Customer Reviews


149 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should be in everyone's comedy collection.
Rowan is always at his best in these roles, either Blackadder or Inspector Fowler. He was made for the roles. Delivering lines with such comic value that you laugh everytime, regardless if you know what is coming. The first series wasn't repeated too much on TV, but series two had more coverage. You are spoiled for choice here with both DVDs at a bargain price. Watching...
Published on 24 Jan 2005 by mrcambridge

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some harmless fun...
Although this series is not belly-laughing stuff it still is rather entertaining. Extremely tongue in cheek, easy going and quite immature at times, it still has enough to make you giggle. A great series just to give an air if you want something to watch whilst you eat or maybe if you got 30mins to kill. Especially like the chemistry between Inspector Fowler (Atkinson)...
Published on 18 July 2009 by Mr. S. J. Carter


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This should be in everyone's comedy collection., 24 Jan 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thin Blue Line: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
Rowan is always at his best in these roles, either Blackadder or Inspector Fowler. He was made for the roles. Delivering lines with such comic value that you laugh everytime, regardless if you know what is coming. The first series wasn't repeated too much on TV, but series two had more coverage. You are spoiled for choice here with both DVDs at a bargain price. Watching them now (2005), they seem fresh and funny as ever, and it's a sin they didn't make a third series. Inspector Grim, played by David Haig, is the icing on the cake, flawless lines and delivery. "It's my arse on the line, and I don't want any cock ups." Watching him get wound up and going into a rant about "my Tina", or some other "Namby Pamby" speech is side splitting, he protrays stress in a hilarous way.
This is every bit as good as the best Blackadders in my opinion, it just shows how good sitcom can be. Cast is excellent, the writing brillant. It's rare to find such sitcom perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rowan Atkinson at his best, 26 July 2005
By 
This review is from: The Thin Blue Line: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
This is without doubt an underappreciated Tv series, which sees Rowan Atkinson at his best. His martian impression is hilarious, and the electricity between him and the other characters is great. As always he uses facial expressions, and gestures to hilarious effect, and puts a large ammount of energy into his performance. Inspector Grim is very funny, especially in the second series when his partner is Boyle played by Mark Addy. James Dreyfus is wonderful as always as well, with his delighfully camp, and childish Goodie. Rudolph Walker is excellent, with classic lines such as "we gave our dog a bad name ~ Collin" His deadpan portrayal just makes it even funnier.
If I was going to be critical i would complain that series one is less funny than series two, and that Habib's character can get a little annoying, but these are minor complaints really. Its a cheerful series, with plenty of laughs, and i recommend it to anyone who loves Rowan Atkinson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the Beat comedy, 5 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thin Blue Line: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
A Ben Elton classic ... mild inuendo, suitable for all ages. Terrific characters very well portrayed, all round.
If you like a laugh and have any sense of humour at all, you'll just love this one. I've a "horrible" humour while my wife prefers "slap-stick" but we were sad to come to the end of this box set.
I have a varied, dvd collection but this is not only memorable but so affordable, buy it for yourself and a friend - they're sure to love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Elton's genius on DVD, 23 Feb 2007
This review is from: The Thin Blue Line: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
I can remeber this BBC comedy being transmitted when I was a child and finding it hilarious. I also remember watching it on VHS years later and finding it hilarious for different reasons. It is a British comedy set in Gasforth Police Station and blends political and social issues with great wit and humour. The diversity of the characters the structure of the fourteen episodes and the actors make this greatly underrated comedy a classic.

Firstly there is Inspector Fowler played by Rowan Atkinson. He is a retentive old-fashioned Inspector whose ignorance of the ways of the world and inability to understand his girlfriend is funny and endearing. His live in girlfriend is Sergeant Patricia Dawkins who is played by Serena Evans. When (Raymond) Fowler insults her without meaning to the look on her face is hilarious.

Fowler commands three constables. Maggie Habib is a left wing feministic Asian officer whose views are very different from Fowlers. Next there is Constable Gladstone who, although being a main character has no really major personality traits compared to the others (which let's face it is difficult). Then, of course, is Constable Kevin Goody played by James Dreyfus. Everything he does in this programme is hilarious. He is quite camp in his mannerisms but is hopelessly in love (or lust) with Maggie Habib.

Inspector Grim is a middle aged officer of CID. He is miserable (in a comedy way) impatient and often gets his sentences muddled. He is many peoples favourite character but if you watch the show you will find there is a wide range of favourite characters available.

Three other characters that I should mention are Constables Kray and Boyle who are in command of Grim in each series respectively. Also the mayoress who Raymond secretly fancies. She appears in a few episodes in Series 2 and is self-important and speaks in a booming voice.

The reason I think this programme is so great is because the episode structure is perfect. After you watch a few episodes you'll know that when Inspector Fowler has the constables assembled for briefing that it is going to go hilariously wrong and the clash of personalities is fantastic. It was written by Ben Elton (who appears in the Xmas Special) and has the political attack appeal of The Young Ones. Topics such as the monarchy, sex, police policies, subcultures, banks, protestors, racism and marriage are all raised without causing the viewers any offence.

Certain aspects of the humour may not appeal to some people such as when Habib requests a judge for their role playing exercise to which Fowler replies "We haven't got a judge. A glance about the place reveals no slumbering octogenarian claiming never to have heard of The Beatles!" However the chemisty between Habib and Goody is superb. She acts like an older sister snapping at him like a child often with the catchphrase "I shall speak to your mother!"

Trust me give this a chance, it's comedy gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 2 Feb 2007
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thin Blue Line: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
This is not one of the greatest comedy's ever made. However it is good and very occasionally great. You get two DVDs in this set, one for each series.

Rowan Atkinson gets star billing of course, and he delivers his lines with his usual brilliance - the fact that the lines aren't quite as brilliantly written, as say BlackAdder is not Atkinsons fault. He plays

Inspector Fowler who is in charge of a mottley crew of uniformed officers. All of the supporting cast playing Fowlers team are good.

However the reason to get this series is David Haig (who I have never seen in anythingelse) as Detective Inspector Grim. Although he doesn't get as much screen time as Atkinson when he is on-screen he is completely brilliant and steals the show from everybody. His muddled cliches and brilliant delivery are the great bits in this show.

So this isn't as good as BlackAdder or Fawlty Towers, but it is funny and after you've seen a few episodes and got to know the characters you will be hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All time classic!!!.....Especially Insp Grim!!!, 19 Nov 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thin Blue Line: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
I can honestly say this is the only comedy series that has made me laugh out loud all the way through!
Inspector Fowler is hilarious, and so pompous and proper, when he's collecting money for the Queen's bday present it's side splitting. Atkinson pulls the character off perfectly nobody else could have starred in this role.
David Haig (Insp Grim) is my favourite character, why this man has not done more comedy programmes is beyond me! Must be all that 'fannying about'!
Grim's lines are hysterical and he never makes sense. His rants about Fowler, Tina and criminals are great and his best scenes were when he went to Scotland Yard.
Look out for constable Goody's 'modeling' of the new uniform and detective Kray's carry on. Absolutely first class entertainment for all ages!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Thin Blue Line hits the spot!, 5 Nov 2000
By A Customer
At last, the whole of this brilliant sit-com in one box set! The "Thin Blue Line" between order and disorder is the police of course, but at Gasforth Police station it is practically invisible!
The characters are so funny that it is difficult to pick a favourite! Rowan Atkinson is brilliant as the bungling Inspector Fowler who spends more time upsetting his partner and colleague Patricia than catching criminals. Who can forget him sticking his up the lady mayor's skirt and proclaiming "there could be a number of innocent reasons why an Inspector might put his head up the Mayoress's skirt!".
The plain clothes squad (which consists of one other officer!) are led by DI "GO GO GO!!" Grim, an idiot of a man who firmly believes that an "ism" never hurt anybody! He hasn't got time for "namby pamby hoity toity" liberals who treat people with respect. This guy didn't just watch "The Sweeney" he thinks he is in it! Constable Habib once proclaimed that she thinks he has been taken over by "an alien from the Planet Burk", and Inspector Fowler, proper as ever told her to have respect for rank.
The most refreshingly "PC" of all the PC's is Constable Goody, played fantastically by James Dreyfus. There is genius in Ben Elton's writing as Kevin fits every gay stereotype going, and yet we know that Goody is hopelessly in love with Maggie Habib. PC Gladstone, on the other hand, is hopelessly in love with Gloria Hunniford, and he probably has more chance with her than Kevin has with Maggie!
According to Ben Elton, Rowan Atkinson is currently "getting around to thinking about making another series". I wish he would get around to it a bit quicker! The "Thin Blue Line" is easily the best sit-com (and with the best theme tune!) to have emerged in the last five years or so. The issues are just as relevant and funny now.
So I would recommend this video to anyone. If you weren't a fan before you soon will be! But don't forget to "mind your Curly Wurly"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Your Part of The Thin Blue Line is Slightly Thicker.", 3 Sep 2007
A couple of weeks ago, I was feeling very low. When my mother put this DVD on "to cheer me up", I was at first very dubious. After the first 5 minutes of the first episode, however, I was competely hooked. I spent the next week or so getting out of bed in the morning solely to watch the next episode. I watched both series within two days, but that didn't stop me playing them over and over again for many days.

"The Thin Blue Line" is by far my favourite sitcom at the moment, and I can be very picky in what I think is funny. This is funny. Trust me.

Rowan Atkinson is brilliant as Inspector Fowler - much better than he is at Mr Bean, anyway. His constant witty remarks never fail to amuse me, and he is brilliant being a pompous, stuck-up know-it-all who constantly offends his partner, Sgt Dawkins, with insensative remarks. ("I shall be gald when we're tucked up in bed tonight, Patricia." "Really, Raymond?" "Oh yes, I shall be out like a light!")

By far my favourite charactor, however, is rubber-faced Constable Goody, played my James Dreyfus. He really lights up every scene he is in. Goody is perhaps the stupidest PC on the force. He acts like a child most of the time, making pointless comments and sniggering at things that "sound rude". Though his heart is in the right place, he constantly aggrivates Fowler, who calls him a "foul boy" or a "disgusting boy", that sort of thing. Goody's frequent attempts to win the heart of PC Habib are also hilarious. This quote from the series pretty much sums Goody up:
GOODY: "We're all part of the Thin Blue Line, aren't we, Sir?"
FOWLER: "Yes, Goody. The only difference is that your part of the Thin Blue Line is slightly thicker."

I was bitterly disappointed when I found out there wasn't a third series. I nearly cried. Is there any chance of the actors all coming together 12 years later to make a few more episodes?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute classic., 3 Oct 2002
This review is from: The Thin Blue Line: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
Focussing on Rowan Atkinson when writing about The Thin Blue Line would be missing the point a bit. Inspector Fowler (Atkinson) is undoubtedly funny, but Inspector Grim is one of the greatest comedy characters of all time. No question. Never has a secondary character created so many laugh out loud moments.
At the risk of sounding like I'm reviewing a Friends DVD, the one with the football match is a classic. Grim, when asked why he's wearing a bright orange nylon football shirt with matching bobble hat (you'd laugh just looking at this bloke!), explains that he's gone undercover to catch violent hooligans because "this is the sharp end mate, not jolly cricket bats, lovely boating weather, don't you know, Oxford and Cambridge, row row row and hoist your little cox above your head. This is football, and football is not a game!" Err...Maybe you had to be there. It's funny when you see it. Honest.
The Thin Blue Line is consistently excellent. Ben Elton has written a comedy in which each character is well conceived and funny, and the scripts are witty and intelligent.
I've watched this DVD about 1,000 times and if I'd paid £100 for it I'd still think it was a bargain. Buy it. Aiii.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you wouldn't get it if it came in a large bag marked 'IT'......, 7 May 2008
By 
Mr. L. Legrove (East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Thin Blue Line: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
...honestly, the lines don't come much better tha this. ben elton wrote the script, rowan atkinson pulls them off. this is like the police version of blackadder. amazing. inspector grim is hilarious, and alongside inspector fowler you ave two of the funniest charecters ever! my god i have seen this series over and over again, rowan atkinson is genus, ben elton is god. simple enough, if you loved blackadder you will love this. and look at the price! its sacrilege! buy buy buy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thin Blue Line: Complete BBC Series 1 & 2 [1995] [DVD]
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews