Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tremendous 60s/70s English R & B
Brilliant Late 60's early seventies english r & b Starts with a song that everyone of that era has heard but few know who originally recorded it - the wonderful Junior's Wailing and then goes through several styles from the jazz influenced featuring Henry McNair on flute to the straight blues of Boyds 24 hours combined with an amazing production which makes it sound...
Published on 26 Jun 2001

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To bluesy for me!
While the other three albums are exceptional, this one reminds me too much of John mayall.
It's okay if you like that period of music!
Let's say they went on to better things!
Published 6 months ago by Jackarmy1071


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tremendous 60s/70s English R & B, 26 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Reflection (Audio CD)
Brilliant Late 60's early seventies english r & b Starts with a song that everyone of that era has heard but few know who originally recorded it - the wonderful Junior's Wailing and then goes through several styles from the jazz influenced featuring Henry McNair on flute to the straight blues of Boyds 24 hours combined with an amazing production which makes it sound as if it was recorded in a railway arch club somewhere giving it such a live feel. A wonderful cd and brilliant to see it still on release
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Let the good times roll, 14 Sep 2008
By 
Mark Kibble "Underground man" (Coalville Leics England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reflection (Audio CD)
Although there are definite blues influences in this debut album, Steamhammer were never the out and out blues band as reputed in some quarters. Rock and boogie tinged with elements of jazz and folk, firmly entrenched in the late sixties early seventies style make this a worthwhile addition for anyone with yearnings for the music of that wonderful period.
Not as polished as MK2 or Mountains, but that in a way is the attraction, warts'n'all, a policy adopted by many bands at the time. This is evident in some rather abrupt song endings and studio talk, but who cares, its the inbetween bits that count.
'Juniors wailing' and BB Kings 'You'll never know' are guaranteed foot stompers, and with the exception of 'Twenty four hours' (the only out and out blues track on the album) and water pts 1 & 2, the rest of the album rocks along quite nicely.
I may have to upgrade my rating of this recent addition as it sounds better each time I play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great discovery ........, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflection (Audio CD)
Some 45 years ago as a child, my holidays were taken in Worthing, but it was only recently that i discovered via Brian Matthew - who else ! - that a great band based in that very resort were producing some tremendous music during the late 60's / early 70's. Reflection does not disappoint !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: Reflection (Audio CD)
"Reflection" is one of the greatest and most underrated albums of the period. Like "Let it Bleed" it should, neighbours permitting, be played at high volume. It's simply brilliant. This CD reissue makes use of the outside of the original LP cover, much better than an earlier version which featured the inside photo, showing the group looking somewhat gormless. (Their music is timeless, their fashion sense wasn't.) Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To bluesy for me!, 10 Jan 2014
This review is from: Reflection (Audio CD)
While the other three albums are exceptional, this one reminds me too much of John mayall.
It's okay if you like that period of music!
Let's say they went on to better things!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reflection
Reflection by Steamhammer (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews