Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its just Fab
The first thing you see of the game after the nice into movie, is the graphics, which are aldo very nice, not earth shattering, but nice. But then this type of game is not renouned for amazing graphics. The gameplay however is fantastic, Guybrush has been converted well to the strange world of 3D. The controls do take a bit of getting used to, sometimes Guybrush will walk...
Published on 14 Dec 2000

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars By far the funniest, but also the least challenging...
I unfortunatly completed this game within three days of opening the box!!! Three days solid playing admittedly, but it still wasn't as hard as any of the other monkey island adventures...unfortunatly.
The point and click interface has been replaced by a clever little joystick interface. This sometimes made guybrush difficult to control as when the camera angle...
Published on 25 Jan 2001 by Christopher Morris


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its just Fab, 14 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Escape from Monkey Island (PC) (Video Game)
The first thing you see of the game after the nice into movie, is the graphics, which are aldo very nice, not earth shattering, but nice. But then this type of game is not renouned for amazing graphics. The gameplay however is fantastic, Guybrush has been converted well to the strange world of 3D. The controls do take a bit of getting used to, sometimes Guybrush will walk off in completely the wrong direction or just refuse to look at something or other. Once you get used to them though they are just as effective as the point and clicking of the previous games. The script is witty and funny as we have come to expect from the Monkey Island series, and the voice acting is excellent, Guybrush in particular. I would recomend this game to anyone who likes adventure games, especially if they have already played a previous Monkey Island game. The puzzles can be a bit comfusing sometimes, but are always imaginative. Who wants easy puzzles anyway? If you do get completely stuck, there are always websites where you can get some help, most of which are cunningly organised so as to give you tips in small amounts so as not to spoil the story. This is a very Good Game and a very welcome addition to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great! I'm a devoted MI Fan!!, 14 Feb 2003
This review is from: Escape from Monkey Island (PC) (Video Game)
Brilliant game, but doesn't quite match up to CMI, Curse of Monkey Island. It's excellent in many ways and should be bought by all adventure gamers. The only draw-back is the so called 'ancient art' of Monkey Kombat. The only words that can truly describe this process are; Profoundly Irritating and an utter waste of time. If you have the patience to see it through to the end as I did, you'll feel all the better for beating it, and the ending is pretty good. Herman Toothrot comes out with a blinder of a plot twist though! A must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars By far the funniest, but also the least challenging..., 25 Jan 2001
By 
This review is from: Escape from Monkey Island (PC) (Video Game)
I unfortunatly completed this game within three days of opening the box!!! Three days solid playing admittedly, but it still wasn't as hard as any of the other monkey island adventures...unfortunatly.
The point and click interface has been replaced by a clever little joystick interface. This sometimes made guybrush difficult to control as when the camera angle changed he would suddenly walk in the opposite direction!!!
although the onre liners and jokes were of the highest standard, the overall game was far more simplistic than the others and the fans of the old games will be dissapointed with the final version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfects the Grim Fandango Interface, 12 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Escape from Monkey Island (PC) (Video Game)
The Monkey Island series has always been the pinnacle of adventure gaming. So the only reason I was worried when I heard about the release of Escape From Monkey Island, was that it was going 3D and using a version of the Grim Fandango engine. Fortunately, having played the demo of EFMI, I can safely say that all the faults with the Grim Fandango interface have been smoothed out, and EFMI delivers the smoothest, most intuitive and slick adventure game ever made. And I've played them all.
Remember in Grim.. when Manny turned his head and you didn't have a clue whether he was indicating that fire extinguisher, that table, both, or something at the other end of the room just out of frame? Well EFMI provides a command line that gives you a list of whatever Guybrush sees at that moment. You can then modify the command with the traditional pick up, and use functions. It's incredibly simple and flexible. Similarly, the inventory has been improved- you can now see all your items at once, in a Tomb Raider style revolving interface. And yes, thank god, you can combine items again.
Thankfully, they've solved the biggest of Grim Fandango's flaws- remember when you needed to get to the other side of town? You had to run across miles of terrain, all of which had to be loaded. Well Escape From Monkey Island has brought back the Map screen, which is also treated to the aforementioned command bar- so you always know where you are going to end up. The graphics too, have received a remarkable overhaul, making EFMI an extremely beautiful game.
Even without all the above, EFMI would still be great- it has some of the funniest lines I've ever heard in a game, just in the demo (try talking to Carla and Otis from Secret of Monkey Island); the puzzles are back to the old Lucas brilliance (how would you destroy a catapult with jerky pretzels, a deflated inner tube and a cactus); and the voice acting is possibly the best to feature in a game.
Incidentally, I'm only clarifying the statements about the funny lines and the voice acting because I haven't played the full game yet- if it maintains the standard set in the demo, and all signs suggest it will, then Escape from Monkey Island is the funniest and best voice acted game ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Look behind you! A three-headed monkey!, 23 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Escape from Monkey Island (PC) (Video Game)
It's very simple to sum up this game in only one word. And that word is this - great. The problem is that it is of the point and click genre, which really has passed it's sell by date (except maybe Broken Sword). People may make a lot of noise about the 3D graphics, but it seems to me that some of the graphics are just a little too fancy. You never get the feeling that it's those three islands you had in the other games... activision seem to have missed their own point. BUT, the game is fun, obscurely challenging, and at times so frustrating that it makes you want to kick your radiator until it springs a leak. Which I of course, never did... heh...
Great one liners, too. Some of the items you need to pick up are maybe just a little too small. Guybrush does now look at the items he sees, but this is often too vague, and he does have the awful habit of walking into walls and then partly through them.
If you love monkey island, then by all means buy it. If it's just point and click games you love, then maybe you could do better by... buying Majora's Mask. It may not be point and click, but it's a class act all the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventure Gaming's Come-Back, 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Escape from Monkey Island (PC) (Video Game)
What happened to the Adventure game? It seemed to be a dying genre, with fewer and fewer titles being released.
Until Now...
Escape From Monkey Island is the return of Lucas Arts' quality and hilarious contribution to the adventure game. Hardcore fans of the original will be disencouraged by the concept of it now being in 3-D, but have no fear. EFMI has been designed incredibly, and has none of the flaws that Grim Fandango had.
EFMI continues from the Curse of Monkey Island, except that this time Guybrush has finally married Elaine. Returning from the honeymoon they find their home in the process of demolition and Elaine declared as dead. The plot thickens with an Ozzy land developer buying everyhouse in sight and a suspiciously familiar villain named Charles L. Charles (smells like a corpse too)
Add hilarious, well acted and well timed dialouge, the rest of the excellent story line and you have a work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as it could be, 10 Feb 2004
By 
T. Williamson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape from Monkey Island (PC) (Video Game)
Unfortunately, this game is nowehere near as it could have been. 3D, yes, it's wonderful, but when it is chosen over interesting gameplay and seemless interface, it seems pretty feeble. Annoying little pischy movements which totally wreck your angle and long, frustrating puzzles make you want to gut the modem.
So as far as it goes, you are better off getting Grim Fandango or Monkey Island 3 anytime. I would recommend Grim Fandango to anyone and everyone, and MI3, though short, is a laugh.
The Monkey Island bounty pack is also great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than ever!!!, 17 Nov 2000
This review is from: Escape from Monkey Island (PC) (Video Game)
Anybody who has played any of the adventure games by LucasArts won't be disappointed by adding this to their collection. Of all the series of games (and i have quite a few) this series is the only set that has kept me entertained for at least 2 weeks per game!!
The grapihcs are vastly improved on Grim Fandango, and the ability to actually know what Guybrush is actually looking at is something that is definately needed. The 3D graphics are much smoother than Grim (which seemed to me as if it was rushed together) and when I played the demo I actually felt as if I was really playing the character.
When I finished the demo a couple of days ago, I noticed several things about the style of the installment. Guybrush seems to have a lesser role in the order of things (mainly because of his marriage to Elaine - she does seem to be a bit commanding!!), but this may be just the first part. I'm also glad to see old faces re-vamped, like Carla and Otis, it gives some depth to the game and gives the people who have not played the first three games (not as if there will be many) to hear a little bit of the Monkey Isalnd history.
The one thing I can't wait to see when I get the full game in a couple of days time - what will LeChuck look like this time?? How can he be even worse than before?!
If you are only going to buy one game this Christmas, buy this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mad Monkeys, 17 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Escape from Monkey Island (PC) (Video Game)
I got the game at Christmas and while owning and enjoying the previous three this was at the top of my wanted list and I certainly wasn't disappointed. Monkey Island's unique humour was still there and it was fun seeing old faces. However some of the jokes in the game will go over some peoples heads especially if you haven't played previous versions. But even newcomers would still enjoy this game. My personal favourite bits were when Guybrush goes to the pirate rehabilation school and the answers he comes up with for the exam, Guybrush getting constantly henpecked by Elaine, that bit in the swamp and getting to throw items at Herman Toothrot.(Really funny when you find out his secret after doing that loads of times but I won't spoil it.) However there are some annoying bits and that Monkey Kombat bit where you try to learn all the moves can get long and boring and also some puzzles tend to be really irritating leaving you wondering how you were supposed to figure that out after being reduced to randomly trying anything but there were parts in all the other games were that happened. Still if you like humour, puzzles and monkeys get this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A fun, simple game, when it runs., 8 Feb 2001
By 
G. E. Langridge (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Escape from Monkey Island (PC) (Video Game)
This adventure game is fun when it runs. But it is very similar to all the other Monkey Island games, and I found that I solved many of the puzzles very quickly. If you go around in the game picking up anything that you can, there is not much of a challenge. But if you're new to adventure games, then perhaps this is a good place to start.

As for the 'interface' ... words fail me. There is no mouse support at all, and some keys, like the letter O, do different things in different places, which I found irritating. I also lost track of the number of times Guybrush faced away from something the moment my finger left the key, so I had to fidget him round to face what he needed to act on.

It's a pity there are so many irritations, because some of the ideas are good, and I enjoyed the jokes. It was better, in my opinion, than Discworld Noir and Grim Fandango. But if you haven't played Broken Sword, Monkey Island I or Simon the Sorceror, you might like to get them instead.

Or maybe you'd rather play this one first, to find out how adventure games work, then 'progress' to those earlier, harder games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Escape from Monkey Island (PC)
Escape from Monkey Island (PC) by Activision (Windows 95 / 98)
Used & New from: 8.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews