Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can't believe i'm actually posting this review
Walking through woolies in the mid-eighties, i heard 'a wish away' by the wonderstuff playing on the shop gramophone. Crikey, i thought, that's a fine tune. 84 years later i'm still playing this and all the other wonderstuff albums.
Those who know and love them will know that they're an infectious, addictive band caught very easily by word of mouth. I passed the...
Published on 9 May 2003 by Craig

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It'll do
Not as good as HUP in my opinion, but I am biased towards that other album for reason described previously. There are still a couple of crackers on here though.
Published 19 months ago by Red Army Follower


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can't believe i'm actually posting this review, 9 May 2003
By 
Craig (Pinner, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Eight Legged Groove Machine (Audio CD)
Walking through woolies in the mid-eighties, i heard 'a wish away' by the wonderstuff playing on the shop gramophone. Crikey, i thought, that's a fine tune. 84 years later i'm still playing this and all the other wonderstuff albums.
Those who know and love them will know that they're an infectious, addictive band caught very easily by word of mouth. I passed the infection on to many of my friends and they all maintain the same affection for this band that i do.
This first album is marginally my favourite over the others but they're all cracking.
If you've stumbled upon this page by accident then first, get help using your computer next time and secondly shell out for this CD and prepare to be educated.
Better still, buy a ticket to see them play their fiddles and bows this winter in a town near you. They're best eaten live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Grooving..., 20 May 2009
By 
Mr. R. Clark - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to say I was suspicious of this album originally, as usually I think that no good can come of rehashing former glories but I was surprised. The re-recording has given new life to great songs. The original was great but the recording slightly creaky when played loud but this is great fun, same songs but with the added urgency of a band reliving their youth! Play loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!!, 10 Jun 2009
By 
Amazing re-working of a classic album. Saw them live recently and this album really demonstrates what they are live now. Raw and loud. A real must for any fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still amazing, 21 Dec 2008
This review is from: The Eight Legged Groove Machine (Audio CD)
Went to their 20 year anniversary of TELGM recently and despite the fact they have lost two of their original members (RIP Bass Thing and Gilksy)they remain as fresh,snarling, vibrant and yet sarcastic as they ever were. Miles you are a genius and whilst this was an album of its times, what times they were. As catchy an album as you will ever find full of true lyrical genius. If they were starting out today they would still make it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Debut, 16 Oct 2007
By 
Graham Cobley "Grumsta" (Hinckley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Eight Legged Groove Machine (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to see them at the Reading festival just before TELGM was released, and rushed out to buy it.

I then saw them at Leicester Poly at one of the best gigs of my life. They had a stunning energy and had the whole place dancing, even the usually quiet ones at the back.

This is the only album I liked by the Wonder Stuff, for me their other stuff doesn't even come close, but this is a classic. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars hell yeah..., 3 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: The Eight Legged Groove Machine (Audio CD)
you remember it, you find it, the price is right, you buy it, you enjoy it all over again... has it inspired me to check out any new stuff? Hell yeah...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grin, 14 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: The Eight Legged Groove Machine (Audio CD)
an absolute joy to hear this album again. the words, the melodies and, of course, the memories came flooding back. the songs have really stood the test of time well unlike myself, ha! the only problem is that i know i will have to buy Hup next, oh well life is hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dated, but nostalgic!, 8 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Eight Legged Groove Machine (Audio CD)
I'm a bit loathe to say it, but, yes, this does sound a little dated now. Still, the album which kicked off my dalliance with the Stuffies is more than loveable. That may be me being a tad sentimental, yet, even for someone who's never heard of these talented eight legs, this album must truly be addictive. And now it's original three-minute pop-rock catchiness has been supplemented with the addition of four bonus B-side tracks - as all Stuffie fans know, the B-sides often proved some of the band's finest moments, but, admittedly, these aren't them (why is 10 Trenches Deep not here?). How The Wonderstuff managed to pale into the dreaded obscurity of the bargain bucket I'll never know, because as tracks as wonderful and audacious as Unbearable, It's Yer Money I'm After and Red Berry Joy Town (and of course the many further and more cultured classics the band were to release ) prove, this Brummie band were, simply, top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great deal, 11 Nov 2014
This review is from: The Eight Legged Groove Machine (Audio CD)
really quck service , great deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A worthy retelling of an old tale., 22 April 2010
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The current incarnation of The Wonder Stuff, who have been ripping up stages across the UK for the past few years, tackle the classic debut album. It's the same old story, but a new telling, with subtle additions and new interpretations, new arrangements, different inflections, new fiddle parts. A new version, and a worthy addition. Not only that, but you get the whole of the original album in order with several additional b-sides reworked. It's a hefty hour of great music.

With no song under 20 years old, it's a time capsule but there's no sense of tiredness, no ennui of being in-it-for-the-money : just a bunch of great songs - songs that would sound as good if they were released now as they did then - held together with spark, wit, and passion. Songs like this saved my life ; they still mean as much to me now as they did then. It's a Wonderful Life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Eight Legged Groove Machine
The Eight Legged Groove Machine by The Wonder Stuff (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews