Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric Johnson : Guitar Legend.
Guys,you gotta buy this This is the best live album released
in the new millenimum ! This,for me,was the album that turned
Eric Johnson from a great guitar player into the best living and
breathing player on the planet!
The album was famously recorded live,over 3 dates
at 'Antone's' in Austin,Texas....With a lot of the parts totally...
Published on 4 July 2005 by Mr. G. Penton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I want to like it but after many plays I can't say I ...
I cant make up my mind about Eric. Apparently I saw him years ago, with Joe !. I want to like it but after many plays I can't say I do !
Published 1 month ago by Nigel Melvin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric Johnson : Guitar Legend., 4 July 2005
By 
Mr. G. Penton "jazzygeoff" (Derby,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live And Beyond (Audio CD)
Guys,you gotta buy this This is the best live album released
in the new millenimum ! This,for me,was the album that turned
Eric Johnson from a great guitar player into the best living and
breathing player on the planet!
The album was famously recorded live,over 3 dates
at 'Antone's' in Austin,Texas....With a lot of the parts totally
improvised,what you get is the real calibre of a tight band and
a great guitarist...
From the 1st few notes,Eric's famous 'Koto Effect',
on 'Zenland',you know that you're hearing something great! With
'Last House On The Block',the,band Alien Love Child, simply out-
gun Clapton & co from Cream...then you get it...this is Cream
updated...Highlights are too many to mention really.... the
blues-rock of 'Enzo Shuffle',the JLV track 'Don'tcha Know' with
Malford Milligan on vocals,the John Lee Hooker tribute 'The
Boogie King' and the pop-rock of 'Shape I'm In'....a great album
from top to bottom....armed only with a '57 Strat and a '65 335
the tones that this guy can get are astounding!
The Tone Star From The Lone Star's done great ! Just buy,buy,
buy...you're in for a treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eric Johnson chases the Clapton - Cream era tone..., 21 Nov 2000
By 
mhurds@tesco.net (Cheltenham, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live And Beyond (Audio CD)
... and succeeds!
A live album from Eric really is an event to treasure. His studio albums often take years to surface as his constant strive for perfection means that tracks often do not see the light of day until he is 100% satisfied.
On Live and Beyond we have the complete reverse... tracks recorded from a series of live shows performed in Austin in January of this year.
The typically atmospheric intro to the first track Zenland, a Johnson trait, leads into a storming blues shuffle. The verses/chorus's of Last House On The Block is very reminiscent of Cream, yet the long solo harks back to some of his fusion output with the Electromagnets.
If there is a standout track on the CD, then it must be the stunning 'Once A Part Of Me'. Here the vocal duties are performed by Storyville's Malford Milligan. His singing voice is soulful and emotive, and so is Eric's guitar playing, with the guitar solos possibly ranking amongst the finest he has played, they fit the tune perfectly.
The backing musicians are first class (Bill Maddox - Electromagnets (drums) and Chris Maresh - Monte Montgomery (bass), providing the perfect vehicle for Eric to perform over.
Although nine of the ten tracks featured on the CD showcases new material and give you an excellent impression of what a live Eric Johnson show is about (World Of Trouble is a studio track), you cannot hope but feel that it is four to five tracks too short.
This CD will appeal to Eric Johnson and blues fans alike, the overall impression is that it is unmistakably Eric, yet different from his studio output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well what do you think? it's fantastic, 1 May 2002
By 
Simon Daultrey "g3fan" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live And Beyond (Audio CD)
predictably.
This album is simply fantastic - almost as good as Venus Isle. I just got the US version released on Favored Nations - this has slightly nicer packaging, but the content is the same.
And the content is astounding. There's THAT unique Eric Johnson tone, and i knew that a Johnson live album would be a real gem after his other-worldly performances with Satch and Vai on the G3 live album.
This comes together to make a very CREAM-esque album with long, long solos and it is, yet again, made aparrent who many of his influences are.
If you're looking at Johnson for the first time, get this or Venus Isle, but make sure you're into REAL guitar music, and you like fluid, lengthy solos with a smooth, aquious tone (possibly a valve-state amp).
The album is produced by Johnson and Richard Mullen, with great band performances from Bill Maddox, Chris Maresh, Steve Barber and guest performances from Malford Milligan; it contains 10 tracks, with total play time of 52 minutes.
If you're already a Johnson fan, you should have got this right after you got Venus Isle - what are you waiting for? Just buy the CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alien Love Child, 14 Aug 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Live And Beyond (Audio CD)
An absolutely fantastic example of the work of Eric Johnson. It is most probably the best example yet of the skill behind this genius. The tone of Eric's guitar is undescribable. This album ceases to amaze me every time I listen to it. Eric's work just gets better and better, and after him and his band won six grammys with this album, it leaves us wondering how anyone can do better. Eric Johnson is one of most skilled and talented guitarists in the world. This album is full of soulful music and sweet guitar tone. If you're a fan of Eric Johnson the you'll already own it, but if you're new to Eric's work, then buy this and be amazed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "The Tone Ranger rides again", 9 July 2001
By 
Alister King "Big Al" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live And Beyond (Audio CD)
Recorded live (with the exception of one studio cut)in Eric's home town of Austin at Antone's famous blues club, we have here 10 jazz/blues-based, primarily instrumental (yippee!) cuts that are showcases for Johnson's swinging, rich and delicate playing and his wide variety of influences.
The atmospheric intro to the first track "Zenland",leads into a storming blues shuffle. Standout tracks include 'Once A Part Of Me' with the solo ranking amongst Eric's finest, and "Boogie King", a tribute to John Lee Hooker, which is Eric at his most aggressive.
Sound quality is superb and Eric is in absolute command of his awesome instrument. He delivers passages of pure lyrical beauty via his seductive and famous tone. "The Tone Ranger rides again" indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eric rocks, shuffles, comps and plays the blues., 12 Nov 2000
By 
This review is from: Live And Beyond (Audio CD)
It sounds like there is virtually no editing or multi-tracking on this. Live music as it should be.
Three great musicians play a great set of rock and blues numbers with a hint of jazz. It's all great, but track five is as blue as you like and then some. Searing lead playing with Eric's distinctive tone. This is the album of the year for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Live and beyond, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live And Beyond (Audio CD)
This is a great live album once you start listening to Eric Johnson you can't stop this live album is excellent well worth buying ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Expectations, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Peter L. Crisp (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live And Beyond (Audio CD)
A great live album, saw him a few years ago in Melbourne, stunning album and concert, brilliant production, guitar on fire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Virtuosity, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live And Beyond (Audio CD)
Guitar mastery that is second to none Eric Johnson without out a doubt is the absolute ultimate master of TONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Live and beyond-Eric Johnson, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live And Beyond (Audio CD)
This is an excellent live cd by a guitarist described by jbonamassa as 1 of the greatest ever.His Voice is ok but guitar tone and Style are superb and looking forward to seeing him in July 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live And Beyond
Live And Beyond by Eric Johnson (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews