Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a surprise!!!!
"Saints & Sinners turned out to be an excellent album. "Pure shores" opens the work with a style very funky and even something pop. Although maybe it could be like something negative, since it was a single very successful and it would guarantee a first good impression. Personally I don't think it. Then the All Saints shines with "All hooked...
Published on 3 Nov. 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars SAINTS AND ALBUM FILLERS
It appears that All Saints really do not know which direction they really want to go in. To play it safe they are covering all areas. "Pure Shores" opens the album but is easily skipped due to complete radio saturation earlier this year. However looking back in retrospect,William Orbits landscape sound gelled well with the Saints harmonies. The second single...
Published on 13 Oct. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a surprise!!!!, 3 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Saints & Sinners (Audio CD)
"Saints & Sinners turned out to be an excellent album. "Pure shores" opens the work with a style very funky and even something pop. Although maybe it could be like something negative, since it was a single very successful and it would guarantee a first good impression. Personally I don't think it. Then the All Saints shines with "All hooked up", fantastic and amusing that is able to mix the irony with the reality that we gotta live in this moment. " Dreams " and " Distance " continue the album, I think they are not the best in the album, but they don't stop to be good songs. "Black Cofee" that was number one of the British charts, it follows the list. Their only defect consists on looking like each other too much to "Ray of light", obviously to be produced and co-written by William Orbit. "Whoopin' over you" one of the biggest successes in the Saints constitutes, due to the force of the song, although the melody is not very original, later we are in front of "I feel you", song that I don't like too much and that I had not included in the album, or I would have made it as bonus track. " Surrender " is good and the vocal arrangements are excellent, the same as in the whole repertoire. "It's quite amusing and funky also. Then we have "Love is love", the best song in the album for me, with a sound something futurist and very electronic. If it goes out like single will arrive to the number 1!!!. As for "Ready willing and able", I can say that it is fantastic! the same as "Saints & sinners", this last obligatorily it should be single!. Finally I can recommend that you buy the album, but if you already heard the previous CD and you are not in a rigorous sense a FAN of the All Saints, you should get ready for a change very, but very deep
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foxy foursome deliver even more the second time round!, 1 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Saints & Sinners (Audio CD)
All Saints' second album is even better than their quality debut. Covering a more varied range of styles, Saints & Sinners moves away from the tried-and-tested R'n'B formula and is more varied. Even non-All Saints fans will find something they like on here. The William Orbit produced stuff is definitely the most interesting - the two singles, Pure Shores and Black Coffee, capture that Madonnaesque feel, while Surrender and Dreams are also worthy of the No.1 spot. However, unlike Madonna did with her Ray Of Light album, the Saints haven't just collaborated with Orbit. The Lucy Pearl-like All Hooked Up is produced by K-Gee, who is also responsible for the R'n'B sounding material you can find on here. Highlights include Distance, a splendid fusion of latino and dance, and I Feel You, produced by none other than Mel Blatt's other half ex-Jamiroquai boy Stu Zender. Whoopin' Over You, Ha Ha, I Don't Wanna Be Alone, and One More Tequila prove the gals still know how to have fun and are real funky numbers. Love Is Love is similar to the big beat R'n'B singles flying up the charts these days, very Jennifer Lopez. Meanwhile, Ready Willing & Able gives the girls the chance to astonish us with their amazing harmonies, while Saints & Sinners is a tongue-in-cheek fast-paced track which finishes off things nicely. So the foursome may soon split, but buy this so their legacy lives on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars SAINTS AND ALBUM FILLERS, 13 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Saints & Sinners (Audio CD)
It appears that All Saints really do not know which direction they really want to go in. To play it safe they are covering all areas. "Pure Shores" opens the album but is easily skipped due to complete radio saturation earlier this year. However looking back in retrospect,William Orbits landscape sound gelled well with the Saints harmonies. The second single "Black Coffee" could easily be a track off Madonna's "Ray of Light".It is understandable why Madonna has opted for Mirwais for her new album as Orbits trademark noises are already sounding dated. All Saints resume pole position with the funky track, "All Hooked Up."This is the old Saints sound and suits Shaznays writing - which at times are basic nursery rhymes sexed up, and singing abilities. Its tracks like this that showcase her voice as a 21st Century Billie Holiday.It would be great to see this as the third single so we could see the girls getting a little more funky on TOTP's instead of waving their arms from right to left and looking wisfully towards fresh air, AKA the last two singles. "Dreams" is instantly forgettable."I Feel You" produced by Mel Blatts other half has the possibility of being their "Never Ever" track of this album. As a whole, rather listenable, but rather obvious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars V.GOOD, 4 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Saints & Sinners (Audio CD)
This is a great album and I am very glad I brought it. I think the best songs are 'All Hooked up(which I am surprised did not go to number 1),Love is Love ,Saints and Sinners and Surrender. I would buy this album if you are a big fan of the All saints and like 'Pure sures' and 'Black coffee'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant-better than ever, 16 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Saints & Sinners (Audio CD)
I can't say I really liked the music All Saints produced before but after hits "Pure Shores and Black Coffee" I decided to give it a go. It's excellent, catchy and bouncy "Saints and Sinners" is not at all what I expected. Usually a fan of old skool and rare R&B, I found this really refreshing. There are some really great tracks. All Hooked Up had me "hooked" straight away (S'cuse the pun!) and Surrender is a stunning tune. The girls have worked a miracle by combining many different types of music. You'll find pop, latino, R&B and country in quite a few of the tracks. This is soooo different to all the cheesy chart music that's out there at the moment. My personal opinion is that this is the best new release out at the moment. Well done All Saints for bringing such a great feel good album, my hat goes off to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funky and all that R&B..., 18 Oct. 2000
By 
Dan (Abbots Langley, Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Saints & Sinners (Audio CD)
People are going to slate this just because William Orbit has a part to do in this... This album is not a Breakthrough/Progressive album. This is an album that lets the All Saints grow and mature into the kind of artist that they are... Of course they will sound like a few people, but they must draw on thier influences. I like thier close harmonies and the way Shaznay sings in her own soulful way. The way they have used the guitar, to add an extra funkiness to it mixed in with that sometimes breaking R&B groove, gives the album an extra dimension to this... I haven't heard another chart album that uses these mediums really well, and that's what makes this album a joy to listen to. You can chill out to it. You can groove to it. You can cruise to it... So go and buy it. A welcome selection to anyones eclectic music collection... NICE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a pleasant surprise, 11 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Saints & Sinners (Audio CD)
I have to admit that having bought the first All Saints CD i wasn't expecting too much from this follow-up. The first album, bar the singles, was a thoroughly mediocre affair. What a surprise it was then to find that this albums shows strength throughout. The two singles Pure Shores and Black Coffee, although a little more polished sounding, are a good indicator for what the rest of the album has to offer. On the brilliant Dreams Natalie prooves that she can match the vocal abilities of Shaznay and Mel, and songs such as Whooping Over You and Surrender provide an obvious indication that there will be plenty more to come in the way of singles. The only down point is the dreadful Laugh Out Loud which is so bad it has to be heard to be believed. Apart from this one lapse the album is a very accomplished work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic New Album, 22 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Saints & Sinners (Audio CD)
It`s been a long time waiting for All Saints new album "Saints and Sinners", but well worth it! The All Saints fantastic sound - funky, souly, groovy, fresh and sexy - is represented on their new album by 12 (+bonustracks 14) great songs! My personal all time favourites are the kick-ass song "Whoopin over you", the smash single "Pure Shores" and the funky "Saints and Sinners". The songs have a more mature and groovy sound to their first album "All Saints", e.g the rthmical spanish "Distance" or the soft flowing "Ready, Willing and Able". Songs produced by William Orbit ("Black Coffee", "I feel you") give the album a new refreshing electronical sound. Congrats to the All Saints girls; Mel, Shaz, Nic and Nat: YOU ROCK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Are you a saint or a sinner inside?, 9 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Saints & Sinners (Audio CD)
When I bought this CD from Amazon I wasn't sure if I would like it or not as I wasn't too keen on their first album. I shouldn't have worried 'Saints and Sinners' is the best album that I have bought this year. All 14 songs have quality written all over them, it is one of the few CDs I can play without skipping a single track. I hope that the girls release Surrender and the title track as singles. A lot of reviewers have picked up on the similarity between this CD and Maddie's RAY OF LIGHT, I myself cannot see the similarities, Orbit has only penned a few songs on this album and even those were co-written by Shaznay. Saints and Sinners is the perfect CD to listen to at a party and for getting down to (Barry White style!!). British R&B has never been better than this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed bag, 8 Jan. 2001
By 
Mr. D. M. Eynon "derek_eynon" (Bromsgrove) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Saints & Sinners (Audio CD)
The William Orbit material is abolutely excellent but the self penned stuff is SO inferior it beggars belief. It would have made more sense to get the whole album outboard - written. 3 stars for the Orbit tracks, nil for the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saints & Sinners
Saints & Sinners by All Saints (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews