Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is why Blur were the best band of the 90's!
Finally, a long-awaited Best Of from Blur. There are many complaints in the review for the normal edition saying that there isn't enough new material, it is just a collection of singles etc. etc. Bear in mind though, this is a "Best Of" - what else would you expect the average music buyer to want? Few other than hardcore fans will buy a CD of rarities for the...
Published on 16 Oct 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Good.
Published 11 days ago by Anderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is why Blur were the best band of the 90's!, 16 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of Blur (2CD) (Audio CD)
Finally, a long-awaited Best Of from Blur. There are many complaints in the review for the normal edition saying that there isn't enough new material, it is just a collection of singles etc. etc. Bear in mind though, this is a "Best Of" - what else would you expect the average music buyer to want? Few other than hardcore fans will buy a CD of rarities for the price of a CD that they could alternatively have ridden with songs that they know and love, such as "Parklife," "Tender," etc. And seeing as there are more average music buyers than hardcore Blur fans, this is actually a wise move, which will please a whole lot more people. But on with this album. Well, it is only really by listening to it that you realise that Blur haven't released a bad song. Ever. It just doesn't seem to be possible. The track listing, although not as original as a studio album (for obvious reasons! ), is still mind-blowing. The all-new "Music Is My Radar" is another example of just how much Blur have moved forward over the past few years. And classics like "End Of A Century," "Country House," "Coffee And TV," and "For Tomorrow" will surely inspire you to get out those other albums that you may not have listened to for a while. If anything, maybe "Popscene" should be on it too, but anyone with the "On Your Own" single (with the Peel Acres session version on it) surely won't mind too much! But the real bonus of buying this format is the Live CD that comes along with it. Again, songs that any fans will recognise straight away, but in that unique live form that only a few will ever experience. 10 tracks of sheer class (and that is not an over-statement) taken from the 10th Anniversary Singles Nights Tour at Wembley Arena. Certainly worth paying that extra few quid for, without a doubt! The guitars of Graham Coxon are instantly recognisable, as are Damon's vocals - genius. The atmosphere of the gig is expertly captured, and will probably be the bigger incentive for Blur fans to purchase this package if they already own the studio albums. Therefore, in my opinion, there is no doubt that any fans of Blur must own this package - the combination of their studio recordings together with a live set surely makes this a must! You will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin Album!, 8 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of Blur (2CD) (Audio CD)
Having never been a big Blur fan, I wasn't exactly thrilled when I recieved the CD for Christmas, so there in my cd rack it sat until a few days ago when I decided to put it on and it's fantastic! From beginning to end, it's packed full of upbeat Blur classics such as 'Girls and Boys', 'Charmless Man' and 'Parklife'. Also including slower, mellower songs like 'No distance left to run' and 'Tender' this album is a must have for everyone! CD2, live from Wembly Stadium shows how brilliant Blur are live and just makes u want to get up and jump! So in my opinion: GO BUY THIS ALBUM!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Decade on a Disk, 10 Nov 2000
This review is from: The Best Of Blur (2CD) (Audio CD)
To be honest, there isn't really much use in reviewing a 'Best Of' CD. All the songs (besides the obligitory new single) have been reviewed before. In fact, most writers use these reviews to either glorify or pan the careers of the artist involved. And so we have 'Blur: The Best Of'. No marks for the choice of title certainly, but at least the packaging is nice. The content is much more important and few bands can rival Blur for hit singles in the 1990s. Most of them are here, along with a few album tracks, and quite rightly too. To be honest, all Blur fans have these songs on CD already and so this CD, in essence, is designed with the casual music hunter in mind. If you like Blur, it's brilliant, if you hate them, it's 18 tracks of hell. If you're a big Blur fan, you'll get annoyed at the tracks you wanted on it, but aren't. ('M.O.R.' or 'Popscene' anyone?). My advice, is for the casual consumer to buy it for their musical wallpaper, for the youngster who missed out on most of the 1990s, it's a great starting point for the entire decade. For the fan who's big on Blur the bonus CD is a must. Recorded at Wembley Arena last year, this concert was panned by the music press. To my ears it's excellent and it makes me wish that I could have afforded to go to the Waterfront Hall on that tour. And, of course, it includes M.O.R!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What else would you expect?, 30 Oct 2000
This review is from: The Best Of Blur (2CD) (Audio CD)
A 'best of' CD by Blur has been a long time in coming so it's a good job that it's as excellent as it should be. They have, sadly, left out some outstanding older tracks such as 'Miss America' and 'Chemical World', but I suppose they couldn't fit everything on there could they! All the cult classics are included, namely 'Parklife', 'Boys and Girls' and 'Song 2', so that is bound to satisfy most people who have a partial interest in Blur. What made the compilation for me though, was the addition of the second CD, recorded live at Wembley Arena- this makes it worth buying even if you have most of the albums. For any fan this is undoubtedly an essential set of tracks for their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic you dont ever have to buy an old blur album again., 15 Nov 2000
This review is from: The Best Of Blur (2CD) (Audio CD)
I have never in the past bought a blur album, and only humed along to them on the radio. It is not until you take a minit to look at all of the fantastic music thay have writen over the years that u reolize there genious. it is definately worth buying if you are like me and have put off buying there albums becouse you are scared that the rest of the songs which you have not herd will be pants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastically uplifting!!!!!, 29 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of Blur (2CD) (Audio CD)
wow!! its one of those cds that just catches you from beggining to end. recomended by a friend, it had me jumpin around like a loony from the first to the last song!! a real feel good factor!! my favourite song though has to be "looks like we made it" inspiring. Oh and" no distance left to run, alwayz brings a tear to my eye, fantastic cd. DEFINATELY A WINNER !!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is useful, 31 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of Blur (2CD) (Audio CD)
I recommend buying this CD if u don't want to keep playing six CD's one after another. In my opinion, the best songs on the CD is 'Song 2' and 'Parklife'. But where are the hit's they had like 'Stereotype' and 'MOR'? The only downfall is that they miss out some of the good non-hits tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great 2 CD set., 30 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of Blur (2CD) (Audio CD)
It seems that the fans are the authority when it comes to picking the greatest hits of Blur. This is a great album full of great tunes and the live CD showcases how good of a live band Blur are and that only the best bands can play great live. Let's see Westlife, Steps etc... try that. So if you are a die-hard Blur fan or just a casual fan then pick it up today. You will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT! BUY IT! BUY IT!, 14 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of Blur (2CD) (Audio CD)
This album is definitely for the indy and rock fans out there. This album contains all of blurs best songs over the past 10 years. From Beetlebum to Music is my radar you will be hooked on this CD. The limited edition album also contains a great live CD from wembley Arena 11/12/99. This CD is a must buy. -Mark Matthews :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damon Albarn is the man, 30 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of Blur (2CD) (Audio CD)
Gorillaz are good. I think they're good. But the more you listen to CDs like this, the more you think "Damon... man... what the HELL are you doing?!". Happily salvation is at hand for those of us who have an uncontrollable Blur-lust.
The only problem, as I read it, is that Blur have more amazingly Epic songs than one CD will take. So, in their doubt, they decided that "Best of" was synonomous with "Singles". This I dispute, because you only have to listen to tracks like "jubilee" and "bugman" or any of a thousand others to know that Blur non-singles are good too. Also some singles that weened their way onto this album are decidedly sub-standard in comparison with the above. For instance, I would submit that "For tomorrow" is unworthy.
That said, it's unquestionable that if you need a Blur Fix this is easily the best Album with which to do it. Most of the Hi-lights of Blur's career, from their first single "She's so high" right through to "Music is my Radar" can be found here. The compulsory "Beetlbum" / "Song 2" opening is of course, still the best one around (no-one ever gets bored of those songs, do they?), and we also get such treats as "Girls and Boys", "Tender", the totally, 100% orgasmically beautiful "Coffee and TV", and of course "End of a century", possibly the most endearing song of all time.
The second CD is a live recording of Blur's exploits on "Singles night". It's very nice to hear Blur in a different context, esepcially with a stage presence like Damon's (the joy of hearing 100,000 people singing "It's nothing speccciiialll" is almost insurmountable), but again a little more variety would be appreciated. However we do get some new tracks (even if they are all singles) - MOR and the Stereotypes, noticeably.
Final remarks? Well, you can only fit so much on a CD, what they fit on was good. It would be nice to give some hitherto underdog tracks an airing, but never mind, this is still the essential Blur, a great "Get into" album, a great "Staying into" album, great for car journies, and basic worship of every kind. And hence I commend it, and especially this version to your venerable attention. Thankyou for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Blur (2CD)
The Best Of Blur (2CD) by Blur (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews