Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good - could maybe be better.
This is for the most part a remix of The Fragile, and it's a pretty good one. One CD, with about 4 versions of Starf*ckers on it (if you liked that song you won't go far wrong with this).
For me, The Fragile was better. And All That Could Have Been was better. But those are great CD's - this would have been hard-pushed to be as good. I think it stands up pretty...
Published on 13 Nov. 2003

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not their best for me
I got into NIN late with the first album of theirs I bought being their live album which I thought was original and simply like nothing else around. With Teeth I thought was great and then purchased their entire catalogue. Enjoyed The Downward Spiral, The Fragile and Year Zero. I personally feel that this is their weakest offering with nothing quite as new and adventurous...
Published on 31 Dec. 2007 by mike


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not their best for me, 31 Dec. 2007
By 
This review is from: Things Falling Apart (Audio CD)
I got into NIN late with the first album of theirs I bought being their live album which I thought was original and simply like nothing else around. With Teeth I thought was great and then purchased their entire catalogue. Enjoyed The Downward Spiral, The Fragile and Year Zero. I personally feel that this is their weakest offering with nothing quite as new and adventurous as their other albums. Good but not their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good - could maybe be better., 13 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Things Falling Apart (Audio CD)
This is for the most part a remix of The Fragile, and it's a pretty good one. One CD, with about 4 versions of Starf*ckers on it (if you liked that song you won't go far wrong with this).
For me, The Fragile was better. And All That Could Have Been was better. But those are great CD's - this would have been hard-pushed to be as good. I think it stands up pretty well on its own, though.
If you don't have those other two CD's though, buy them first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Short stop off... I hope, 23 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Things Falling Apart (Audio CD)
Dont get me wrong, I'm a big NIN fan, but... I've never really be keen on remix albums, and 'Things Falling Apart' didn't change my mind. I agree in part with an earlier comment made by "broken.thoughts@thefragile.com from Hampshire" when he/she said that it was almost like a combination of PHM dance and fragile complexity but, even though I liked Pretty Hate Machine, I felt that the album had a balance between dance and underlying emotion and the remixes on TFA have ended up feeling superficial. I'm not saying this is a bad thing, perhaps it gives NIN a wider audience scope, but I personally dont like it. Having said that, I liked the Benelli mix of The Frail and the Great Collapse was a good combination of two amazing songs. I still preffer the originals though. In summery, I can see from the other reviewer's comments thet there is an audience for remix albums... but they arent for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok i guess, 8 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Things Falling Apart (Audio CD)
i was pretty dissapointed with this album i like the songs but it is just not as great as it is made out to be! buy it if u have some spare time but dont make a special trip for it waste of time i am afraid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant complement to the fragile, 7 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Things Falling Apart (Audio CD)
The only drawback with TFA is the fact that there are three remixes of Starfuckers. I think they should've released only one starfucker-remix (Ogelvies) and replaced the other two with other material - there's so much materail on Fragile that surely there must be something more to do. But other than that, TFA is simply brilliant! It is a quite heavy, industrial-techno sounding album but don't let that frighten you. It is quite different from Fragile with a lot more distortion, noise and new instruments, I'd say it's a step forward. More bold than Fragile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as people would have you think, 21 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Things Falling Apart (Audio CD)
Some have said that this is THE weakest NIN album. Well it's not the greatest, but it's an awful lot better than 'Further Down the Spiral'. The first two tracks are easy listening from a NIN point of view, and 'Slipping Away' is a superb remix of a one line from 'Into the Void'. This said, Reznor's remixes of 'The Wretched' and 'Where is Everybody', two of the best tracks from 'The Fragile' are questionable and seem to lose the magic of the originals with an almsot random remixing. Trent has gone Starf*ckers crazy, I personally didn't enjoy the original, and none of these versions seem to advance it.
The best tracks though are the ones I haven't yet mentioned, The Frail(version), Metal and 10 Miles High. The new 'Frail' has brilliantly placed sounds being thrown at the listener from all angles, and the string duet used to play it sounds a lot more effective than the original's piano. Trent's ability to do 70/80's classics in his style should have an album devoted to it; Adam Ant's 'Physical', which appeared in 'Broken' was superb, and so is Gary Numan's 'Metal' here. Trent's vocal style adds another level to these tracks and they really deserve to be listened to. '10 Miles High' is one of the most simple songs Trent has come up with, yet the repetitive chords he uses are tireless although slightly 'pop' orientated.
Basically, half of the album is worth it, and half of it probably isn't. If you like starf*ckers then you should definately get it, otherwise I'd advise just to get it for the decent tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Killer review of Things Falling Apart, 22 Nov. 2000
By 
This review is from: Things Falling Apart (Audio CD)
This CD carries on from where The Fragile finished, fair enough it has many remixes from the other album, but comes into its own straight away, as Slipping Away grabs you by the throat, then just as your settling into the track it jumps straight into the NEW track, which seems to be going nowhere and then changes direction. The reason for remixes usually is to stick a dance beat behind an excellent track, here though Nine Inch Nails personnel remix their own work, and add the right amount of distortion, and wild samples to keep you the listener interested. I have been a fan from the very beginning of their existence and in my opinion Trent and co have unleashed another demon from their collective angst. Maximum points for one hell of an experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Things really are falling apart, 14 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This album has to be the most dissapointing of nine inch nails releases to date. It contains a couple of great remixes (the wretched and where is everybody?) and an awful lot of sonic meandering. (The frail is great until the pointless synth noises start to appear) After the amazing downward spiral came further down the spiral and that contained some great remixes. I half expected a second helping of that. This comes across as nothing more than a collection of `fan remixes` as might find on a NIN websiteor napster. (parts of the song with an awful breakbeat pasted over the top) It suffers from the same problem as the fragile in that for every good track there`s three or four pointless ones. If you`re a fan then it`s worth getting it to add to the collection but don`t expect to be playing it for long. If you`re new to NIN then ignore this cd for now and go for The downward spiral, Broken or Pretty hate machine.
Lets hope this isn`t going to be a lasting trend for NIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant remix, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Things Falling Apart (Audio CD)
I love the Fragile album and this is such a great addition and transformation version of the album.
I have yet to find a bad NIN album.....................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Fear Evolution?, 2 April 2007
This review is from: Things Falling Apart (Audio CD)
This album is a show-case for Reznor's versitility and auditory breadth and depth. It is also a commendable tribute to the quality and capability of his co-collaborators.

I rate this very much as a companion work to the excellent The Fragile and it in many respects expands on the promise of many of the original tracks.

If you don't want to be challenged, by all means stick to your middle-of-the-road, whitebread, missionary-position albums.

Alternatively, drop the disc into the tray, twiddle up the dials, and lose yourself in a multi-layed, inter-textual and innovative sound-scape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Things Falling Apart
Things Falling Apart by Nine Inch Nails (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews