Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars48
4.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I found this movie by chance whilst searching for movies by Julie Andrews. What a delightful and light hearted entertainment it turned out to be. This movie was well enjoyed by my family. The added bonus of having two of my favourite actors - Julie Andrews and Colin Firth was more than I could ask for. Colin Firth was at his most mischievous best and the ever lovely and royal Julie Andrews. This is an all star cast; there is a guest appearance by Stephanie Beecham.
This is great comedy and it is light hearted too. It is great fun to watch, you can't go wrong with this DVD.
0Comment|69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2001
This extremely comic tale of an aristocratic English family's horror about their son's intended wedding to an American actress is highly entertaining and comprises several first-rate actors. Julie Andrews as the head of the family and gorgeous Colin Firth as her nephew play a funny game with the "lost son" and his fiancee in order to prevent their marriage and restore him to the lap of his family. They are supported by the actress's former lover, played by a very charming William Baldwin.
Stephen Fry and Sophie Thompson on further roles are highly comic as well, and the superior acting of the whole cast makes this movie a real delight.
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For pure entertainment with no pretensions of being anything more, this was just the ticket. Better than Gosford Park, in my opinion. Julie Andrews, Colin Firth, Sophie Thompson are all excellent. Even William Baldwin was just right. (As much as I want to NOT like those Baldwin brothers, they are pretty good.)
This was based on a Noel Coward play, so the idea was to take a stageful of characters and shake them up to see what happens. In this case, as Julie Andrews's character says "Not much, really." And yet, for an hour and a half, servants are scurrying, doors are opening and slamming shut, British aristocracy is pulling out all the stops to maintain its way of life, and Hollywood stars are swooping in to shake things up.
So ignore the lukewarm ratings of the professional reviewers and just enjoy good writing, fine acting, and a story that won't change your life.
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2011
Absolutely brilliant!!! Would recommend this film to anyone - the plot is incredibly funny and the acting is superb! Cannot understand why this isn't more popular than it is. A film for the whole family to enjoy.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2004
I love this particular film. Whenever I need cheering up it is one of the first dvd's I go to. It is lighthearted, and the actors timings are perfect. Peter (played by Colin Firth)Ingleton is excellent in his role as a gay mischief maker. He is the nephew of Julie Andrew's character (not son as another reviewer stated - did that reviewer actually watch this film?)
And Sophie Thompson (not Sadie, again as stated by the above reviewer), shows what an excellent actress she is. What a talented family she is from - sister Emma, and mother
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2010
I really enjoyed this film, strong cast and script. Brilliant plot that had me laughing from beginning to end.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2005
This film was delightful, we had such a laugh at the cinema! I don't know how anyone could give it ONE star!!! It really is funny, if you love Pride and Prejudice, Emma, Sense and Sensibility and The Importance of Being Earnest, then you will love this too!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2001
Inspite the cast, this is fairly slow going. It is competantly acted, but the whole film is lacking in something. Perfect for a Sunday afternoon for entertaining family members!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
‘Based on a play of the same name by Noel Coward, this was made in 2000 though set in the 1950s in the stately home of the Marshwood family. The young Earl, Nigel (Edward Atterson), has announced his engagement to an American actress (Jeanne Triplehorn). His mother (Julie Andrews) is determined to be egalitarian and to accept a commoner, so long as she’s truly in love with Nigel. However she’s worn down by snide comments from friends, and is also disturbed by the increasing anxiety of her personal maid Moxie (Sophie Thompson)....

Stephen Fry is typecast as the butler Crestwell. Colin Firth is brilliant as Nigel’s cousin who provides some wonderfully satirical asides. Julie Andrews' character is much like the Queen of Genovia in ‘The Princess Diaries’, but she played it admirably.

Our favourite character was Moxie, who was excellent and versatile in a difficult role. Sophie Thompson was transformed into a dowdy maid for most of the film, but also manages to appear as a twittery and nervous family friend, putting on an upper-class accent and wearing unaccustomed finery.

While we didn’t find it ‘outstandingly funny’, as the front of the DVD describes this, there are some amusing moments, and one brief scene - an American/British language difference, where Colin Firth puts Julie Andrews right - which was delivered with such perfect timing that we laughed out loud.

Rated PG, it’s free of bad language and anything ‘adult’, although there are plenty of scenes of drinking and smoking, including some rather tipsy behaviour. The theme of deeply held prejudice is beneath the light-hearted satire, and I doubt if this would appeal to anyone under the age of about 14 in any case.

Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
So good! I just saw the West End revival with Patricia Hodge and firstly the modifications to the script for the film are minor, secondly the stage cast were good but could not erase the memories of this really outstanding cast.
Julie Andrews leads in every sense but Stephen Fry ( who is NOT a personal favourite) has to my mind never been better, Colin Firth offers great comedic timing but honestly this is ensemble acting at its pinnacle and the film is opened out just enough from its stage origins without really shifting the interior life of the plot.
There are so many wonderful laughs in this and it SO Coward/of its time ( sensibly no attempt at up dating is made throughout the film - it is a period piece after all) and so aimed at a very specific audience that either you will tell me it's boring, slow and dated or agree with me it's magical perfection and bears watching time and time agin.
In this reviewers view it's a tonic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)