Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I shouldn't be surprised
I bought this album primarily because I am a Rush fan and wanted to keep up to date with their stuff, also it seemed to have picked up good reviews on here. I didn't really expect Geddy's solo album to be anything other than OK; but I must admit I'm very surprised. There's a range of tempos and styles that keep you interested all the way through and the lyrics almost...
Published on 27 July 2004 by Christopher Chadwick

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wordplay
Have you noticed that lots of track titles on My Favorite Headache contain key words from either Rush song or album titles?

Grace
Moving
Window
Angels
Strange (strangiato)

Coincidence? Mmm?

True that it sounds like a Rush product, but that's to be expected I suppose, coming from the most recognisable member of any band;...
Published 15 months ago by Allen Richard George


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I shouldn't be surprised, 27 July 2004
This review is from: My Favourite Headache (Audio CD)
I bought this album primarily because I am a Rush fan and wanted to keep up to date with their stuff, also it seemed to have picked up good reviews on here. I didn't really expect Geddy's solo album to be anything other than OK; but I must admit I'm very surprised. There's a range of tempos and styles that keep you interested all the way through and the lyrics almost match those of Mr Peart's! Interestingly it's good to hear Geddy playing along with different musicians. Having listened to Geddy, Alex and Neil for many years, hearing a different drummer and guitarist playing along behind Geddy's voice is quite strange but oddly refreshing. The drumming is 'reserved' in a Bonhamesque way, especially compared to Peart's but it works very well. There are some great tracks on the album and it has grown on me immensely. Anyway, that's enough from me. I'm giving this album 5 stars for no other reason than because it's worthy of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geddy Shows How To Do It., 17 Dec 2000
This review is from: My Favourite Headache (Audio CD)
It's hard to pigeon hole this fine album,to say it is like a continuation of Rush material, would that be an insult or a compliment to Geddy Lee? I have not been a Rush fan for very long but I do own quite a few of their finest albums and MFH is in some ways very similar to T4E, but it still is quality material in it's own right. Songs like Still,Slipping,Window to the World & Working @ Perfekt are all finely crafted and dare i say it, chart friendly. Special mention however,must go to the song The Angels' share this is a magnificent song , my favourite of the year by far,if this song was released by a young trendy MTV regular kind of band, it would be a huge hit & sell by the bucket load, but because it is by an old rocker member of a "dinosaur" band it will largely be ignored and cosigned to oblivion, which suits me fine, because in a country where pap like S Club 7, Five, The Venga Boys and Westlife are regular chart toppers,the record buying public don't deserve quality records like My Favorite Headache in their collections. A quality album by a quality guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE MISSING RUSH ALBUM, 13 April 2004
This review is from: My Favourite Headache (Audio CD)
This is a metaphorical Piltdown Man to all Rush fans. To sum it up would be to liken this album as a collection of all the tracks that somehow never made it onto Test For Echo and Counterparts. You wont be disappointed ... despite any illusions Geddy may have had about taking a different direction from Rush ...from the first vocal note you cannot think this album is by anyone other than Rush. The only difference being it lacks the tight guitar work of the inimitable Mr Lifeson. Talking of which ... go and try Alex Lifeson's only solo outing called Victor ... a truly awesome festival of Alex at his best that shows the huge influence he has along side Lee and Peart in the group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does Geddy need Rush?, 1 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: My Favourite Headache (Audio CD)
This is most certainly the album of the year so far. After the slightly disappointing 'Test For Echo' from what seems like a very long time ago, it's nice to see at least the voice and bass of Rush returning in style. This is a fine blend of harder-edged rock and gentler, more radio-friendly songs - although, of course, as 99% of the UK music-listening public would not know who Rush are, let alone Geddy Lee, there's no chance of any UK airplay. Well, it's their loss.
I didn't expect the lyrics to live up to Neil Peart's usual high standards, but going by this, Lee should be sharing this aspect of his band's chores on their work-in-progress.
Being a Rush fan through and through, I was only being tongue-in-cheek with the headline. But if the next album from Geddy and friend(s) is anywhere near as good as this, it'll be a return to form. If not, I'll be more than happy supporting any future solo output on this basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a headache at all, 16 Nov 2000
This review is from: My Favourite Headache (Audio CD)
This album is so much more than a "Rush album delay first aid kit". Songs like the beautiful "Still" and the wildly kinetic "My favorite headache" highlights Geddy's unique approach to song writing, mixing haunting melodies with first-rate musicianship while remaining creative and original in his expression. Matt Cameron on drums might put of Neil Peart fanatics; being a drummer myself I saw this as an obstacle, but I can safely say that Matt is doing a wonderful job, showing much more finesse than what you might have expected from the legendary tasteful "Soundgarden" drummer. Geddy on the bass is, as always amazing, grooving harder than ever. If Ged is in this form when writing for the next Rush album I can safely promise you all a happy new year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the " Voice of Rush " returns with solo effort - not bad !!, 21 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: My Favourite Headache (Audio CD)
Its difficult to disagree with the viewpoint when listening to "Signals" or "Power Windows" ( both released over 15 years ago ) that Rush are no longer the innovative band they used to be . "Test For Echo" was a disppoinment in many respects as it very much came across as formularised and that the band had become a trifle predictable in an established comfort zone . It was therefore with great interest that I listened to Geddy's new release as a singer's solo album is always likely to be more identifiable with the main band than say a guitarist's ( viz. Alex Lifeson ) . With Ben Mink co-writing and playing guitar it was always going to have a different dynamic from Rush but that is no bad thing . With the exception of plodding rock numbers ( T4E rejects ? ) "Runaway Train" and "Home On The Strange" this would pass as a very good Rush album . Standout track for me is undoubtably "The Angels Share" which is such a beautiful song and shows that Mr Lee has a good grasp of great melodies . The album close "Grace To Grace" hints at a more innovative direction that I feel could have been more explored but maybe we have to wait on the next Rush album - if there is going to be one after the unbelievable misfortune of Neil Peart . Overall a very satisfying first solo album from the Voice Of Rush . Didn't have as much synth/keyboards as what I expected but still very enjoyable nonetheless .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated solo album, 8 Oct 2006
This review is from: My Favourite Headache (Audio CD)
Geddy Lee's solo record highlights his brilliance as a songwriter/lyricist outside of Rush, whilst obviously retaining a huge part of the characteristic Rush sound. Some of the album is quite melodic, with songs such as 'The Angels' Share' and 'Slipping', whilst other material invokes the spirit of Rush's futuristic techno rock such as 'The Present Tense' and the title track itself. Songs like 'Window to the World' are particularly evocative whilst 'Slipping' has plenty of emotional content. Overall one of my favourite albums from the millennium period; Rush fans and others should appreciate this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another new direction for Rush, 22 Nov 2000
By 
Mr. J. Taylor (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Favourite Headache (Audio CD)
Well to be surprised is an understatement.When it firsts starts with the title track "My Favorite Headache" with a thumping bass line followed by Geddy's singing,one might think ,ok another Rush album,but after several plays this is not the case. "My Favourite Headache",being the title track is a mix of heavy bass at times,but blends well with Geddy's singing and a very catchy tune,the guitar work I have to say is slightly differant in sound to that of Alex Lifeson. "The Present Tense", of all the tracks on the album ,this sound the most Rush like,from the likes of "Counterparts" if you like this album you will like this song,alot. "Window To The World",from the ticking of the clock at the start,I have to say this is one of the most tuneful and well sung songs on the album, it has a mix of everything and is very easy to listen to,a real chill out song. "Working at Perfekt" this is the stand out song on the album. The slow guitar work through this song coupled with a fantastic tune and Geddy's unique singing and Matt Cameron's drums is reason alone to by the album. "Slipping and The angels share" are two of the slower tunes,which gives a chance for people to hear the great voice Geddy Lee has and how it has changed over the years,slowish songs but never the less enjoyable, will take several plays to get into. "Runaway Train,Moving to Bohemia,Home On The Strange and GraceTo Grace" are more your straight foward rock tunes.
"Still"a slowish track again but this song to does tend to make you feel good,with Geddy singing in the softest manner found on the album. For Rush fans out there who wondered if there would ever be another album after "Test For Echo" then this is what you have been waiting for. There is material here for the die hards,but also a great new sound and feel that should gab a new fan base,this could well be the next direction for Rush.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Headache Of All, 13 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: My Favourite Headache (Audio CD)
An excellent piece of work from the Rush bassist. First there was Alex Lifeson's Victor which is also a masterpiece then this CD. If you are a Rush fan you will not be disapointed. To me it sounds like a Rush Album & would strongly recommend it.
Go out there and buy it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Geddy does Motorhead ... ?, 31 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: My Favourite Headache (Audio CD)
Well, not really, but listening to the intro of the title track you'd be forgiven for thinking so, since there's a very Lemmy-esque bass growl there. After that though, things settle down into a sound which is more Rush than Rush, but pretty good nevertheless.
For those who've only heard Ben Mink through his contributions on previous Rush tracks (eg. `Losing It' on Signals) will probably be surprised to hear that he plays a pretty mean guitar, amongst other things, whilst Matt Cameron acquits himself well on drums and, despite being more restrained than Neil Peart, is pretty good as well. In other words, all the ingredients of a `typical' Rush album are there: top-notch instrumentals, with Geddy's trademark bass runs much in evidence and thoughtful/meaningful lyrics. The latter point is good to note, since Lee rarely gets the chance to flex his lyrical muscle with Rush - not surprising, since most people would concede that Neil Peart is the better lyricist.
More Rush than Rush? Possibly.
Again, like a typical Rush album, there's a lot of variety crammed into 11 tracks ranging from straightforward, almost chart-friendly tracks like `Window To the World', through choppier tracks like the title track and`Moving To Bohemia' which, to these ears, sound a bit like the reggae/ska inspired tracks which were recorded in the `Signals' era to straight-ahead rockers like `Grace to Grace'. At the other end of the scale, we've got the beautiful `Still' which, weighing in at almost nine and a half minutes, is almost reminiscent of old-school Rush.
Those reviewers who've described `My Favourite Headache' as `Test For Echo part 2' are pretty close to the money - although this is probably not an album which will attract new fans, it gives the listener an idea of a direction in which Rush could (and probably should) move.
No real surprises in terms of content, but that doesn't stop it being a mighty good album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Favourite Headache
My Favourite Headache by Geddy Lee (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews