Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding
how this film is so unheard of is beyond me. this is icredible outstanding and original film making, but i guess thats what you expect fom director Alexander Payne (sideways). im no fan of Matthew Broderick, but he does give a perfectly fitting and believable performance. Reese Witherspoon is incredibly entertaining and the supporting cast is perfectly picked and the film...
Published on 11 Aug 2007 by J. Johnston

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ection
Election is a fantastic underrated black comedy. My review is based on the Blu-ray itself. Picture quality isn't amazing, no better than an upscaled DVD. Daylight scenes are bright and clean, but don't have the sharp detail you'd expect on a Blu-ray copy. The only extra is commentary by Director Alexander Payne (the same commentary from the DVD).

For audio, the...
Published on 11 Nov 2009 by Shaiya


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Horrible, 6 Mar 2014
By 
M. Holland "Book and music lover" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Election [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I showed this 15 certificate film to a class of 15 and 16 year olds. They were shocked, scandalized and traumatised by the numerous, unnecessary sex scenes and sexual language. They have made me write this review in class to express their disgust and disappointment. They cannot say anything good about the film, apart from a few of the naughtier children who found the sex funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destroyer af fake gods: etchics morals..... values, 7 Jan 2012
By 
Lucazest (Rezzato (Brescia), Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Election [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a demolition Film: it destroys what is to be considered the void god of our days: Ethics/Morals. I want to add something even more dangerous: Values.
Values, ethics, morals... the triumphing nothingness in nowadays pretended battle against what they call "evil".
Mr McAlister is the priest that worships this synthetic god, he preaches these poor idols, lives a senseless life like many other characters.
This film is just a realistic picture of the senseless life of contemporary man, a world in which everyone is just striving for creating a little survival space for himself.
Mr McAlister should be the best one, the spiritual guide for people forced to take decisions in life but he is a total blind mariner manouvering with a total fake compass: ethics and morals.
Even Tracy Flick is a far better then McAlister, very cynical but genuine in her intents: she make what she wants and she wants very clearly. Mr McAlister is practically pure mediocrity hypocrisy.
Tracy Flick represents,in my opinion, the minor evil of this world: the longing for the career and things like that....
Mr McAlister represents the worse evil of the world: a false god, a plastic god totally impotent against the difficulties of life.
Out of this couple of lies emerge an apparently nihilist character: Thamy Metzler, instinctive destroyer this world, just with the weapon of his vices and deviations that are non simply suitable to play any orthodox official role in this society. Thamy saved by her vices.
Thamy wins over everybody and everything in a world without guides where all the represantatives of the so called "good" are stuck in senseless professions of faith: let's remember all the religions of the world preaching the same dead gods, let's remember a bleating pope recalling values, ethics, morals, solidarity and other pure concepts void of any lively breath.
Thamy survives even another world of absurdity, that of the organized good, the small catholic Utopia of the isolated college where she can break, with immense pleasure, other rules of ethics and morals.
Thamy wins over everybody but not over everything, even for her the world is, at the end, without a meaning: it's just a matterof finding a good consolation.
Great sad film!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 20 Oct 2000
By 
Mr. Jacob Mayfield "nocode198" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Election [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
This is a great film, and an excellent satire of modern day politics, Reese Witherspoon is truely excellent and so is Mathew Broderick, the performances alone make enjoyable viewing never mind the comedy and satire, see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars TOO MUCH SEX FOR A 15 CERTIFICATE, 14 April 2011
This review is from: Election [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
"The Election" is black comedy about the American high school system. Matthew Broderick plays Jim, a well meaning teacher whose life has been plodding along in the same way year after year. He can't believe his luck when his wife's friend comes on to him and there a hilarious scene where he is trying to prepare a motel room for their next tryst and teach a class at the same time. Sadly his luck doesn't last long. Reese Witherspoon is terrific as go-getting, hard-nosed Tracy Flick who seems to suceed at everything she does. She is determined to win the school elections so Jim finds a couple of candidates to stand against her. He can't bear to see her smug smile one more time. My only problem with this film is the certification. It is a 15 certificate. I know children are exposed to a lot these days but I wouldn't want my fifteen year old daughter hearing "she has a dripping wet p****" . This diaglogue takes place between two male teachers and they are talking about one of their students. Another character, Paul says that he and his girlfriend f*** and then have a hot tub every day after school. There is also a scene where Jim is watching porn featuring a cheeleader and a jock, we get several close ups of them having sex. I think that is too much for fifteen year olds. One of the storylines features a young lesbian whose lover suddenly decides that she is not gay after all, causing much heartbreak. This part of the plot is dealt with sensitively and is quite touching. We have all known irritating "Tracy Flick" people and Jim's desire to take her down a peg or two is perfectly understandable. This is a funny film but I would recommend it for age over sixteens only. The content is much more adult than other "teen" movies such as "Mean Girls".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic low budget comedy, 29 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Election [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
Although it didn't too well at the box office i gave this film a chance because I like Reese Witherspoon (are you calling me shallow?) and Matthew Broderick (War Games takes me back to my childhood) and I was more than a touch surprised by just how good this film is. It's far better than all the major high school American comedies that seem so popular .... Great cast, great acting, great lines, great film. What more can i say?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "What's the difference between morals and ethics?", 29 Dec 2003
By 
Jennifer Litchfield (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Election [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Election is a very difficult movie to classify and review. With staple actors from the teen pulp genre, like Reese Witherspoon and Chris Klein, it would be easy to write it off as merely another school holiday flick. However, the issues dealt with include sexual relationships between teacher and student, and marital infidelity; subjects more suited to adult fare.
The story is centred around an ambitious and perfect student (Witherspoon), and the teacher (a woefully miscast Matthew Broderick - stick to the slapstick, buddy) who decides to meddle with destiny and stop the rise and rise of Tracy Flick. His solution? To persuade another, more popular student to run against Tracy in the all-important election for student president. What he doesn't foresee is how the election will change his own life forever.
It is a comedy that works very well in some places. Never again will one be able to consider a cupcake, without thinking of the 280 "Pick Flick" personalised cupcakes. And the collection of sports jocks, nerds and sundry other students, whilst highly stereotypical, are good for a few laughs. It is when the movie tries to be funny that it fails. A bit of special-effects make-up slapped on to resemble a bee-stung eyelid isn't all that amusing, and seems out of character with the rest of the film. Another notable aspect is the voiceovers done by the characters. These are funny and very clever, in that the viewer gets a lot more by reading between the lines, than taking what is said at face value.
Election is certainly worth a watch on an idle Saturday afternoon. But don't be surprised if, at the end, you are unable to decide if you enjoyed it or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very average, 14 April 2007
By 
M. McManus - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Election [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Upon viewing this movie, I got the impression that the director had made a reasonable movie with one or two genuinely original ideas in it, only to cancel these out with pointless and at times irritating additional elements. First, let us discuss the good points of this movie. One of the most interesting features of this movie is the narration, where the action will suddenly pause and in this pause the main character takes over and through narration and flash-back style sequences of film explains their character a lot more.

Characters in any movie can often make or break it. The character of Flick (Reese Witherspoon) is an interesting one, and rather than being a recycled high school movie clique member, she is a curious fusion of the nerdy bookworm and the highly driven over achiever. On the one hand the viewer will be attracted to her innocence and intelligence but simultaneously put off by her shrew like response to confrontation. The character of Mr McAllister (Broderick) is highly unlikeable: he is boring, dull and scheming, from his attempts to rig election results to his infidelity to his wife. We are also told that McAllister's colleague was fired for an affair with Flick, and this might explain some his meanness towards her, although one gets the impression that the very naive innocent Flick was the victim of the teacher in question, who is shown rather coarsely describing his "activities" with her to McAllister.

The film certainly does have some weaknesses. Perhaps its greatest weakness is the implausible motivation of the teacher, who deliberately hijacks the result of an insignificant high school election on the highly improbably grounds that Flick might become power mad as a result and take over the world. Even if this can be explained in terms of McAllister getting revenge for his colleague's sacking, he is still shown as being vindictive and callous, which doesn't make this thoroughly psychologically unattractive character any more appealing to the viewer. Another negative point of this film is its very strong and quite frankly needless sex scenes, which given its 15 classification is a little too in your face. In addition, the sound track is very poor quality, especially the high pitched war screams that accompany certain moments in the movie, which do nothing but leave the viewer searching for something heavy to throw at the TV.

All in all, this movie is very ordinary. There have been some genuinely innovative cinematographic tricks employed, such as the main character narration coupled with flash backs and action pauses. Furthermore, Flick's character at least is very interesting being the curious hybrid mentioned earlier. Nevertheless it is badly let down by the character of Mr McAllister, who is too unpleasant and boring, and supporting characters feature too infrequently to distract the viewer from this. In addition, a poor soundtrack and tasteless sex scenes further salt the brew. Overall, a very, very average film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good film, 1 May 2005
This review is from: Election [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
good film well worth watching, very funny
But be warned do not watch with children or parents
as sex acts take place and are mentioned a few times, more like shouted out !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dark? Yes. Comedy? Definitely not!, 12 Sep 2007
By 
Babygirl (Kent, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Election [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
After watching this on TV last night, I, at first, couldn't really decide if I had enjoyed it or not. Thinking back over it now I don't think I did. The initial attraction for watching it was Reese Witherspoon (she plays the high achieving student, Tracy, who has to be involved in everything school has to offer) who I rate highly as an actress. I guess she was pretty good in this film and did as best she could with a bad character and a storyline which was extremely boring and slow paced. Matthew Broderick, who plays the weird teacher who doesn't like Tracy, was definitely not suited to the role, his character was unlikeable and sleazy, he did not make me laugh once and I cringed practically every time he was on screen. I wouldn't really class this film as a comedy, even a dark one as surely even dark comedies you laugh at? I can't quite understand how so many reviewers have raved about this and think it's one of the best films ever made and ever so funny. I must have seen a different version because I just found it strange. I wouldn't watch this film again, if you really want to see it I'd advise to rent it rather than buy because I don't think you'd want to watch this film more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad! It's just bad., 17 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Election [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm sorry to say it, but I really don't like this film. It's sleazy and disgusting. It starts quite well looking at the issues of a student/teacher relationship and shows how clever, ambitious people are often lonely, but after that the story just breaks down. There is no story! The film just becomes senseless and disgusting and ends with a man having his life ruined after having an affair with his best friend's wife.
This film is just bad! Don't buy it, don't watch it, don't even bother with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Election [1999] [DVD]
Election [1999] [DVD] by Alexander Payne (DVD - 2000)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews