Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Love Supreme !
Ok, so Kevin Costner doesn't always make great movies but he always makes great BASEBALL movies ! "For Love Of The Game" will probably be the epitaph etched on Costner's headstone because he truly does love the game of Baseball ... and it shows.
This is the third film in Costner's Baseball "Trilogy" and, like it's predecessors "Bull Durham" and "Field of Dreams" it...
Published on 8 Oct. 2002 by A. R. Wilson

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great if you like baseball.....Average if you like Costner
I have been a fan of the Costner "sport" movies (Field of Dreams, Tin Cup etc) for a long time and looked forward to seeing this. Unfortunately as much as I tried to like this movie, I found it too long and with too much emphasis on the Baseball elements, which is great if you like the game, but I just wonder about European audiences. It centres on Billy Chapel,...
Published on 27 Nov. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Love Supreme !, 8 Oct. 2002
By 
A. R. Wilson "scotsmet" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ok, so Kevin Costner doesn't always make great movies but he always makes great BASEBALL movies ! "For Love Of The Game" will probably be the epitaph etched on Costner's headstone because he truly does love the game of Baseball ... and it shows.
This is the third film in Costner's Baseball "Trilogy" and, like it's predecessors "Bull Durham" and "Field of Dreams" it demonstrates the actor's knowledge of and feeling for the subject matter. He was by all accounts a more than useful player in his youth and this experience is put to good use as he stars as Billy Chapel, a veteran Pitcher with the Detroit Tigers, who is coming to the end of his big-league career. The film regularly flashes back through Chapel's on-off relationship with his long-term girlfriend {Kelly Preston} but the romantic scenes don't detract from the action sequences which see Billy taking the mound at Yankee Stadium for what may well be the final nine innings of an illustrious twenty-year career with his beloved Tigers. Near the end of the film, both Billy's career and relationship are on the line and the climax is exactly what you'd expect but no less dramatic for that. This film works on a number of levels - the romantic stuff isn't mushy or overplayed and the Baseball scenes are extremely realistic and cleverly filmed. Anyone who's ever seen a game at Yankee Stadium will immediately recognise the .. err .. unique atmosphere generated by the New York fans !
At the end of the day , if you're a Baseball Nut you'll love this film because no-one does it better than Kevin and even if you've no interest in the game, there's enough of a sub-plot to hold your attention.
I loved it, Jonathan Ross {apparently} loved it and so will you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great study of selfishness, 31 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: For Love of The Game [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This film is NOT about baseball, you could transplant it with any professional sport. Baseball works because it has plenty of time within the game that allow's Costners character to reflect on the passing of his professional career and how he has got to this point.
The Flashbacks are done superbly, they start off rose-tinted but as the film progresses reality enters, showing what little regard he had for anyone around him, and he has to question "Was it worth it?"
Sam Raimi has crafted a great film about the selfishness of professional sportsmen. The only problem was part of the Romantic thread of the story, it worked for the most part, but part of it just didnt ring true especially at the end. If you watch it you'll see what I mean, I kept expecting her to say "you had me at Hello". This looked like a nice tidy add-on forced by the studio, who seem to think that the guy should always get the girl.
Sam Raimi has shown with this and A simple plan, that he is an accomplished filmmaker, who isnt afraid to take time to build the characters, so we actually care what happens to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's not to love?, 19 Feb. 2007
By 
Robin Johnston (Michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For Love of The Game [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I love baseball, I love Costner sports movies and I love the Detroit Tigers.

Guess what? I loved this film. Sure there are bits and pieces to quibble about (hence 4 stars rather than 5) but it's a good story that has been given a good treatment. It clearly shows the not so lovable side of sportsmen alongside all the great stuff, which I think is what makes it so compelling.

I will be watching this film and enjoying it for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars watch it and watch it again, 7 Mar. 2004
This review is from: For Love of The Game [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
for love of the game is a true lovestory

billy chapel a famous baseball player falls in love with jayne who also falls in love with him but jayne comes second in billys life baseball comes first
it is mainly flashbacks of how they met and how billy treated jayne the end is perfect and just how i hoped
a perfect film of romance if you however wanted to see the baseball i would not watch this if i were you only brief bits are shown
a perfect performance from the cast espescially kevin costner (billy chapel)
i have bought this film a year ago and are still watchin it now buy it and you will know why
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kevin at his usual Best, 9 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: For Love of The Game [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
An easy watching light hearted romance that everybody should be able to relate to. Kevins performance was to his normal standard of shear brilliance. If you can keep up with Here and Now flash back story then you should have no problem with is, It uplifting and makes us all look at the decisions we make in life and the loved ones that occaisionally get forgotten and taken for granteed when we become obsessed with our own success.
Definately a must if you have not yet seen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dvd review, 29 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Love of The Game [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I didn`t know what to expect from this film,as i hadn`t heard about it.I was looking for a baseball film to put on my tablet for a trip away.Having watched it,i was not dissapointed,a very good film,and not just for baseball fans.My daughter came down with tears having watched it,and thats not happened a lot.Very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Costner, Baseball and Romance - Just a damn good film, 9 Feb. 2014
By 
Steve.J (Glos. UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Love of The Game [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I must confess to liking Kevin Costner films in general, I know he has made a few `real dogs', but most stars have managed to do it at one time or another!

This film, the last in his baseball trilogy, centres on the last game of the season for an ageing pitcher (Billy Mitchell) after a distinguished career and tells the story of the game, interspersed with flashback scenes to his on-off relationship with Jane (played by Kelly Preston) and also to earlier parts of his career. Costner is not afraid to show the self- absorbed side of professional sports players, with almost everything coming second to their career.

The film takes its' time to develop the story properly and makes for an enjoyable evenings entertainment, even if it gets a bit trite at times. Costner's love affair with baseball shines through and seems to elicit some of his best performances.

So, if you love sports movies with a bit of romance thrown in, then you should enjoy this one! I found myself enjoying the actual game scenes even more than those in his earlier film `Bull Durham', as they were so well filmed. My wife and I watched this for the third time the other night and found it to be as enjoyable as the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow perfectly paced. Classic Costner, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Love of The Game [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
A baseball Costner movie with romantic drama. you needn't know baseball to enjoy this chic flick but don't expect too much comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great if you like baseball.....Average if you like Costner, 27 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: For Love of The Game [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I have been a fan of the Costner "sport" movies (Field of Dreams, Tin Cup etc) for a long time and looked forward to seeing this. Unfortunately as much as I tried to like this movie, I found it too long and with too much emphasis on the Baseball elements, which is great if you like the game, but I just wonder about European audiences. It centres on Billy Chapel, who, in rapid succession, is presented with a number of live-changing choices, Does he follow his girlfirend to London and a new life, does he prolong his baseball career and finally does he opt to finish his last game in glory. The film is full of flashbacks as he reviews last few years of his life. And those flashbacks also present a problem for the film, it causes it to lack continuity and comes across somewhat muddled. Having said that the performances are good from Costner & Preston. But if you are looking for soulsearching impact of Field of Dreams, or the triumphalism over the final scenes of Tin Cup, you will be dissappointed. Finally if you love baseball, you will love this, if you don't you may find it too slow and drawn out. I did my best to like it, but ultimately was dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For Love of the Game, 17 Jan. 2011
By 
TheRavingReviewer (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: For Love of The Game [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This American Sports Romance classic explores the life and times of veteran baseball player Billy Chapel (Kevin Costner) in what proves to be his last game in his beloved sport. Like many other of his films involving sporting prowess (American Flyers, Bill Durham and Field of dreams), Costner brings a certain edge to the role that keeps you interested, especially when coupled with flashbacks of his romantic past. This is a fantastic film with a great film core, reminding us that it is never too late to achieve greatness and discover what you truly want from life.

Anyone who enjoys sports based films will find this entertaining, but so will those that appreciate the rocky road of relationships; especially when matters of the heart are coupled with the exterior pressures of a profession. This film is a great journey and definitely a Costner classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For Love of The Game [DVD] [2000]
For Love of The Game [DVD] [2000] by Sam Raimi (DVD - 2001)
£4.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews