid with some highly funny moments, particularly the boys disguised as arabs trying to knick a load of diamonds after taking some viagra. Clearly made on the cheap - why spend the wedge when you don't need to - and stuffed with cracking one liners and some karaoke performances that stun - Sean and Trevors "Fireball XL5" duet and the opening "Avenues and Alleyways" by the North London Mob musically punctuate a great movie.

Special moments include Kath & Ray (the other Ray) solving his erectile dysfunction and Fat Alan demonstrating his hand to hand combat skills and ending up in hospital. A raft of great performances in a film appeared in, written and directed by Dominic Anciano and Ray Burdis, writers of "Operation Good Guys" and "Final Cut".

I loved this film, I've watched it many times and the one liners never fail to make me laugh, especially Ray Kreed to the TV Soap Director "Shut up you, you're fat and I'll throw you in the river" - I suppose you had to be there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liked It!, 26 Jun 2008
This review is from: Love, Honour And Obey [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I could give this film five stars just for having Jude Law in it but I won't, I'm giving it five stars because it's very good. Ok I can see why some won't like it, if you didn't get 'Final Cut', you certainly won't get this as it's in a similar vein, except more polished. But if you like this sort of humour than it's a must. It's British humour from start to finish which is a refreshing change with so much americanism around. It starts with Miller fed up with the 'rut' he's in and imagines that his life would be better if he has Law's gangster lifestyle. So Law introuduces him to the 'boss' - Winstone and he's soon living his dream. Except things go wrong when he breaks a gangsters code of conduct, (that's a laugh in itself), with the South London mob. Soon his 'own' turns against him with fatal consequences.
The film is dispersed with mobster mentality. My best bit is with the forged credit cards and Dominic beats up the store owner as the others run for it and he says 'get some kicks in Ray!' Then Jonny Lee Miller has a go when he went back. Hillarious! The ending is also good. As usual with this cast I found the acting from Law, Miller and Winstone to be first class, followed closely with Frost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most funny gangster film ever!, 11 May 2005
This review is from: Love, Honour And Obey [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Nearly every sentance said by the characters are all part of the comedy of the film. Anyone with a slight sense of humour will love this film and give it at least four stars.
Great choice of actors for a London gangster movie, some of the actors added their own sense of humour to the script.
Don't get me wrong this isn't just a load of funny crap, its a serious film with LOTS of black comedy and just generally funny and cool lines. You will keep repeating lines said by characters to your friends and will never forget them.
Watch it once and you will probably think it's good. Watch it twice you will think it's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a blinder!, 15 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Love, Honour And Obey [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is a wonderful film. There's humour amongst the macho-posteuring of the "heavies", and the daftness of how even "hard men" can mess up an easy "sort-out" made me laugh out loud. No one tries to out-act or ham it up; it's like being in the same room as them because it's nicely understated when needed.
The humour is excellent.
Buy this film - you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Low-budget Thriller Comedy a Gem!, 9 Oct 2000
This review is from: Love, Honour And Obey [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Low-budget. Yes. Low-publicity. Definately. Rubbish. It is certainly not. This gem of a film is a feast for all those Lock, Stock-a-holics who can't get enough of the new wave of London gangster movies. If it's a recipe of violence, action, excitement and comedy that tantalises your cinematic taste buds then look no further and serve up this feast of a movie. The cast features many familiar faces from the UK's stable of acting talent. Denise van Outen also stars. Jude Law portrays the up-and-coming vilain superbly, Jonny Lee Miller is brilliant as the lunatic wanna be and Ray Winstone is awesome as the guv'nor. Support roles by Kathy Burke, Sean Pertwee and Rhys Ifans (to name but a few) are equally flawless. Many missed this film on the big screen. Be sure not to miss out on the small-screen release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love, Honour And Obey [DVD] [2000]
Love, Honour And Obey [DVD] [2000] by Ray Burdis (DVD - 2008)
£3.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews