Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Mixture
Blurs "best of" was always going to be good. A wide selection of tunes ranging from the Britpop of "Country House" to the sublime yet bizarre art-rock of "Music Is My Radar" offers a reasonable history of Blurs music. All of which is excellent (unless you listen to "There's No Other Way" too often). Annoyingly, "Popscene"...
Published on 6 May 2001

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have had such a better track listing
Every Blur fan will love the tracks on this CD but most Blur fans will already have them. It's a shame that hard to get hold of single "POPSCENE" is not included here. Other great singles (Sunday Sunday,Chemical World,M.O.R.Stereotypes) are missing. I'd suggest buying the Studio albums you haven't got already. You can buy most of them quite cheap now and hunting...
Published on 9 Oct 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something for everyone?, 1 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
I havent always been a huge Blur fan until mid-way through their career, and so to catch up on their albums would be expensive. This album is perfect for people like me but I can see how it would frustrate hardcore Blur fans due to the lack of non-chart entries. Perhaps if they had of copied U2 and made a double CD where one was best hits and one was B-sides it would appeal to a greater audience. Either way I think this is a must buy for all Blur fans and the live tracks are superb!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of the Best, 9 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
How would any person go about picking the 18 best Blur songs. Its almost impossible. Six albums ranging from the good to the brilliant. Where do you start. Well unfortunately they started with Blur's most successful hits to date. It really was a missed opportunity to show those not yet educated in the ways of Blur that there is more to them than 'Country House', 'Song 2' and 'Parklife'. OK so these are all good songs, but there are so many more good songs. What about 'Sing'? What about 'She's So High'? What about 'Death Of A Party'? All great Blur songs that get overlooked by those who don't posses their albums.
This album is also a missed opportunity to telly the story of Blur. Laid out in Chronological order this album could have taken the listener through the many incarnations and reinvention's of one of Britains finest bands. Instead the songs seem to have been slapped together in no partcular order.
But moaning aside, this album as a selection of songs is brilliant. Songs like 'There's No Other Way' and 'Tomorrow' remind you of why you first fell in love with Blur. 'Parklife' and 'Girls and Boys' bring back memories of the most exciting band of the brit-pop era. And even 'Country House' - which was played to death upon its original release seems uncannily refreshing. Oh! That was the good old days. When Blur and Oasis were fighting it out for chart domination. And perhaps it was no bad thing that Blur lost this battle. Oasis may have gone on to dominate British guitar music and sell millions of records, but there music following the war with blur became so stale and unoriginal. Blur matured and realised that the chart battles had no place for the big boys of music. Following 1995's disappointing 'The Great Escape' they made a great escape from the whole Britpop thing and reinvented themselves.
What they came back with were songs like 'Beetlebum', 'Song 2' and the brilliant 'On Your Own' all represented on this album. This was the beginning of Graham Coxon's reign as the creative force of the band. Suddenly the guitar had become more important to Blur than a catchy chorus and it did wonders for their credibility.
And all this was of course followed by the incredible 'Tender', 'Coffee and TV' and 'No Distance Left To Run', - all on the album '13', which saw Blur advance their sound even further.
There is one glaring emission from the album. That is 'Pop Scene' a single that never made it onto any of Blur's albums and is no longer available to buy. This is a great shame because it has always remained one the fans favourites at their live performances. The only non-single on the album is 'This Is A Low' and no best of Blur album would have been complete without what is arguably Blur's greatest moment. The only new song on the album is the new single 'Music Is My Radar', which sees Blur reinventing themselves yet again, with a fresh new sound and a dance-like beat to go with it.
For those who own all the Blur album there is little reason to buy this apart from maybe reliving Blur's past glories. For those who are missing a couple of Blur albums then there is no excuse for not owning this album. It might not be the best of Blur, but its certainly bloody good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have had such a better track listing, 9 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Every Blur fan will love the tracks on this CD but most Blur fans will already have them. It's a shame that hard to get hold of single "POPSCENE" is not included here. Other great singles (Sunday Sunday,Chemical World,M.O.R.Stereotypes) are missing. I'd suggest buying the Studio albums you haven't got already. You can buy most of them quite cheap now and hunting for Popscene its much more fun and you will end up with the best collection of Blur songs.Sorry lads but this is a Christmas Stocking Filler we could do without!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is great for newcomers, not for real fans., 30 Oct 2000
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
Having read the previous reviews, I can understand why they may not like the CD, but I've never been a huge Blur fan. I liked all their hits but never really bothered buying any albums, cause at the time, I'd only listen to the songs I knew. This Double CD has all the well known hits, but precious little music heard only on albums and not in the charts. Having said that, there are no real weak tracks in my opinion. Perhaps it should have been entitled 'blur: the best sellers' instead of 'best of' as I get the impression their albums contain many hidden treasures. For me though, this CD satisfies all my Blur needs, with all the well known hits present. So, while all true Blur fans may slate this as the 'hits' and not the 'best of', to newcomers this will appeal, and as I fit in the latter category, I think this CD is great. The live CD is great and the new song 'Music is my Radar' is top. Blur at their best? Perhaps not. Must-have CD if you don't have all the old ones? Definately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not my choice of the best of Blur., 21 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
It's a good introduction for people not familiar with Blur. The tracks were chosen by the fans but that doesn't necessarily mean this is the best of Blur. For example, Country House isn't one of their best tracks but is on the album. Yet the classic Popscene is missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rollercoaster ride of an album, 24 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
It takes you up, down, round and round and surely this albumm will leave you like you have been dragged through a hedge backwards.Basically its like being kicked in the teeth and then trying to speak whilst someone else is kicking the living cack out of you.Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cd but prefer dvd, 21 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
As a big radiohead fan, i previously never took the time to really consider any of Blur's music which i now realise was a mistake... seeing some of their filmclips recently, i was curious to see and hear more. After buying their best of DVD, i saw what a very creative and interesting band they have been for quite a few years-their filmclips are top-notch and their music at it's best i think even surpasses some of radiohead's best...What i have admired about them is their sense of fun but at the same time their pride in their 'englishness'...i esecially like 'Coffee and TV', 'To the end' and 'This is a low'...Blur strike me as a band that have always progressed their music which is always good to see. My advice to new Blur fans would be to buy their best of DVD first...in this way you can get a taste for the personality of the band and their music. If you like it, then i'd suggest to buy their best of cd (of course!) because it has 'This is a low' which isn't avaliable on the dvd and then to purchase 'Parklife'...if you like your beats as well, i highly recommend 'Think Tank'-i think you'd be surprised with the depth of the songs despite the absence of graham coxon! All in all i highly recommend the best of cd but i'm more in favour of buying the DVD first if you are a new fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collection of the most creative work, 26 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
This album contains the best work by this creative band. There is a good combination of old and new but Blur never fail to disapoint. This album enabled me to notice that their songs vary and all this years they have produced alto of good stuff. The only song missing is Sunday but all the other top tunes are all in this fantastic collection. Its is the Best of Blur and if you can only buy one Blur album, it has to be this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How can you have a best of when all there songs are Ace, 17 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
The only best of blur album which could possibly show how great they really are, would be a collection of all their songs ever written. With the exeption of a few tracks on 'Leisure' and some of their later b-sides, all other blur tracks have been good at the very least. However this album is not for the fanatical Blurites out there, yes 'Sing','Sunday Sunday' and 'Trimm trab' are missed off but for people who only know the Hits this is their album, because not only does it provide them with some of the most sublime popsongs of the 90s, it also shows them just a few glimpses of the more leftfeild, and in the end rewarding aspects of blur. Maybe after Hearing 'This is a Low' and 'For Tommorow' people will investigate into all six albums and find out the great tracks which have been missed off. The only problem I can see is the fact that popscene has been missed out, to me this seems Churlish because this would have given the fans a reason to buy it, and ended the most frustrating aspect of bieng a blur fan. Hopefully Next year they will bring out a B- side collection for us to. And by the way 'Music is my Radar' rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THEY WANTED TO BE THE KINKS, BOWIE & BEATLES ... AND NOW THEY'RE GONNA DO IT ALL AGAIN, 15 Dec 2008
This review is from: Blur: The Best Of (Audio CD)
With the news that Damon Albarn & Graham Coxon have finally buried the hatchet and booked Hyde Park for a mega come back gig next Summer, now is the time to do the homework on that back catalogue. The Colchester foursome always had their sights set on loftier musical ambitions than more meat and potatoes peers such as Oasis and Dodgy. Singer and lyricist Albarn liked to push the barriers and this collection presents most (where are Sunday Sunday, Stereotypes and Chemical World) of the bands key singles from the 'baggy' posterboy pop of 'There's No Other Way' to the wigged out space rock of 'Music Is My Radar'.
The breakthrough album was of course the peerless masterpiece Parklife and the singles spawned by this, and hugely underated follow up The Great Escape, form the backbone of this Best Of. The Dancey 'Girls & Boys', the mockney kneesup of the Kinks/Smallfaces-like 'Parklife' and the beautiful 'To the End' still remain cornerstone's of the 'Britpop' movement. The wonderfully erudite 'End Of the Century', the brittle & gorgeous ballad 'The Universal' plus the punchy 'Charmless Man' highlight a band in full command of their considerable talents and not afraid to experiment within the confines of the four minute single.
In the latter half of the 90's, as Britpop breathed it's last, Blur shifted to a less arch and more organic sound. The rumbling Hey Jude like 'Tender' and the Beatley 'Beedlebum' largely abandoned the smart arse lyrics and fist-full-of-chords approach, to present a stripped down and less self conscious band. The jaunty 'Coffee & TV' (truly great video) even gave Coxon a chance to shine in the vocal spotlight whilst the wispered folky 'No Distance Left To Run' must have alienated as many fans as it attracted.
The fact that this compilation is dirt cheap is even more reason to revisit the singular adventures of Blur. If you like the intelligent pop/rock of The Kinks, Squeeze, Madness and Bowie then enjoy. 'Country House' is still rubbish though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blur: The Best Of
Blur: The Best Of by Blur (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews