Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
18
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 4 June 2004
There are 14 songs performed live on this DVD and everyone of them holds you in applause. The sound of the Moodies with the Orchestra they did Days of Future Past with are perfoming in an acoustic paradise at the Royal Albert Hall and this is a treat for the ears..simply wonderful stuff. Nights in White Satin is breathtaking..Wildest dreams is an instumental delight.Tuesday afternoon is stirring, Question is just so overpowering in that hall..Ray and his flute overtake you with melodious echoes and he does Legend of a Mind sensationally. John's perfomance with Isnt Life Strange is moving and expressive and his Im Just a Singer is Knock out..Justin does Haunted so inspiringly.There are standing ovations for their perfomance and audience contact is so embracing..Justin's wonderful voice reaches out across the dome surrounding the audit with echoes...a wonderful feeling that must have been for him to sing in such a place, it was perfect harmony....a must to buy an excelling live performance.
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2001
Both picture quality and sound quality are an improvement on the previous Moodies excellent live video, A Night at Red Rocks. Performance wise the Moodies appear more relaxed, touring with orchestras has ironed out any snags, both Moodies and Orchestra giving virtually flawless performances. Justin's voice a bit weak on one number but otherwise performance first class. Gripes - why was the whole concert not recorded and why were both video and DVD subjected to the same editing as the Hall of Fame cd. That aside you can't afford not to be without HOF on DVD.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Somewhere in the nineties the Moody Blues decided they would turn from large outdoor venues to classical indoor music halls. It was a grand idea and works well for anyone who has seen them in a smaller arena. What better place than the Royal Albert Hall?
There are some great moments, mostly from the older songs, "Nights In White Satin" and "Question" with the great string arrangements. However, "Haunted" and "Words You Say" just don't scream Moody Blues like the classics. It's a nice grouping of songs from all stages, but the set is far too limited for a large scale DVD collection. The group has done some very long sets ("Moody Blues At Red Rocks") and although the setting is far more intimate, there just isn't enough.
The sound quality is very good, but not great and they do strive terribly hard to reach those notes, but are easily forgiven. They've been at this for over forty years. They have given the world a nice concert, but 'nice' just doesn't seem to be enough anymore. I really wanted to see and hear more with this great event. Sorry - no extras.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2000
This is powerful! The band and the audience were on a high in the impressive setting of the Royal Albert Hall. The Moody Blues tour constantly but they don't seem to lose their energy or enthusiasm. On this 1st May 2000 concert, they were joined by the World Festival Orchestra under the direction of Larry Baird. What a combination. Talk about "raising the roof"! That all but happened that night. Graeme Edge still loves drumming, Ray Thomas' baritone only mellows with age, John Lodge reaches new heights with "Words you say" and Justin Hayward may have sung "Nights in White Satin" two thousand times but he makes it seem so special at this performance. Terrific mixing. I nearly knocked a star off because we don't get the whole concert and we don't always get it in the order it was performed and Ray's flute solo is left off "Legend of a mind" but it's a master class in how rock should be live.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2002
I was lucky enough to be at this show. It transfers well to DVD. One of the worlds greatest bands shows just how great they can be. Justins voice falters on one song, but aside from that, they rock. They are one of the best live bands you'll ever see. The only moan i have is that the DVD could have benefitted from better editing. A MUST HAVE for any moodies fan. These troubadors have been at it for almost 40 years!!!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2001
This concert registration will definately only 'work' for you if you like both the 'old' and the 'new' work of the Moody Blues (say, before and after Seventh Sojourn). But I can hardly imagine that anyone likes both periods. I've been a big fan for at least 20 years (I started listening to their work in the 1980's and 'worked my way back'). To me, the old songs are so exciting, inspired, musical and oftentimes absolutely brilliant. The new work basically consists of simple romantic love songs which never seem to go anywhere musically. It's no big surprise then that the audience of this concert, which seems to consist of mainly middle-aged women, embarrasingly manages to burst into full blown applause during a number of quiet periods embedded in the old songs (most notably, during Legend Of A Mind and Question). The concert is also way too short (about 80 minutes). If only they'd made this a two disc set, one with older, and one with newer songs, I'd have been happy. Needless to say, I'm not. The image and sound quality of the DVD, however, is pretty ok. Nearly perfect.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
Their enthusiasm is plain to see in this DVD and having seen Justin Hayward in concert recently, it was a real pleasure to see them all and to see their expressions close-up . The song, 'Question' is one of my all-time favourites and I will be watching this DVD several times over just for that song!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2009
I have been a Moodies fan for 44 years (that tells my age)and these guys can still perform. With the backing of a great orchestra I thought the performance was great. They sang most of the songs they are famous for and the orchestrations were not overdone. You can tell that the boys still enjoy performing. The audience was really enthusiastic and really into the concert. If you are a Moodies fan, this DVD is a must.
GT, Burlington, Ontario Canada
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2010
I saw the Moodies live at the Royal Albert hall a few years ago, and this dvd does justice to one of the greatest British groups of all time. This includes Ray Thomas, the flute player who had left the band by the time I got to see them. Not a bad track, plus all the old favourites.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2000
The first classical rock band show they still have versitilaty and amazing talant with such powerful and musical songs that will never be defeated for sound quality. Nothing more needs to be said if your a fan as you already know
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)