Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sepultura...But different
I have heard Roorback and Dante XXI, and had mixed views about those albums so was really in 2 minds with Nation. However to my pleasure i was happily suprised with the end result. It is recoignisable as a Sepultura album, but its a different kind of Sepultura album. From listening to the Max Cavalera albums and being taken on board the Sepultura plain with them i have...
Published on 26 Dec 2006 by Mr. Aaron C. Cottrell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars some good,some bad,some terrible
sepultura deserve respect for how they continued once max left,they are very much their own band now,max has long moved on and derrick green is good for sepultura but that doesnt mean they are perfect and this album is a messy album at best,there is some serious cool riffs on show and derricks vocals are excellent,the problems arise when they kinda go tribal and then it...
Published on 10 April 2006 by sean paul mccann


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sepultura...But different, 26 Dec 2006
This review is from: Nation (Audio CD)
I have heard Roorback and Dante XXI, and had mixed views about those albums so was really in 2 minds with Nation. However to my pleasure i was happily suprised with the end result. It is recoignisable as a Sepultura album, but its a different kind of Sepultura album. From listening to the Max Cavalera albums and being taken on board the Sepultura plain with them i have got used to the deep angry growls of Max's vocals. With Derrick Green on vocals the whole atmosphere of the album seems to change. Yes the strong powerful riffs and melodies are present in great volume, but there also seems to be a slightly more relaxed and, dare i say, softer feell to the songs in general. This might have somthing to do with the fact that now the main song writing duties have been taken over by guitarist Andreas Kisser and drummer Igor Cavalera, whereas in the Max days most of the music was dealt with my Max, with additions from the rest of the band.

Dont get me wrong it is a very good album! It caught me by surpirse being a big Sepultura fan and listening to the other albums is great sucession. But this album is really a new phase in the on-going reign of Sepultura, a new sound which, in some cases incapsulating the listener, in some cases making the listener think, and some cases allowing the listener to learn some memorable new lines to sing at the concerts. Song such as the opener Sepulnation, Border Wars and the interesting sounding Uma Cura really show how good Sepultura can be with this new line up.

If ur asking me whether or not to get this album i would say definately, but if ur expecting something similar to that of Chaos AD or Arise, then be prepared for something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Far superior to Against, 5 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This is a great new album from The Jungle Boys, with heavy riffs and as usual, typically powerful drumming from Igor Cavalera. It is much better than the disapointing debut with Derrick Greene who this time round delivers suitably angry vocals. He is no replacement for Max but then again he isn't trying to be. The music is a cross between 'Roots' and 'Chaos AD' but is just that bit different from both of them. A fine metal album, buy it if you love all of Seps albums but if you prefer their thrash era it may be a little slow (except for 'Revolt' and 'Annhilation')
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the new boy returns, 27 Jan 2006
This review is from: Nation (Audio CD)
ok ok ok so there is life after max as they proved to some degree on 'against' but here thankfully for me anyway the ghost of max was exorcised and derrick greene was all thatwas left standing to fill those shoes and he proved he was good before but here he made the position his own. he sounds alot more confident and shows a nice level of depth and emotion in his voice that max never could. as always the song writing is exceptional and again showing a level of variety that the band had not displayed previously with the tempo going up and down all over the place the album can get a little disorientating but the overalleffect is quite astonishing. the whole thing is held together by a brilliant production job by matt hyde[hatebreed] and works brilliantly and showed that there light at the end of the tunnel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars heavy - intelligent - awesome!!!, 24 Mar 2001
By 
Mike aka 'The ChaosMonger!' (North Yorkshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
1st impression, cd cover looked the biz - very soviet era, which fits perfectly with the concept theme.
2nd impression, cd rocks!!! from the off this material oozes class which only the sep's can be responsible for. much heavier than it's predecessor, as well as being a lot more approachable musically.
have to say that my fav tracks are 'tribe to a nation' and 'politricks' - awesome, eerie vocals on the latter!
a lot of folks out there have moaned that there wasn't enough thrash content - or rather the shortness of the thrashy tracks on this cd was a let down - all i say to these people is that i personally feel the tunes fit well into the whole thing. with an almost constant barrage of noise the tracks 'revolt' and 'human cause' break up the flow of the album beautifully - i'm sure the boys knew what they were doing @ the production stage!
my final advice to people reading this, buy it now cos this is the sepultura of the new millennium, a band still a huge cut above the rest of the pretenders out there. here are a group of talented musicians who can still pump out an array of excellently crafted material - even after all this years. max is long gone now - and i love him to bits - but don't let that put u off, mr green and the boys are doing just fine without him. CONGRATS BOYS, THE TRIBE STILL LIVES!!!
by the way the bonus tracks are tops!!! if u want a bit more punk/thrash then go for this didgipak rather than the standard cd - that'll stop the whinging!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Return to form, 3 Mar 2001
By 
Ben Saunders (Stirling, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This may not be as good as 'Roots', but it's far better than 'Against'. The new line up has gelled, as is conclusively demonstrated on tracks such as 'One Man Army' and 'Sepulnation'. The album features guest appearances from Apocalyptica (who provide cellos on 'Valtio'!), Dr Izrael and Jello Biafra. It doesn't become a celebrity free-for-all like Soulfly though, partly due to the strong concept of the album (creating a utopic nation) and the fact that they have stayed true to their roots - witness 'Politricks' (which reminds me in attitude of 'Slave New World', etc) Stand out songs include 'Thilo' (a beautifully crafted track, written on classical guitar), 'Revolt' (which is Sepultura at their super-fast best) and 'Sepulnation' itself. This limited digipack edition includes five bonus tracks - a demo, one live and three covers, the best of which is actually a Bauhaus song ('Bela Lugosi's Dead') but done slow with lots of tribal drumming, and it's come out really well. Given that my expectations weren't that high, this record's really blown me away, in fact the only down point is the fact that the lyrics aren't included in the sleeve! If the lads carry on like this, we may end up asking 'Max who?' before their career's over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rise Up, Rise Up, SEPULNATION, 11 April 2001
Forgot the past, that is history. Sepultura have shown again that there is no need to be referred with their former vocalist as they have set out their stall, and I must add, set it out excellent.
The angst of Against has been re-grouped and delivered with precision.
There is something for everyone here. Sepulnation is a call to arms and an anthem of the future. Revolt blows everything out of you, before you are left to recover through Border Wars.
Uma Cura is just plain heavy. It is all bass, and brilliant. Never heard anything like it. Who Must Die? is probably the stand-out track. Human Cause is just intensity personified.
Ending with Valtio you have experienced aural pleasure.
But then we get bonus. Oh what a bonus. Bela Lugosi's Dead is quite possibly the best cover they have ever done, and Black Flag's Rise Above is excellent. Revolt (demo) gives an insight into the progression of songs (this is now Saga).
All in all, value for money, you betcha. Top musicianship, excellent vocal range and in a world of rap-metal, Sepultura have raised their middle finger to all the doubters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An amazing mix of anti nu-metal metal, 25 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Nation (Audio CD)
Although I prefer the vocal talents of Max Cavalera to Derrick Greenes, this album is a lot better than the bands previous effort after the loss of their original vocalist. The track 'Army Of One' is the stand-out song on this album, with a particularly good riff, and Igor Cavalera's drumming is superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Andreas and the tribe return!, 30 May 2001
By A Customer
This is a superb comeback for Sepultura after the departure of frontman Max Cavalera and the disappointing "Against" album. From the heavy stuff like Sepulnation and Border Wars to the peacefulness of Valtio, this is one CD that no dignified collection should be without. Hail sepultura!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hitting Back Hard!, 1 April 2001
By A Customer
This is the first album I've heard since Roots without dear Max. However, Sepultura still mantain their amazing ability to pull out some brutal riffs!
If your expecting another Roots, forget it. Roots was a milestone in metal and will almost certainly never be bettered by anything Sepultura can do now. Despite this, Nation stands well on its own.
It seems to me to be somewhat darker than their previous stuff. Hard to describe precisely, just a different kind of atmosphere/mood. The limited edition album also features several bonus thrash tracks.
All in all this is a great album for any Sepultura fans and from what I've heard about Against is a definite return to form.
Despite, my reluctance regarding Sepultura minus Max, Nation proves that Sepultura aren't just a one man band!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Had to have it!!, 14 Nov 2013
I'm a die hard Sepultura fan so this is a must have if you are a fan of the Derrick-era of this band. I like to own all digipacks, deluxe, special, and limited edition versions of CDs. This one is in a long line of others that I wanted to have. Living in Texas over in the United States, this item shipped pretty fast and was in perfect condition when it arrived. The cd itself was in great condition and even the package was not even bent on the corners!!!!! Flawless delivery, thank you so very much mates!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nation
Nation by Sepultura (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews