Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melodious pop reggae
It might not be roots, but UB40 has mellow pop reggae down to a T. This hit-packed compilation includes their early ska-based songs King and Food For Thought, plus all their later successes. Most of their biggest hits were covers of older classics, but they always did a good job in the interpretation. Red Red Wine, for example, is absolutely brilliant and the same can be...
Published on 15 Feb 2004 by Pieter Uys

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars All scratched by the person who sold it to me
It is a really good album because iv had it before but the person who sold it to me new it was scratched but sold it anyways. I can't play one track without it skipping. Not happy!!!!!
Published 17 months ago by Miniflossy


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Melodious pop reggae, 15 Feb 2004
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
It might not be roots, but UB40 has mellow pop reggae down to a T. This hit-packed compilation includes their early ska-based songs King and Food For Thought, plus all their later successes. Most of their biggest hits were covers of older classics, but they always did a good job in the interpretation. Red Red Wine, for example, is absolutely brilliant and the same can be said for Kingston Town, Cherry Oh Baby and I Got You Babe with Chrissie Hynde on guest vocal. I also love the humorous Rat In Mi Kitchen and their excellent interpretation of The Doors’ Light My Fire. Although not completely comprehensive, this compilation offers excellent value for money in that these tracks really were their greatest hits from a 20-year career. There’s not one filler track and every song is catchy and hummable. If you like your reggae melodic and mellow, this album is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Get Any Better, 28 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
For me, UB40 are at their very best when writing their own material. But there are certain exceptions to that rule - Red Red Wine, Can't Help Falling In Love With You. UB40 are a band who remain true to their roots, still living in Birmingham, they also remain close to their musical roots and give due respect to their idols. This album represents a commercial Best Of, songs which have either sold by the bucket loadand is guaranteed to make you dance and sing along. The perfect album by a vastly underrated band, to introduce someone to UB40, every song is infectious and you'll play it again and again.
For me, the highlight is Sing Our Own Song, a tribute to the Freedom fighters primarily in South Africa, but could also apply to other oppressed parts of the world. This is followed closely by King, which is in a word - SUPREME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An outstanding album, by an outstanding band, 25 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
Having been a UB40 fan for 15 years, I decided to buy this album the day it was released, even though I had all the songs on other albums. This album really does show how talented this band really are. Their new single "Light My Fire", is an outstanding contribution to the album, which I am sure will do well when released as a single.
For any UB40 fan this album is a must and for anyone else, buy it you will not be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 31 May 2009
By 
W. Rolland (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
This album really is the best of.... None of the rubbish thrown in to make up the numbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best of UB40, 9 Oct 2000
By 
S. J. Cummins "Steve Cummins" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
It's compilation time again. This is UB40's third pre-Christmas greatest hits album, but that does not detract from the quality of the content. The Birmingham based reggae band have released a definitive collection from a twenty year career that has produced three UK number 1's and thirty four Top 40 hits.
This 20-track CD collects together the pick of The Best of UB40 Volume One and Volume Two, released in 1987 and 1995 respectively. It also features recent hits such as 'Tell Me Is It True' and 'Come Back Darling', as well as their new single - a cover of the Door's classic 'Light My Fire'. The compilation comes at a time when Virgin hope to raise the profile of the band, ahead of the release of an album of new material some time in the new year.
For anyone vaguely interested in UB40, this is indeed a worthy introduction to their music. Hits from the three popular Labour of Love albums are featured, including 'Red Red Wine', 'Kingston Town' and the gorgeous 'Homely Girl'. Other cover versions include their rendition of 'I Got You Babe' and the world wide hit from the summer of 1993, 'Can't Help Falling In Love'.
However, this CD does much to shatter the myth that UB40 are nothing more than a cover band. Twelve of their finest self-penned compositions are included, which serve to highlight the bands' song-writing abilities. From the early years comes their first single 'Food For Thought' and 'King', whilst the album opens with the anti-unemployment hit 'One In Ten'. Other classics include 'Don't Break My Heart' and the African liberation anthem 'Sing Our Own Song', which was performed live at the Nelson Mandela concert at Wembley in 1988.
The distinctive voice of singer Ali Campbell takes the lead on most tracks. However, the toasting vocals of Astro feature on 'Bring Me Your Cup' and 'Rat In Mi Kitchen'. Long-standing fans of the band will be critical, no doubt, of the absence of some of UB40's other classics, especially more of the political songs of their early years. Yet this CD is intended to represent the wider appeal of one of Britain's most successful, and often underrated, groups. For two decades UB40 have built up a fan base from all ages, races and social groups, selling nearly 50 million records in the process.
Whether you are new to their music or not, The Very Best of UB40 is an album that will look good in any Christmas stocking this year, and will delight listeners both old and young.
Steve Cummins, October 2000
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
J. M. THOMSON (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
A great compilation CD covering all their best tracks and more. Just what I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
Quality music cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of UB40 (Audio CD)
Brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
Mr. John M. Hughes "JOHN" (ESSEX ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good sounds and songs - good value and downloaded within a minute - will definitely enjoy listening to this on holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best Of UB40
The Very Best Of UB40 by UB40 (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews