Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its only rock n roll.....and we LOVE it
Rock n' roll? It's dead isnt it? Well not quite. Not while there are albums like this around. From the opening chants of "Oasis! Oasis!" you know that you're in for a big, bold, brash experience, a premonition only confirmed by Go let it out! 's extended ending and the rock n roll apocalypse that is the closer - Rock n roll star. In between we have the swearing...
Published on 19 Feb 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Buy the DVD, NOT the CD
I went to the second Wembley gig, the day after this one was recorded and it really was an awesome event. So I was looking forward to hearing this album a lot. Unfortunately, the sound quality isn't that good and the only reason to buy this album would be to hear the far superior live versions of Who Feels Love? and Gas Panic! If you want a lasting momento of a fabulous...
Published on 17 Nov 2000


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its only rock n roll.....and we LOVE it, 19 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Familiar To Millions (Audio CD)
Rock n' roll? It's dead isnt it? Well not quite. Not while there are albums like this around. From the opening chants of "Oasis! Oasis!" you know that you're in for a big, bold, brash experience, a premonition only confirmed by Go let it out! 's extended ending and the rock n roll apocalypse that is the closer - Rock n roll star. In between we have the swearing and crowd heckling of Liam Gallagher and Noels own line in humour, but this album is all about the songs. Champagne supernova, Acquiesce, Who fels love?, Live forever, Dont look back in anger...to call it life affirming is overstepping the mark, but what this album does do is reaffirm your belief in rock n roll - sure, Radiohead are more experimental, but with songs like these who cares? The live sound is exciting and vibrant, with many songs improving on the original - Go let it out, Rock n roll star, Gas panic and Stand by me the most obvious examples. At the end of the day, most Oasis fans will own these songs already, but to hear them as they were meant to be heard, in front of 70,000 fans, live, with no edits or studio trickery - this is rock n roll, and its doing just fine, thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unmistakably oasis!!, 23 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Familiar To Millions (Audio CD)
As the concert for which I had a ticket on the oasis tour was cancelled, I HAD to own »Familiar To Millions«! A better than just average live double album which leaves no doubt behind: It is oasis, typically oasis!
It starts out with the three first tracks from the latest studio album »Standing On The Shoulder Of Giants«, and in general, the choice of songs is quite OK as the best song from that record, »Gas Panic!«, is also on »Familiar To Millions«.
The highlights are »Go Let It Out«, the speedily rocking »Step Out«, and not least the outrageous choir (=the crowd!!) on the megahits »Wonderwall« and »Don't Look Back In Anger«. The crowd's enthusiasm really turns this double album into an amazing live experience, a TRUE live album!
The party ends in a great way with the explosively performed »Helter Skelter«.
Then it doesn't matter SO much that that concert was cancelled... Although I wish I'd been there myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the biggest live kareoke album ever!!!, 30 Nov 2000
By 
toffeenose@yahoo.com (bottesford, north lincs) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Familiar To Millions (Audio CD)
Well they have eventually released a live album. And about time too!!!! Having seen oasis play about 15 times in their career from mad night at the Buckley Tivoli to Bolton's Reebok Stadium, via some massive gigs and Maine Road and Knebworth, the band are essentially at their best when live. Possibly the best concert I have seen them play was at knebworth but this is as good as it gets anyway. The witnessing of 70,000 at the mercy of a rock band is inspiring. From the opening chants of "oasis, oasis" you know you are on a rock'n'roll rollercoaster, with far too many peaks than troughs. This album could as well be a live greatest hits album with all the songs you know and love. Will not disappoint......with the improved musicianship of gem and andy bell the band as a unit are superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love rock and roll, love this, 18 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Familiar To Millions (Audio CD)
Stage banter,wall of sound guitars,superb vocals, brilliant solos,just pure,untainted rock'n'roll genius. The band which defined the '90s kick back with one of the greatest live albums ever.Not one bad song on the whole record, who could've doubted them? The new line-up cope brilliantly and add a dimension of speed and musical complexion of which Oasis never possessed before now. Jazzy keyboardist Zeb Jameson and extended instrumentals contribute to the experience.How I regret not rushing out to get to the concert.With an array of different musical pieces in making and a song-writing Liam, Oasis are definitley coming back-like it or not.I for one am going to keep the faith and it will be back. Highlights-Go Let It Out,Acquiesce,Rock 'n' Roll Star,every songs a gem.Buy it.Now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Familiar To Millions shows skeptics that Oasis is back!!!!!, 22 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Familiar To Millions (Audio CD)
Recorded at their 2 sold out shows at Wembley Stadium, Oasis gives fans, critics, skeptics, and just plain arse-holes a double dosage of some pure rock n' roll from the heart and groin. The new members of Oasis, Gem Archer (lead guitar), and Andy Bell (bass), gives Noel Gallagher (rhythm guitar/ vocals), Liam Gallagher (lead vocals/tambourine), and Alan "Whitey" White (drums), a huge dosage of some rock n' roll fuel. Something that they lacked by the time "Be Here Now" was released. And, they are perfect replacements for original members Paul "Bonehead" Arthurs and Paul "Guigsy" McGuigan. Almost makes you forget that "Bonehead" and "Guigsy" even existed in Oasis. Every track from "Fxxking In The Bushes" to their brilliant cover of the Beatles classic "Helter Skelter" single-handedly proves that good classic rock n' roll is indeed alive and well. With all the focus and media hype revolving around boy bands, trampy teen queens, rap/metal, and over compensated, and over exaggerated hip hop artists, Oasis simply just sneers and rolls their eyes in the face of todays music and gives them a run for their money with "Familiar To Millions." Oasis have made a classic live rock n' roll album that stands up to the Beatles "Live at The Hollywood Bowl", the Rolling Stones "Get Your Ya-Yas Out", the Who "Live At Leeds", and Led Zeppelin's "The Song Remains the Same". "Familiar To Millions" is a crowning achievement for Oasis and a great live album to mark an end of an era of Oasis and the beginning of a new one. In the words of rock n' roll pioneer Chuck Berry, "HAIL HAIL ROCK N' ROLL!!!."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was one of the millions at wembley!, 3 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Familiar To Millions (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best ever live albums. Wembley stadium, 70000 people, a summer night, and a great band putting themselves in to the "the great rock bands of all time" mantle.
The momment that Noel leaps onto his PA equipment and stops to let the light shine on him and then start to play can even be felt though the CD!
I have been an oasis fan since the live forever single, and i must say that oasis just keep on getting better. "Standing on the Shoulder of Giants" was slated before it was even released but it was on par with "whats the Story" if not better!
I was at Wembley on the night this was recorded, and i have been to loads of gigs and festivals in my time but this was the night i will remmber forever. There was such a feeling that night in London, as though something great was going to happen, and oasis DID NOT FAIL TO DELIVER! The sounds and lights, the venue and people, the feeling and wembley all combined to blow everyone away.
Any one that believes that Noel is oasisis wrong, Laim and Noel are oasis. Sure anyone can fill the other three's shoes but Noel hasn't got a good enough voice to go solo and Laim's song writing is too weak to go solo. But together they make this band the great one that it is.
I can see that alot of people want the band to take a fall because of their off stage anatics, but you have to look through all this and focus on the music. I feel that oasis are molding themselves into one of the greats of all time, and just remmber all those who slate oasis, how many bands have played wembley STADIUM? Rolling Stones, Queen, U2..... Basically the big bands of all time and surely oasis must now be put in to this category.
But may be people are so small minded that a few TV's out a window can ruin all this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Oasis album so far!, 15 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Familiar To Millions (Audio CD)
This album is amazing! It is the greatest live album i have ever heard, and the sound of 70 000 other people singing along to the songs is really uplifting. It has all the great songs from the previous albums, such as Dont look back in anger, Champagne supernova, and Gas panic. You can not help but sing along to all these great songs! This is one of the greatest albums i have ever listened to, and i strongly advise you go out and by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BAND IN WORLD! END OF STORY!, 19 Mar 2001
This review is from: Familiar To Millions (Audio CD)
This is the greatest live album ever made.Plain and simple.Words cant describe the memories these songs give people who grew up in the 90s.Songs like Wonderwall, the perfect live Forever and Champagne Supernova explain why many, myself included think that oasis are the greatest band ever.They may not invent a new form of music like Radiohead or may not be as big now but their songs do what any song should.They touch peoples hearts.Thats why id recommend this album, 17 of the best songs youll ever hear by anyone, hearing 70,000 singing Dont Look Back In Anger would send a shiver down your spine! And after great versions of newer songs like Go Let it Out and Gas Panic, its fair to say that Oasis will soon be back , better and bigger than ever! Trust me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oasis at their very best!, 2 Jan 2001
This review is from: Familiar To Millions (Audio CD)
Oasis have been taking a bit of a slagging of late, but this album proves that are better now than they've ever been. The new look line-up has defiently improved Oasis, they are now a far more talented group. Highlights of this album include, Gas Panic, Supersonic, Cigarettes & Alcohol and Rock n Roll Star. I've seen Oasis live before several times and i can assure you that they are defiently getting better man!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oasis are gonna live forever!, 1 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Familiar To Millions (Audio CD)
When people say to me, "Oasis are so old now, I mean they are way past their sell by date," I always wonder whether they have heard any of the songs on this album. My message to those sceptics who query whether Oasis are still a force to be reckoned with is, "Wonderwall and Don't look back in anger may be 'old' songs but when they are sung by Liam Gallagher to an audience that can fill wembley, it doesn't matter how old they are, they can still set the place alight." And this album has it all, the classics, the rock songs and of course the anthems such as Wonderwall and Champagne Supernova. From start to finish you can sit back and listen to the magic of Noel and Liam accompanied with the rest of the band. If you want plain rock, there is "Rock and Roll Star", and for those of you wishing to hum along to some of the classics, there's "Live Forever," which incidently was recently voted their best song ever. My final message would be Oasis aren't dead, they have a long way to go and they are gonna live forever! Greatest rock band ever (except for the beatles!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Familiar To Millions
Familiar To Millions by Oasis (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews