Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value rock compilation
Vilified by the music press for a style that resembled the likes of Boston, Styx and Foreigner without being quite as good as any of those bands, REO Speedwagon nevertheless left us with a few memorable hits. The two extremes of their output are displayed on successive tracks on this CD. 'In Your Letter', which appeared on their biggest album, 1980's 'Hi Fidelity', sounds...
Published on 10 Oct 2009 by D. J. H. Thorn

versus
0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars REO Speedwagon
The quality of this CD was o.k. but the delivery time span was dreadful. I ordered it on the weekend and it took until the Thursday of the following week, over 10 days, before it was delivered.
Published on 6 Mar 2010 by Bubbles1


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value rock compilation, 10 Oct 2009
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take It On The Run: The Best Of Reo Speedwagon (Audio CD)
Vilified by the music press for a style that resembled the likes of Boston, Styx and Foreigner without being quite as good as any of those bands, REO Speedwagon nevertheless left us with a few memorable hits. The two extremes of their output are displayed on successive tracks on this CD. 'In Your Letter', which appeared on their biggest album, 1980's 'Hi Fidelity', sounds like a sickly sweet, terribly twee pastiche of those early 1960s sickly sweet, terribly twee pop songs that masqueraded as rock and roll. Following this is the oldest track, 1972's 'Golden Country', a raucous, indisciplined hard rock track that sounds as if it's by a different band. Between these extremes falls their most satisfying material, featuring energised, yet polished hard rock with solid harmonies. 'Keep Pushin'', 'Roll With The Changes' and 'Ridin' The Storm Out' may sound cliched, but are exciting. Then of course there are the three big hits, 'Keep On Loving You', 'Can't Fight This Feeling' and 'Take It On The Run', which stand alone as pop songs in the guise of rock, thereby affording them the so-called 'power ballad' tag. REO Speedwagon weren't the best in their field, nor were they innovative, but they recorded enough good quality music to justify this compilation which, at the price, is excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of, 13 May 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Take It On The Run: The Best Of Reo Speedwagon (Audio CD)
With the success of Glee and the usual cycles of fashion and resurgence of all things eighties at the moment, REO Speedwagon fit in with all of this perfectly. With their catchy songs and mix of ballads and light rock they offer up plenty of fare to those who enjoy music from bands the likes of Journey and other eighties stalwarts. This offers up the best of their music (as the title suggests) as well as a few other tracks that may have slipped through the net. There is some crossover with their previous best of album 'Hits', but both albums have some songs not on the other. To be honest I prefer 'Hits' to this, but that may just be because I heard it first, but needless to say the track listing here is still excellent. `Keep on Loving You' is as anthemic as ever and `Can't Fight This Feeling' is always a romantic hit. OK, this may be cheesy in places and not very substantial, but it is great fun, of it's time and a great nostalgic hit for when the mood strikes you. Check it out.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Album on the whole, 19 Aug 2010
This review is from: Take It On The Run: The Best Of Reo Speedwagon (Audio CD)
With this being a first album of REO we've bought it's pretty good. Have liked the well known songs that you hear all the time on the radio, television adverts and complilation cds and wanted to hear a bit more. A few of the songs aren't quite the sing along ones we know, but they'll get there with listening! All in all we're happy with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the hits!, 6 July 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Take It On The Run: The Best Of Reo Speedwagon (Audio CD)
I purchased this CD cheaply for the one song 'Can't Fight This Feeling Anymore' (a great ballad and the only REO Speedwagon song that I was familiar with at the time). When I listened to the whole album I was very surprised. I now have so many more favourite songs from the band, including 'Keep on Loving You' (the only other song on the album which I instantly recognised) and 'Don't Let Him Go'. This is a generous compilation of 15 tracks, all of which are worth listening too.

'Take It On The Run' is a great introduction to the band's music. If you like bands like Boston and Foreigner, these guys are for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TAKE IT ON THE RUN - THE BEAST OF REO SPEEDWAGON, 17 Nov 2009
By 
Michael Timms (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Take It On The Run: The Best Of Reo Speedwagon (Audio CD)
WHAT AN OUTSTANDING ALBUM, I KNEW THE CLASSICS 'KEEP ON LOVING YOU' AND 'TAKE IT ON THE RUN' BUT THOUGHT WOULD GIVE IT A TRY AS I REALLY LIKE AMERICAN ROCK BANDS. EVERY TRACK IS REALLY GOOD WITH GREAT VOCALS AND SUPERB GUITAR SOLOS. IF YOU WANT AN EXCELLENTLY PRODUCED ALBUM AT A REALLY GOOD PRICE THEN LOOK NO FURTHER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Album, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's been a long time since I've listened to REO and this album is certainly worth the wait, I had forgotten just how good they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still Running!!!"!", 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
REO fan!!!!! no one beats this album. So unique in sound and every track tells a story. Once heard will always love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars some great tracks., 30 Nov 2012
By 
R. P. Everett (WORCESTER) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take It On The Run: The Best Of Reo Speedwagon (Audio CD)
I heard this band play on Live Aid in 1985 & they were excellent, great singing & lead guitarist. Every track does not suit but there is plenty to make cd worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take it on the run, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: Take It On The Run: The Best Of Reo Speedwagon (Audio CD)
i bought this cd solely to get Take It On The run as i have only got it on single vinyl and i must say i like the cd altogether but then i do like REO speedwagon anyway my boys love it too.
From Lesley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good product, 13 Oct 2011
By 
Luke Newman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Take It On The Run: The Best Of Reo Speedwagon (Audio CD)
I bought this cd for my mum, had all of her favourite tracks from REO Speedwagon.

Recommend if you Like REO Speedwagon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Take It On The Run: The Best Of Reo Speedwagon
Take It On The Run: The Best Of Reo Speedwagon by REO Speedwagon (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews