Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DIRECTOR'S CUT OF THE TERRIBLE MOVIE IS QUITE GOOD!!!
I've bought this director's cut DVD version only because Chris Walken is one of my favorite actors and I want all his movies on DVD. But I was rather surprised that this cut actually makes sense and it's rather good psychological thriller. So enyone who saw that terrible producer's version (which drove director Cammell to suicide) watch this and be amazed.
Published on 2 Dec 2000 by tomislav.strinic@st.tel.hr

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad film, great scene.
It's a really badly made film, however there is an outragiously great scene (asumed largely improvised) with the brilliant Christopher Walken which makes it well worth watching. It's one of the best scenes in any movie I've ever seen.
Published 3 months ago by Mr. Danny A. Flynn


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DIRECTOR'S CUT OF THE TERRIBLE MOVIE IS QUITE GOOD!!!, 2 Dec 2000
This review is from: Wild Side [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
I've bought this director's cut DVD version only because Chris Walken is one of my favorite actors and I want all his movies on DVD. But I was rather surprised that this cut actually makes sense and it's rather good psychological thriller. So enyone who saw that terrible producer's version (which drove director Cammell to suicide) watch this and be amazed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS Is The Version To Get, 13 July 2009
By 
T. Dissinger "kagami101" (Jacksonville, AL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Side [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
I live in the USA and we are saddled with TWO horrible versions of this film. If you want to watch "Wildside", THIS is the version to get. Some folks may claim that this film is a total car crash. I have to agree. But the Tartan Video edition is one you can't take your eyes off of. The others just make you wince and look away. Great performances from the entire cast and a VERY offbeat script make this a winner. Thank goodness it is a 0 region DVD and I had a player that could convert PAL to NTSC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 20 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Wild Side [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
What can you say. This film is superb. The music by Sakamoto is wonderful. The editing and the performances are weird I know, Christopher Walken is always watchable. Buy this, you won't regret it. But not for those who liked Titanic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God Bless Frank Mazzola, 4 Sep 2002
This review is from: Wild Side [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Frank Mazzola, the film's editor, is the man who brought this version of Cammel's vision to the screen. We will never know if this is what Donald really wanted but it is likely to be a much better guess than that made by the producers Nu Image with their straight to video softcore lesbian erotica version that got the late Mr Cammel so upset. This film is probably one of the best movies made during the nineties. Cammel has drawn astonishing, richly nuanced performances from the four main players in tightly woven set pieces. Most notable are Walken's money launderer Bruno, whose hysterical paranoia is both hilarious and disturbing, and Steven Bauer's extremely menacing undercover agent/ macho thug Tony, masquerading as Bruno's bodyguard. The film also includes Ryuichi Sakamoto's wonderfully atmospheric soundtrack that breathes gently over the film. The mise en scene is beautifully set up, colours radiate passionately throughout the set design and works brilliantly with the intense sexual cat and mouse play in the film, every emotion delicately registered from body to voice. The movie is a complex richly woven tapestry of sex and greed, power and violence; with a fathomless perspicacity that rewards multiple repeat viewings to point that, to be frank (no pun intended), if you don't like this film in any way you should probably stop watching movies altogether.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 18 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Wild Side [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great film. Anne Heche and Joan Chen are brilliant as is Christopher Walken.
Alex (Anne Heche) works in a bank but is forced in prostitution to pay of her debts. One of her clients is Bruno (Walken) who becomes obsessed with Alex's performance in bed. Bruno sends his bodyguard to find out if Alex is with the police but it turns out the bodyguard is the one who is with the police.
Alex meets Virginia (Joan Chen), who is Bruno's estranged wife, and they fall for each other. The love story between the two women is beatiful and they realise they don't need men now they have found each other.
The DVD has a lot of special features including interviews with Anne Heche and Donald Cammell, the director. There is also a short film, The Argument.
This film is great buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Wild Side" DVD, 8 Jan 2011
By 
W. C. Simpson "retired engineer" (Chino Valley, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wild Side [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Purchased DVD from Amazon.com.uk in order to get the full directors cut and was not disappointed. The full directors cut is 111 minutes long whereas the version for sale in the US is only 92 minutes long. Having seen both I can understand Director Donald Cammell's anger and distress over the cuts that were made in the film, though I can't understand it being the reason he committed suicide. The film is obviously not for children, but for those 18 and over is well worth seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Glad I bought it, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Side [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Very unusual, and very funny at times. Chris Walken's acting is brilliant.

Richard Graty (Artist)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The real deal, 6 July 2014
This review is from: Wild Side [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen two other versions of Wild Side and this is by far the best. Where the others lost the plot and made little sense, this has a slower, more intelligent pace. It seems more delicate and nuanced, less voyeuristic and sensational. Much kinder to the story, the director and the actors - loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply a Masterpiece from genius Donald Cammell, 1 May 2014
This review is from: Wild Side [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This fantastic film has some bad reviews from idiots who should be watching a Barney video or who were expecting some sleazy soft porn dvd which this film was when the studios originally butchered it. Wild Side is a masterpiece. All the cast give amazing performances. Walken is pure Walkenesque brilliance. His acting in this have been described as sheer genius bordering on pure madness. Heche, Bauer and Joan Chen are excellent. The lesbian relationship is the most realistic I have seen in cinema and very believable. The interaction between Walken and Heche, Heche and Bauer and Bauer and Walken is phenomenal. This is just such a good film. I saw it first on tv over 20 years ago and I would rank it in my top ten films of all time. I would watch it once or twice a year. Shame on anyone who gives this film a low review, you haven't got a clue. Stick to your Vin Diesel films. To any reader who appreciates artistic filmmaking (and Cammell was a genius) just buy this dvd - the UK directors cut version, you won't regret it. "LIFE IS EXTREME"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bad film, great scene., 26 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wild Side [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
It's a really badly made film, however there is an outragiously great scene (asumed largely improvised) with the brilliant Christopher Walken which makes it well worth watching. It's one of the best scenes in any movie I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wild Side [1998] [DVD]
Wild Side [1998] [DVD] by Donald Cammell (DVD - 2000)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews