Customer Reviews


152 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best sc-fi horrors ever made!
What can I say, Event Horizon is probably one of the best sc-fi horrors ever made! Every fan of horror movies should have it in his collection. Great cinematography, great acting, and music. Creepy as hell and well recommended :)
Published on 28 Oct 2011 by LukC

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An original and entertaining sci-fi horror
'Event Horizon' begins when a group of astronauts are sent into deep space to escort a legendary spacehip that has been missing for 7 years back to Earth. Once they get onto the ship they learn that the ship can travel from one point of the universe to another in an instant, breaking many rules of science and also unleashing a hellish evil onto the ship. One by one the...
Published on 1 Oct 2007 by Dr Evil


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best sc-fi horrors ever made!, 28 Oct 2011
What can I say, Event Horizon is probably one of the best sc-fi horrors ever made! Every fan of horror movies should have it in his collection. Great cinematography, great acting, and music. Creepy as hell and well recommended :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hell of a concept, 22 Feb 2003
By 
Jason Norum (Portsmouth, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Event Horizon (1997) [DVD] (DVD)
I am surprised at the harsh criticsm that this film has come in for here, and in other forums. It has been consigned by some to the stalk and slash section of the DVD rental shelves, while others dismiss it as second hand sci-fi. Personally I really enjoyed it. The blend of suspense, mystery, horror and gore is supplemented well by strong performances by Laurence Fishbourne and Sam Neill. Sure, some of the death scenes and other set pieces are a little hackneyed, but this is more than compensated for by that rarity amongst films - an original (and if you actually sit down and think about it, quite challenging)concept. On an intellectual level this questions our pursuit of knowledge (in this case technology) and asks us if we are fully prepared for what it could reveal. Top stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scare the pants off you!, 4 Sep 2011
By 
Hedley Walls (Crudwell, Malmesbury, Wilts, UK) - See all my reviews
I saw this film about 10 years ago for the first time and I remember thinking it was on a par with Alien and Aliens for pure science fiction horror. Although my wife disagrees (declaring it a stupid film) I think is one of the scariest films I have ever seen. A massive fan of science fiction horror, I found it gripping throughout with very original scenes and special effects. Watching it more recently, despite the fact it was made in 1997, I think it is standing the test of time and doesn't - yet - come across as dated. I am not a big Sam Neill fan but he is good in this film, however it is the quality of Laurance Fishburne's acting that ensures that this film maintains a strong performance throughout. I do not tire of watching this - particularly late at night with the lights out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hell of a film, 10 Dec 2008
By 
A. G. Woods "agwoods" (Kettering, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Event Horizon (1997) [DVD] (DVD)
I'm an Alien film fan, I enjoy a deep space claustrophobic scientific scare. Event Horizon is one of only a few films that has genuinely gave me a chilling unsettling fright and uneasy dreams - its Hellraiser (or Hellraiser as it should have been) in space. Wonderful horror concept, suspenseful, great characters, wonderful atmospheric detail. Great sci-fi movie, great horror movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'THE SHIP WILL NOT LET YOU LEAVE', 30 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
'Captain Miller'(Lawrence Fishburne) and his crew are due leave, however it's cancelled, they have been given a mission which will
take theM to 'Neptune's' orbit, they have an additional crew member who at this stage is the only person that knows the purpose of the mission, 'Doctor William Weir' (Sam Neill)
A faint signal has been picked up from a ship that had disappeared seven years ago, presumed lost, 'The Event Horizon' a futuristic and experimental vessel designed by 'Doctor Weir'
When the rescue ship reaches the 'Horizon' a team is sent aboard to investigate the vessel, things start to become strange from the word go, some appear to be having 'Hallucinations' which initially are passed off.
The 'Horizons' gravity-drive starts up, seemingly without any instigation the shockwave severely damages the crews vessel, they have just 20 hours to repair the damage or they will in effect lose the vessel as the possibility of replenishing the oxygen level will be lost, the crew other than those trying to effect repairs have to transfer to the 'Horizon'
The crew on the 'Event Horizon' find the visions and happenings increasing in intensity, it seems the ship has a mind of its own almost a life of its own, it knows things about it's visitors that have never been shared.
It's Inventor becomes increasingly a part of the problem the crew face..............just where has the 'Horizon' been these past seven years ?
This is a tense Sci-Fi adventure that borders on 'Horror' with graphic scenes of violence and sequences of tension that will stretch your imagination to the limit.
This is a really good Sci-Fi Horror Tale, if you've never seen it, it's worth a spin, or like myself worth a re-visit.
Picture and Sound upgrade - First Class - Special Effects also impressive.
Bonus Features (These on the 'Collector's Edition' all, may not be on the standard version)
* Commentary by Director 'Paul W.S.Anderson' and Producer 'Jeremy Bolt'
* The making of 'Event Horizon ' 5 Documentaries - Into the jaws of Darkness - The body of the Beast - Liberate Tutume Ex Infirnis
- The scale to Hell - The womb of Fear.
* The Point Of No Return' - The Filming of Event Horizon with Director Commentary - The Revolving Corridor - The crew Gathers
- Shooting Wire Work - The Dark Inside
* Secrets with selectable Director Commentary - deleted briefing scene - extended medical bay scene - extended burning man
confrontation
* The Unseen Event Horizon with Director Commentary - The un-filmed rescue scene - conceptual art
* Theatrical Trailer HD - Video Trailer ( Most bonus features in standard definition)
*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Horror Science Fiction movie of recent years......., 18 Jan 2013
It really irritates me when people describe movies by comparing them with other film production's. This 'Simile' mentality means that you don't ever get a truly original description of a film. In the case of Event Horizon, all you read in other reviews is how much it seems to remind everyone of 'Alien', 'Aliens' and '2010'. I really have no idea why, as this masterpiece was NOTHING like any of these other movies.

1 - The dark, suspenseful tone of the film was atmospheric.
2 - The horror themed storyline added to the tenseness which ensured you were anticipating each new scene with avid enthusiasm, and
3 - The beautifully designed 'evil' looking ship meant you were whisked back to your childhood and left pondering if the dark recesses of your nightmares really are reality......somewhere

Then we are finally shocked with the 'great reveal' near the end, (I won't spoil it for you) but the reveal comes when the Captain confronts someone and discovers the truth of the ships enigmatic and mysterious disappearance which in no way took away from the films charm, but only heightened the tension (as we now become aware of the seriousness of the situation and what is at stake) !

For those of you who keep eluding to 'Alien' as a way of desribing this film it only shows that you lack a command of the English language with sufficient sophistication enough to portrait this movies brilliant originality in it's own unique context!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Specification, 23 Mar 2007
By 
Buczko Viktor (Hungary) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have just bought this great DVD and see the specification is not accurate here. Maybe other people also can not decide whether buy it or not. I'd like to help them.

So this is real specification of this edition:

Disk 1:

Languages In Dolby Digital 5.1 - English and DTS - English

Languages In Dolby Digital Surround - Czech, Hungarian

Subtitles - English For The Hearing Impaired, English, Arabic, Bulgarian, Croat, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Finnish, Greek, Hebrew, Hungarian, Icelandic, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Serbian, Slovenian, Swedish, Turkish

Disk 2:

Audio Commentary By Director Paul W.S. Anderson And Producer Jeremy Bolt

5 Part Documentary: The Making Of Event Horizon

Deleted & Extended Scenes

The Un-Filmed Rescue Scene Storyboard Montage With Audio Commentary By Director Paul W.S. Anderson

Conceptual Art Montage With Audio Commentary By Director Paul W.S. Anderson

The Point Of No Return - Featurette
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Put me off Horror for LIFE!, 17 Oct 2011
I was dragged to the cinema by a friend to see this movie. It scared both of us to the point that I will never watch it again. It scared me so much that I haven't watched horror since. For fans of horror, this is the perfect movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brit film comes good, 9 Dec 2008
If you're already a fan of the film, skip to the last paragraph!

The Event Horizon is an abandoned ship found by the crew of the Lewis and Clark. Sam Neill plays the designer of the Event Horizon who lost contact with the crew and has gone to find his masterpiece. No spoilers here, but if you hate sci-fi or horror, give it a miss!

Event Horizon is a cult film, not well received upon release but a sleeper of it's day. Quite a large budget but never oversold, this sci-fi horror really delivers the goods due in large to the director, Paul W S Anderson. This genre is his forte and he is a director of distinction, using excellent visuals, keeping the tension prevelant making you feel on edge constantly. Great example of Sam Neill's qualities with strong performances elsewhere, but it is the juxtaposition of the imposing girth of the "techno-mediaeval" Event Horizon and it's gravity drive and the claustrophobic nature of the the Lewis and Clark which gives the feeling of despondancy, everything is stacked against the characters.

This box set is the best I've ever seen. It is moulded plastic, but the attention to detail is extraordinary. Outside and inside, it is like the ship itself, shiny painted and linear externally, dark, imposing and scary on the inside. A lot of thought has gone into this and it's a spectacular purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gory and stylish, 7 July 2006
This review is from: Event Horizon (1997) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD after remember how much watching this film on TV terrified me. And yes, it worked the second time too. It's kind of like a better made and acted Hellraiser without the spiritual rubbish and all those cool ghost stories. It's almost like a Ghost Ship in space (not quoting the film). It is incredibly atmospheric and you'll know pretty much all of the actors in it (Sam Neill, Sean Pertwee and Jason Isaacs). The soundtrack is also excellent and adds more to the atmosphere of this surreal film.

The balance between British and American characters plus an Australian also makes this film better for me because you get a little tired of having an all American cast in big films, no matter how good they are. The acting in the film is good as a consequence in this, all of these good actors being up to their full standards. As for the storyline, well, it doesn't get any better than a ship getting sucked down a black hole and coming back with an evil entity onboard which killed its crew and is bent on killing the rescue crew too. The Event Horizon is a stunning ship and the Gravity Drive is a stunning looking device to go in its heart - it's no wonder that Dr. Weir became obsessed with it.

But this film is a good example of how obsessions can become deadly, so watch out. The dark entity starts to make its presence known and eventually takes over Dr. Weir and kills most of the crew. It involves some fantastic scenes such as Justin depressurising in the air lock and some guy on a ship log recording pulling out his entrails though his mouth. Sounds gory? Yeah, it is, but don't let that put you off even if you really need to have a strong stomach for it. The end of the film gives nothing away, maybe because they might have done a sequal. It leaves you wondering if the entity is still here, but that's for the viewer to wonder about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Event Horizon (1997) [DVD]
Event Horizon (1997) [DVD] by Paul W.S. Anderson (DVD - 2001)
£6.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews