Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars57
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2010
I live in the USA but chose to purchase the UK version because of wrongfully editing of these classic cartoons.
When you see the staggering amount of offensive cartoons made today, one has to wonder why Disney would edit a cigarette from the mouth of a cowboy (Pecos Bill).
Thank goodness the UK version remains unedited (I grew up watching these as a kid unedited, what would old Walt say today?)
Uk version includes the same 3 bonus cartoons, Donald applecore, Lambert the sheepish lion & Casey bats again (would have been nice if they would've included Casey at bat).
Me and my 4 year old nephew thoroughly enjoyed watching these cartoons (and no he wasn't asking for a cigarette afterwards Ha,ha :}
My hope is that if enough people complain about editing classic cartoons like these, that Disney will realize that the majority of people don't take offensive today just as they didn't back then.
0Comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2012
This is a lovely film and I'm happy it is available so I can show it to my young children as they grow up. I have fond memories of watching many of these shorts when I was a child, so having this DVD is a benefit both for my kids and for myself. The quality of music and animation that Walt Disney put into his feature films and shorts 60 years ago is very rarely seen in the animation of today. Pecos Bill and the Bumble Bee Boogie are personal favorites. It is nice to get Lambert the Sheepish Lion and Casey Bats Again as bonuses!

My only complaints are for the edited Region 1 U.S. version. The version shown on this page is the Region 2 U.K. version and is UNEDITED! THIS IS THE ONE TO BUY!

I encourage people to buy this, the Region 2 version of this film, instead of the Region 1 U.S. version. It will send a message to Disney that its customers prefer their classic animation unedited and uncensored.

Like others here, I live in the U.S. but I purchased this region 2 version of Melody Time because it was unedited. I don't understand what kind of warped logic the content managers at Disney were using when they decided it was unacceptable to show Pecos Bill with a cigarette in his mouth. I suppose it had something to do with not wanting young kids to want to smoke just like their hero Pecos Bill did, but then I wonder why they thought that was unacceptable for U.S. children, and yet acceptable for U.K. children?

Just editing out the cigarette digitally would have been an annoyance, but to completely remove an entire verse from the central song of that story (the scene where Bill lasso's a tornado and uses a lightning bolt to light a cigarette), is going too far. It makes that song 1/6 shorter! Not to mention that these individual Disney shorts, and the entire Melody Time film taken together, represent a piece of classic animation art that is over 60 years old. It's up to parents to decide what they show their kids and to explain that some beliefs and habits have changed over time. (Frankly I'm surprised that Disney censored the cigarette, yet left untouched a segment about Pecos Bill shooting up Native Americans.) But in my opinion the art itself should be made available in as close to its original form as possible. We buy these for the nostalgia and because we are interested enough in Disney art that we want to see it as it was when it released.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2009
There's a soft spot in my heart for these old Disney anthologies. They are loaded with vintage charm -- which is sometimes quite amusing because of the conventions of the time -- and the Disney quality is always there, even in quieter or less eventful sequences.

I live in the U.S. but I purchased the U.K. (Region 2) MELODY TIME because the purist in me insists upon enjoying Pecos Bill lighting and sucking on his cigarettes in high style. This was surgically and digitally altered on the U.S. release (as was a similar moment in SALUDOS AMIGOS).

It isn't always possible to acquire such "uncensored" Disney in a good commercial-quality release. For those of us so inclined, this is one to enjoy.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 February 2016
Melody Time (working title All in Fun) is the tenth full-length animated feature film in the Disney Animated Canon . It was first released on May 27, 1948 and was released to theatres by RKO Radio Pictures. Made up of several sequences set to popular music and folk music, the film is, like Make Mine Music before it, the contemporary version of Fantasia (an ambitious film that proved to be a commercial disappointment upon its original theatrical release). Melody Time, while not meeting the artistic accomplishments of Fantasia, was a mildly successful film in its own right. It is the fifth package film, following Saludos Amigos, The Three Caballeros, Make Mine Music, and Fun and Fancy Free.

This particular film has seven segments:

1) Once Upon a Wintertime features Frances Langford singing the title song about two romantic young lovers in December. The boy shows off for his girl, and near-tragedy and a timely rescue ensue. This short was also featured on the compilation video, A Walt Disney Christmas.

2) Bumble Boogie is a surrealistic nightmare for a solitary bee trying to escape from a visual and musical frenzy. The music is courtesy of Freddy Martin and his orchestra (with Jack Fina playing the piano) and is a swing-jazz variation of Rimsky-Korsakov's Flight of the Bumblebee, which was one of the many pieces considered for inclusion in Fantasia.

3) The Legend of Johnny Appleseed is a retelling of the story of John Chapman, who spent most of his life roaming America and planting apple trees, thus earning his famous nickname. Dennis Day narrates and provides all the voices.

4) Little Toot is based on the poem by Hardie Gramatky, in which the title protagonist, a small tugboat, wants to be just like his father but can't seem to stay out of trouble. The Andrews Sisters provide the vocals. Out of all 7 of these musical segments, this one is the most famous, inspiring David Mitton to create the television series, TUGS.

5) Trees is a reciting of the famous Alfred Joyce Kilmer poem by Fred Waring and the Pennsylvanians with the lyrical setting seen through the seasons.

6) Blame It on the Samba has Donald Duck and José Carioca meeting with the Aracuan Bird who introduces them to the pleasures of the samba. The Dinning Sisters provide the vocals while organist Ethel Smith plays the organ.

7) Pecos Bill, as told by Roy Rogers and the Sons of the Pioneers, is the film's finale relating the tale of the famous hero from Texas; the greatest cowboy that ever lived, his horse Widowmaker, and how he was brought back down to earth by a woman named Slue-Foot Sue. This retelling of the story is courtesy of Roy Rogers, Bob Nolan, and the Sons of the Pioneers to Bobby Driscoll and Luana Patten. This segment was later edited on the film's NTSC video release (but not the PAL release) to remove all scenes of Bill smoking a cigarette. The entire scene with Bill rolling the smoke and lighting it with a lightning bolt was cut and all other shots of the offending cigarette hanging from his lips were digitally removed. Likewise, the segment relating how he fought a native tribal warband was edited out as it was perceived to be promoting racist stereotypes
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2003
this film from 1947 is not as well known as most other disney animated films. It was being produced as the second world war was coming to as close and because most of disney's profits were low due to audiences in europe being cut off and money being trapped in other countries disney didn't have the money to create the masterpieces such as Fantasia, Snow White or pinocchio which had gone before it. however the film is still enjoyable the seven segments are all set to popular music (well it was popular back in 1947) and features acts such as the andrews sitsters. The film shows that although disney didn't have a lot of money they could still entertain. Another reason why this dvd is so good is that it is completey unedited. In recent years many films from the 40's and 50's have been edited due to politically incorrect stereotypes or antisocial behaiviour. Now i know that these things are unacceptable in today's worls but back then it was common place and i do not believe classic pieces of history should be tampered with and thta is why i am so happy that this dvd is in full because the verion of melody time released in the united states has parts cut out. with fantastic animation this film deserves to be recognised along with all the other disney animated classics. some children may find it slightly uninteresting because of the fact the majority of the movie is aniamtion set to music (much like fanatasia) and get the most out of it an interest in animation is needed, but even if your not an animation expert it is still enjoyable and if you were a child or an adolescent during the late forties it is a perfwect trip down memory lane to hear some of the singers and bands from that period.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2003
this film from 1947 is not as well known as most other disney animated films. It was being produced as the second world war was coming to as close and because most of disney's profits were low due to audiences in europe being cut off and money being trapped in other countries disney didn't have the money to create the masterpieces such as Fantasia, Snow White or pinocchio which had gone before it. however the film is still enjoyable the seven segments are all set to popular music (well it was popular back in 1947) and features acts such as the andrews sitsters. The film shows that although disney didn't have a lot of money they could still entertain. Another reason why this dvd is so good is that it is completey unedited. In recent years many films from the 40's and 50's have been edited due to politically incorrect stereotypes or antisocial behaiviour. Now i know that these things are unacceptable in today's worls but back then it was common place and i do not believe classic pieces of history should be tampered with and thta is why i am so happy that this dvd is in full because the verion of melody time released in the united states has parts cut out. with fantastic animation this film deserves to be recognised along with all the other disney animated classics. some children may find it slightly uninteresting because of the fact the majority of the movie is aniamtion set to music (much like fanatasia) and get the most out of it an interest in animation is needed, but even if your not an animation expert it is still enjoyable and if you were a child or an adolescent during the late forties it is a perfwect trip down memory lane to hear some of the singers and bands from that period.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2014
It's good to have this film in its original version, with no digitally censored cigarrettes. Disc label could be more interesting than a grey disc with the title and technical information on it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
Not my most loved Disney movie ever, but the limited edition slipcover totally makes up for it! I'm very happy to add this dvd to my Disney Classics collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Bought this as part of my disney collection. Great value for money and has a numbered spine
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2014
It is a relief to see that the U.K. hasn't gone silly over constantly having to be politically correct like the crazy people in the U.S. who had to edit these pieces. I love being able to identify with the history behind the folklore. Brought back great memories of watching them with my family when I was a child in the late '60's
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.