Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars1
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Price:£16.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 12 October 2011
01. Furi Furi '66 (1966, Spiders #1 LP)
02. Upside Down (1967, Spiders # 3 LP)
03. Go Go (1966, Spiders #1 LP)
04. Johnny B Goode (1966, Spiders # 2 LP)
05. Teardrops (1966, Spiders #1 LP)
06. Hey Boy (1966, Spiders #1 LP)
07. Mr. Tax (1968, Meiji One Hundred, Spiders Seven LP)
08. Yves (1967, Spiders # 4 LP)
09. Once Again (1966, Spiders #1 LP)
10. Ban Ban (1967, Spiders # 4 LP)
11. Yogiri No London (1967, The Spiders Meets The Savages LP)
12. Kuroyuri No Uta (1968, Meiji One Hundred, Spiders Seven LP)
13. Koi No Doctor (1967, Spiders # 4 LP)
14. Akai Dress No Onna No Ko (1968, Meiji One Hundred, Spiders Seven LP)
15. Robby Robby (1966, Spiders #1 LP)
16. End Of Love (1968, Meiji One Hundred, Spiders Seven LP)
17. Lucky Rain (1966, Spiders #1 LP)
18. Thinking Of You Baby (1966, Spiders # 2)
19. Little Robby (1966, Spiders #1 LP)
20. Kaze Ga Naiteriru (1967, Spiders # 4 LP)
21. Mo Ichido Mo Ichido (soundtrack)
22. S.P.I. (1967, The Spiders Meets The Savages LP)
23. Inside Looking Out (1967, Spiders # 3 LP)
24. Summer Girl (1967, Spiders # 3 LP)
25. No Mo Boy (1966, Spiders #1 LP)
26. Ano Niji Wo Tsukamo (1967, Spiders # 4 LP)
27. Mr. Monkey (1966, Spiders #1 LP)
28. Sad Sunset (1967, Spiders # 4 LP)

Japan's Group Sound scene took it's inspiration from The Beatles and other bands of the UK beat scene. Big Beat's 2 volume set of 'GS I Love You' is a comprehensive overview of the scene, featuring over 50 tracks recorded between 1965-69, with Vol 3 being dedicated to one of the scenes greatest bands 'The Spiders'. They were the only band to have a crack at breaking the international market and even managed an appearance on the British TV show 'Ready Steady Go'.

This comp covers The Spiders career from 1966-68 and concentrates on their own compositions which saw them dabbling in everything from Hendrix inspired fuzz to Beach Boy harmonies. There's no denying that the more up tempo tracks are derivative of the British and U.S. bands, but the Spiders play them with such a frenetic energy that it's hard to believe that rock 'n' roll did not originate in Japan. There are 2 stand out tracks for me: 'Teardrops' and 'Yves', which demonstrate a level of sophistication and originality that placed The Spiders on an equal footing with their western heroes.

The booklet is rich in both information and colour pics.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)