Customer Reviews


228 Reviews
5 star:
 (158)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Throughly enjoyable and a delight to watch
Disney's core audience are children. I have to applaud Disney for encouraging children to express interest in classical music through the inspring and clever use of animation. Adults would appreciate the beauty and splendour of what the animation offers. I simply could not resist gaining a taste of Fantasia. Disney conveys the core values of humour and charm in this...
Published on 24 April 2011 by Mr. P. Datta

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as I remembered
I remember this from my childhood and thought my two girls would love it. They enjoyed parts, but it wasn't as good as I remembered. Obviously the quality of the animation does not compare with current Disney standards due to its age, but there are probably only about 4 or 5 sections that are good and the rest are a bit boring.
Published 4 months ago by Bargain Hunter


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Throughly enjoyable and a delight to watch, 24 April 2011
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantasia - [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
Disney's core audience are children. I have to applaud Disney for encouraging children to express interest in classical music through the inspring and clever use of animation. Adults would appreciate the beauty and splendour of what the animation offers. I simply could not resist gaining a taste of Fantasia. Disney conveys the core values of humour and charm in this stunning musical piece of Fantasia. The unique love of animal characters are utilised effectively. The scenery at times varies to provide a fresh dimension to the animation as you are about to observe. It is a break-taking and truly amazing experience to watch. Initially, Fantasia in its earlier days was a commercial failure during its released in 1940. Fortunes have swiftly changed. It has become a massive success and enjoyed by millions. Theatres provide regular shows. Watching it on DVD is extra special. The Dvd version is the original work. I really appreciate the level of work and money invested in reviving this animation.

I love musicals and really enjoyed this well crafted piece for displaying a surreal world to really appreciate. It is engaging and educational. I find it hard to believe the animation was released 70 years ago. A narrator and the orchestra group are quickly introduced in the opening sequences amazingly in colour. Adding colours in films was possible to achieve in those days as Disney applied a technique known as Technicolor. In those days, it was quite expensive and sophisticated for other film-makers to follow the similar route. The sound and picture quality adds an amazing and unique viewing experience to the animation. The narration is first class and informative. The musical pieces featured are well thought out and displayed to perfection. The innovativeness of mixing animation and music promoted a new dimension.It continues to inspire future generations of animation.

The music comprises a selection of acts from some of the finest and gifted composers who embraced the world. The animation is divided by eight set pieces. We experience the world in its rich beauty, nature and humanity through the amazing world of what animation offers to viewers. The main pieces include Nutcracker Suite, The Sorcerer's Apprentice, Dance of the Hours and few others as well. Each piece unfold a story and the music is expertly used to convey the story for its audience. The music tone changes for each piece. It changes from its soft touch to a dramatic atmosphere. The magic of Disney re-ignites. Fantasia is a delight to watch on DVD, as it is unique,charming, stunningly attractive, surreal and expertly displayed. It is a great collection item to include. I thoroughly enjoyed it and would highly recommend for anyone who loves musicals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking!, 14 Jun 2006
This review is from: Fantasia [DVD] [1941] (DVD)
If you only ever see one Disney movie PLEASE make it Fantasia. From the opening sound of the orchestra until the last note dies away it is a total joy. Eight legendary pieces of music by some of the world's most beloved composers joined by characters that only Disney could come up with. The most well known section, of course, revolves around a certain Mouse but that aside there is definitely something here for everyone. My advice is watch this once but don't judge it immediately watch it again and I think you too will fall in love with Fantasia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolutionary Perfection, 4 Mar 2004
By 
Mr. T. Speller "tomtedspeller" (London, Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fantasia [DVD] [1941] (DVD)
Not your average film, I know. But I just loved this film, because of two aspects-
1)The visuals are absolutely stunning, and at the same time absolutely revolutionary. If you consider this was 1940 when they made this, what they managed to achieve was incredible, really taking techniques to the limit. I know these methods have now been superseded by other techniques, but what they achieved THEN was cutting-edge; and you just cannot help feeling admiration for the film-makers. Plus who will be able to forget Mickey Mouse as the Sorcerers Apprentice, the dancing hippos to Ponichelli's Music, the Rite of Spring sequence, the fire of Night on Bald Mountain, the visuals used in tandem to Bach's Toccata and Fugue? I certainly haven't! Okay, not your average plotline, but if you just take this film as showing what they could achieve when taking techniques to the limit, you cannot help but be amazed.
2)The music. I'm sorry, I just LOVE music! And in particular, I love classical music, and never will you get a better collection of classical music in a film(although Kubrick's Clockwork Orange and 2001 have wonderful soundtracks). Bach's Toccata and Fugue played by a full orchestra was a hugely revolutionary thing to do, given that it is an organ piece- and yet it is an absolutely brilliant arrangement. Dukas' Sorcerer's Apprentice, works so well in the film. Stravinsky's Rite of Spring, absolutely revolutionary in itself(causing riots when first performed in 1913), also wonderful piece of music(also listen to his Firebird or Petruchka). Beethoven's Pastorale(6th Symphony), okay not as good as his Fifth, his Eroica, his Moonlight Sonata or his Ninth(my fave classical piece), but again worked so well. Ponichelli's Dance of the Hours, unforgettable sequence with hippos that has to be heard and seen to understand the brilliance. Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker Suite- ballet at its best. As for Mussgorgsky's fiery Night On Bald Mountain seguing into the angelic Ave Maria of Schubert, a wonderful experience when combined with the visual. I know I'm being irrational, but the sounds just work so well with the visuals that the film just works. I cannot explain why, it just...works.
So... not your average film then. But a must buy for film and music afficionados, as this is just perfection at its most revolutionary, and revolution at its most perfect, both aural and visual. Fantasia is just revolutionary perfection, you will be spellbound watching and hearing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic unforgettable, 25 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Fantasia [DVD] [1941] (DVD)
It is absolutely beautiful, every note is perfectly linked to the images: abstractionism, surrealism, but also funny. A powerful tool to stimulate the youth to the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original Disney Classic, 5 April 2011
By 
Beanie Luck Spud (Cotswolds) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fantasia - [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
Can anyone possibly say anything bad about this movie ?

No.

This film was the very 1st full length animated feature film that Walt Disney ever split into segments.

Each segment is set to a different piece of Classical Music comprising of:

Johann Sebastian Bach's Toccata and Fugue in D Minor
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker Suite
Paul Dukas' The Sorcerer's Apprentice
Igor Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring
Ludwig van Beethoven's The Pastoral Symphony
Amilcare Ponchielli's Dance of the Hours
Modest Mussorgsky's Night on Bald Mountain
Franz Schubert's Ave Maria

Each segment also tells a different story from greek mythology to ballet, to fairies and demons.

Obviously it doesn't hold a candle to today's animation but if your children haven't see it yet, then i would sit them down and let them watch it, whilst secretly sitting there and travelling down memory lane to the 1st time you ever watched it yourself..

Classics always have to be seen..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars language difficulties, 31 Jan 2010
By 
S. Hayes (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The menu is in Korean; we managed to get spoken English once by random selection, but haven't managed to repeat it. But actually you can manage without spoken English, it's only short passages spoken over sounds and pix of the orchestra warming up. The quality is fine. I've read elsewhere that it will be released by Disney in Bluetooth sometime this year, so you kight want to wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasia., 14 Sep 2009
Delivered quickly and a very good price. Although this was for the japanese market there was the option to have the original english sound track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic fantasia, 30 Mar 2011
By 
R. Poole "baby boomer" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fantasia - [DVD] [1940] (DVD)
at last!! lovingly restored and out at a great price this shows up the pretender fantasia 2000 for what it was DROSS!a brilliant way to get children into classical music (tho' night on bare mountain might be a bit frightening for younger children) and still marvellous for all us adults who can use them as a cover to watch it all again ourselves.if you dont have children then you can watch it as a guilty pleasure;you wont be disappointed as its lost none of its charm or humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Korean DVD, 26 Feb 2009
By 
Cdzone Ltd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This DVD is an import from Korea. It defaults to Korean but it does also have an English language track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney film, 12 Dec 2010
By 
Ms. S. Sinclair (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the DVD/Blu-ray version as it means when I can afford to treat myself to a blu-ray machine I will still have the disc to watch and don't need to dash out and re-buy the film. I bought this film in memory of my mum, first & foremost as she saw this when she was a child and always said it was her favourite, she had it on video which I never really got round to watching, it was my loss as I really enjoyed watching this when I got it there's so much in it, cartoons & music. It's a film the whole family can enjoy young & old. Get it and enjoy it with your kids on a cold snowy day which they say we'll be getting again soon, I've watched it several times now and find something new about it each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fantasia [DVD] [1941]
Fantasia [DVD] [1941] by Wilfred Jackson (DVD - 2000)
21.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews