Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Jack the Ripper film
The best dramatisation of the notorious Jack the Ripper case based on historical data and facts.Wonderful acting by Michael Caine.
Published on 14 May 2007 by Ogun Eratalay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars very dated.
Dvd arrived fine and in perfect condition. Although i love micheal caine and anything to do with jack the ripper, this film and its music felt very very dated. So much so that it made me cringe and i didnt enjoy it. I normally enjoy stuff i used to watch in the eighties but this hasn't travelled well.
Published 1 month ago by Jane B


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Jack the Ripper film, 14 May 2007
The best dramatisation of the notorious Jack the Ripper case based on historical data and facts.Wonderful acting by Michael Caine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 21 Dec 2000
By 
SMM "SMM" (Baltimore, MD USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jack The Ripper [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is my favorite movie of all time! I spent years searching for it, and now it has FINALLY been released on Video and DVD!! (Now I just need NTSC Versions!)
Michael Caine and Lewis Collins depict the characters of Abberline and Godley exactly as I picture them after reading Ripper history. While some aspects of the film are historically inaccurate, this movie is mind-gripping! This is not a movie that you can view once only! Fabulous performances by Armand Assante and Jane Seymore only add to this wonderful achievement of director David Wickes.
DO NOT MISS THIS MOVIE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely outstanding, 7 Sep 2003
This review is from: Jack The Ripper [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Like a couple of other people have declared, this is my favourite film of all time. I am very keen on the Jack The Ripper case and this film is everything you could hope for.
The story-line is convincing. The final deduction - true ? - Maybe, maybe not, but very possible.
The acting is absolutely superb, particularly Michael Caine and Lewis Collins.
Often if you watch or read something about Jack The Ripper, either it is totally unrealistic or a lot of the important facts are wrong. Not this time.
Not only is the film accurate, it is also very entertaining.
It's been fifteen years since I first saw this film and I never tire of watching it again and again and again.
Absolutely superb !!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Movie!, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of my all time favorite movies and I've watched it several times over the years. I'll first give some notes about the only current blu-ray version which offers English or German language options only.

IMPORTANT NOTE:
The only blu-ray version of this movie that currently exists is a Region B German release, so it cannot be viewed on US players.
NTSC/PAL 'all region' blu-ray players are available on Amazon.com should US customers like to purchase one.

Viewers can watch the movie & bonus features in either English or German.

Considering this was a 1988 made for TV movie, the audio and video quality are very good.

BLU-RAY BONUS FEATURES:
Some of the blu-ray extras are also found on previous DVD releases. By far, the best bonus feature on this blu-ray is the audio commentary by David Wickes with researcher Susan Davies and journalist Johnathon Sothcott. Susan Davies did 4 years of extensive research on Jack the Ripper and this movie runs along the lines of a particular theory as to who Jack might actually have been, though no one knows for certain and we will probably never know his identity.

There is also a 'Deleted Scenes' extra, but this mostly looks like rehearsal material so in my opinion is not really worth watching a second time. These have Barry Forster as Inspector Abberline, before Michael Caine was finally selected to play that role.

For those unfamiliar with Jack, there is a 'Documentation' extra that briefly recounts the actual events that took place in London, 1888.

It really would have been nice to include actor interviews and commentary as extra features, and this will hopefully be done on future blu-ray releases.

THE MOVIE:
Jack the Ripper was released in 1988 to mark the first centenary of the original events. It was first aired in the US as a 2 part TV mini-series. The movie length is 189 minutes.

It stars Michael Cane in the lead role as Chief Inspector Frederick Abberline of Scotland Yard and Armand Assante as American actor Richard Mansfield playing the lead in the Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde premiere at the Lyceum theatre. Both of these performers were excellent, and I thought all of the players were quite good except for Michael Gothard who over-played the role of Lusk, maybe because that script could have been better and more accurately written to protray the actual Mr. Lusk rather than this hyped up movie version.

The story recounts the murder of 5 prostitutes and the hunt for Jack the Ripper. It is not always factually accurate and does employ 'dramatic license' several times to appeal to audiences, but it is a great movie nonetheless. Director/Producer David Wickes and his crew did an excellent job on this film. The cinematography, realistic Victorian settings and costumes are excellent.

In 1989, Michael Caine won the Golden Globe Award for Best Performance by an Actor in a Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for TV, and Armand Assante was Nominated for Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role in a Series, Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for TV. The movie was also Nominated for Best Mini-Series or Motion Picture Made for TV.

Release Date: 21 October 1988 (USA)
DIRECTED BY DAVID WICKES
WRITING CREDITS: DEREK MARLOWE & DAVID WICKES
PRODUCER: DAVID WICKES
ORIGINAL MUSIC BY JOHN CAMERON

CAST:
MICHAEL CAINE - CHIEF INSP. FREDERICK ABBERLINE
ARMAND ASSANTE - RICHARD MANSFIELD
RAY MCANALLY - SIR WILLIAM GULL
LEWIS COLLINS - SGT. GEORGE GODLEY
KEN BONES - ROBERT JAMES LEES
SUSAN GEORGE - KATE EDDOWES
JANE SEYMOUR - EMMA PRENTISS
HARRY ANDREWS - CORONER WYNNE E. BAXTER
LYSETTE ANTHONY - MARY JANE KELLY
ROGER ASHTON-GRIFFITHS - RODMAN
PETER ARMITAGE - SGT. KERBY
DESMOND ASKEW - COPY BOY
TREVOR BAXTER - LANYON
MIKE CARNELL - NEWSVENDOR
ANN CASTLE - LADY GULL
DEIRDRE COSTELLO - ANNIE CHAPMAN
JON CROFT - MR. THACKERAY
ANGELA CROW - LIZ STRIDE
KELLY CRYER - ANNETTE
MARC CULWICK - PRINCE ALBERT VICTOR CHRISTIAN EDWARD
JOHN DAIR - ISENSCHMID
ROY EVANS - DOORKEEPER
JOHN FLETCHER - P.C. WATKINS
SHERIDAN FORBES - MILLIE
HUGH FRASER - SIR CHARLES WARREN
MARTIN FRIEND - NEWSVENDOR
CHRISTOPHER FULFORD - SGT. BRENT
BRUCE GREEN - PIZER
RIKKI HARNET - PICKPOCKET
RONALD HINES - HENRY MATTHEWS
DENYS HAWTHORNE - ASSISTANT COMM. ANDERSON
MICHAEL HUGHES - DR. REES LLEWELLYN
PETER HUGHES - MR. PAULSON
FRANK JARVIS - 1ST PASSERBY
EDWARD JUDD - CHIEF SUPERINTENDENT ARNOLD
GERTAN KLAUBER - LOUIS DIEMSCHUTZ
JON LAURIMORE - INSP. JOHN T. SPRATLING
MIKE LEWIN - DUTY GUARD
ROD LEWIS - MORTICIAN
GARY LOVE - DEREKCODE
GEORGE MALPAS - OLD MAN
ERIC MASON - PUBLICAN
BERNADETTE MILNES - WOMAN IN DOORWAY
JONATHAN MOORE - BENJAMIN BATES
RICHARD MORANT - DR. THEODORE ACLAND
T.P. MCKENNA - O'CONNOR
JOHN NORMINGTON - DRESSER
RONALD NUNNERY - DAVIS
SANDRA PAYNE - MRS. ACLAND
NEVILLE PHILLIPS - CABINET SECRETARY
IAIN RATTRAY - DR. GEORGE BAGSTER PHILLIPS
GEORGE SWEENEY - JOHN NETLEY
DAVID SWIFT - LORD SALISBURY
NORMAN WARWICK - RICHARDSON
BRIAN WESKE - PORTER
MICHAEL GOTHARD - GEORGE LUSK (UNCREDITED)

David Wickes later went on to make a Jekyll and Hyde movie starring Michael Caine, and that is also something you may want to check out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful fun, 21 Jun 2013
By 
G. Quigley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack The Ripper [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
I am going to start by confessing to a guilty pleasure;- I love this mini series! I recall watching it when it first came out in 1988. I bought it on VHS and now I have it on DVD.

Originally, I loved it for the visuals, it looked like it should be 1888. Michael Caine is in imperiously loud form. Lewis Collins smirking half his lines and channeling Bodie for the other half Brilliant stuff. My abiding memory though was the gates opening and the musical cue as the Ripper set off. evil had never felt so cool.

Now I have read a lot of books on the subject ( some are brilliant some are atrciuos) and know that the prostitutes and even the east end is too clean, the portrayal of George Lusk is down there with Henry Hook in Zulu for sheer misrepresentation. I learned that Abberline was neither the drunkard here portrayed nor the junkie of the cinematic From Hell Actually he was a slightly dull ponderous man who was a metculous and capable detective. I have grown older and wiser, but I still love this show.

Why?

Well Michael Caine and Lewis Collins remain an engaging duo shouting, fighting and threatening anyone who gets in their way.Though now I love the way Caine endlessly and pointlessly victimises the Police Surgeon Dr Llewellyn, despite having no evidence to suggest hi involvement. Perhaps the only hitt of heroic incompetence..Lewis Collins' threat of closing the Star for sedition is a master class in smarmy sneering that just about falls on the right side of scenery chewing. Sir William Gull is a distractingly sweet grandfather figure

The real reason why I still love this though is the epiphany scene where Abberline and Sgt Godley deduce the existence of the coach. It never ceases to crack me up. As a poster boy example of following a logical non-sequitur it cannot be beaten. The idea is that during the so called "Double event" the killer would not have had time to walk between the two crime scenes and find her. Only a coach would have given him sufficient time.

On the face of it, the theory makes sense;- the killings were some 40 minutes apart if it is a 10-15 minute walk it is not very long to first find then kill and inflict the seriously horrific wounds to Cathy Eddowes. The problem is that the facts are that the woman was found. The show's theory would only work if Eddowes was deliberately targetted and had to be eliminated in a set time period. This is a claim the show never makes. The entire premise is that the killer is after guinea pigs and neither knows, nor cares, what their names are. He found her in that time because they met each other not because he was hunting her particularly If it had taken the Ripper and extra 20 mins to find another victim then so be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Caine's, The Ripper!, 4 Jan 2002
This review is from: Jack the Ripper (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
After watching this version of the Ripper story on T.V some years ago, I was hopping it would arrive on DVD!(It has). Superbly shoot in the dark, Victorian London streets. This Tv movie will make you think twice about walking the night time streets of East London alone. Micheal Caine and lewis Collins put in one of there best performances as Inspector Aberline and his sargent. A must see for any ripper fan. Watch out for the twist at the end!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack The Ripper - An interesting and entertaining few hours, 4 May 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack The Ripper [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
Jack the Ripper. It's a name that has echoed through the last century. The savagery of the crimes and the fact he was never identified has ensured that the name will forever be synonymous with evil and the unknown terror that lurks in the dark.

This rather interesting drama details the crimes, the police hunt of the time and the effect that it had on the nation, from the highest in the land to the common folk. It follows the story from the point of view of Fred Abberline, the Scotland Yard detective leading the hunt for the killer. Michael Caine takes the lead role and puts in one of his better performances of the time, giving us a believable character and showing the man behind the legend very nicely. He ably assisted by Lewis Collins as his tough yet intelligent and sympathetic sidekick. There are a whole host of great British character actors, such as Harry Andrews, George Sweeney, T.P. McKenna, David Swift and Hugh Fraser, who help to bring the myriad of different characters to memorable life.

Using all the available Scotland Yard files, the script reconstructs the crimes and the hunt, then goes off into the realms of speculation as it unveils a possible killer. But this is no dry documentary, it is a great drama that looks at the way the crimes shook society, used by social agitators to stir up revolution, and shaking the establishment, from the Government to the Royal family, to the core. It looks at the effect that the thought of a killer stalking the streets had on society, with people afraid to go out in the streets, to lynch mobs out to get anyone they thought looked slightly suspicious. It shows how fragile Victorian London society really was, and exposes a lot of the hypocrisies in the attitudes of the overclass to the commoners. With a decent script and so many good actors, this makes for three hours of enthralling drama.

This DVD contains both episodes as shown on TV, in 16.9 widescreen. The sound is, I think stereo. There has been little or no remastering of picture or sound, and there are some scratches and pops as a result. Both are, however, adequate. There are no extras. All in all a 4 star production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Caine in "Jack The Ripper" DVD, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack The Ripper [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
This ITV production from 1988 was a real ratings winner, and was watched by nearly eighteen million viewers. I was one of many who watched this gripping and tense psychological drama and it's one I will never forget. Being a massive fan of murder mystery, crime fiction and suspense thrillers; this television production from Granada Studios was a must-see. Also, I adore that Victorian period - adventure stories of Sherlock Holmes, novels of Charles Dickens, and of course, the infamous Jack the Ripper!
I remember buying this on the VHS video cassette, but eventually the quality of the tape deteriorated and I had to throw it away. However, due to advances in audio and visual technology, and the introduction of the compact disc, old television programmes from yesteryear are looking and sounding better than ever before.....

The Victorian scenery settings and costume designs are exquisite, and with a star-studded cast of the finest actors led by the great Michael Caine and Lewis Collins, ITV knew this drama production was a real winner! Michael Caine's performance was a truly outstanding piece of acting, playing the role of Scotland Yard's finest detective Frederick Abberline. With Michael Caine taking this lead role, he really does steal the show! Assisting him along the way, and putting in very strong performances, are Lewis Collins, Armand Assante, Susan George and many more well-established actors.
With a running time of over three hours, the suspense and terror are delivered with perfect timing and combined with a chilling series of sounds, arriving at the precise moment for maximum effect, we are treated to a first-class, edge-of-the-seat thriller.
Finally, I must also point out that this drama uses the most comprehensive research of old criminal case reports from the Scotland Yard archives. This makes ITV's portrayal of the Jack The Ripper story, the most accurate version to be televised yet. However, there are a couple of inaccuracies; most notably, Inspector Abberline's alcohol problem which never was. In addition, George Lusk was not a nasty piece of work, quite the opposite in fact. Despite these misrepresentations, this classic ITV drama makes for great viewing, and even though it's a quarter of a century old now, it has stood the test of time......... 9/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 6 July 2002
By 
Ziad R. Hakim (Beirut Lebanon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jack the Ripper (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Jack The Ripper is one of my all time favorite movie, Caine and Collins performances are absolutely brilliant! Caine is Detective Abberline who is trying to reveal the real Jack the Ripper from bunch of suspects. I have watched recently "From Hell" 2002 which consists of the same story, but still "Jack The Ripper" is much better in all the ways...
If you haven't seen it, buy it now and you won't regret it...
One thing is missing though, no subtitles are available.
A MUST!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping historical drama, 9 Oct 2010
By 
Alan Dalton (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack The Ripper [DVD] [1988] (DVD)
It is fantastic that this superb drama is available on DVD. While the storyline takes some often considerable liberties with historical facts, it creates a wonderfully tense and atmospheric drama - and there are a great many facts portrayed too. A major plus about this version of the Whitechapel murders is its fabulous recreation of Victorian London and captures the dichotomy between opulent society and filthy squalor of the east end underclass of that time to great effect.

The acting is superb thoughout, with barely a dud performance and none is better than Michael Caine. Caine provides a magnificent character study of a tough east end copper brought up the hard way. Although the Inspector Abberline in this drama bears no resemblance whatsoever to the real Abberline (apart from some accuracies in his policing career), Michael Caine's performance is genuinely first-class - probably one of his best. Lewis Collins also gives an inspired performance as Sergeant Godley.

There are, of course, some downsides with this drama. The character portrayed by Jane Seymour as Abberline's love interest is almost totally without point and she has very little to do. The musical score gets a little over the top towards the end and the ending, or rather the identity of the Ripper, is absolute nonsense - based on a fabricated story subsequently repeated so many times that it is taken by some to be fact. It is disappointng that, having supposedly undertaken extensive examination of Scotland Yard files, that the writers chose not to include any of Scotland Yard's chief suspects in this dramatisation. The fact that several endings were filmed reveals that the writers had little interest in trying to expose the Ripper's true identity and presumably chose the most dramatic and/or surprising conclusion.

But these faults do not in any way take away from the drama and the way the tension is built up for the climax. If one accepts the inaccuracies and views this as a fictionalisation of factual events and characters then it is tremendously enjoyable. I have lost count of the number of times I have watched this and I look forward to watching it many times more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jack the Ripper (Special Edition) [DVD]
Jack the Ripper (Special Edition) [DVD] by Michael Caine (DVD - 2002)
29.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews