Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A CD FOR EVERY CHRISTMAS, 3 Jun 2006
This review is from: Charlotte Church - Dream a Dream (Audio CD)
Just want to say that this album is great. I put it on the stereo every Christmas without fail, as well as listening to it at other times of the year, and it always puts me in the Christmas spirit!! I love the song 'Ave Maria' the best - probably - although 'The First Noel' and 'Hark! The Herald Angels Sing' are both brilliant. An album that doesn't wear out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality operatic Christmas album, 27 Aug 2004
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charlotte Church - Dream a Dream (Audio CD)
I rarely listen to operatic music but there's no doubt about the quality of this album, mainly filled with carols. All the carols are well known in Britain but only some are famous in America so American listeners will get a chance to hear songs they are unfamiliar with.
Note that the UK edition of this album (which I have) includes First Noel, omitted from the American version. The two versions also have different cover artwork. The title track, not really a Christmas song, is one of two duets that Charlotte recorded with Billy Gilman - the other (Sleigh ride) can be found on Billy's Christmas album. Except for Winter wonderland and Christmas song, the rest of the songs focus on the religious aspect of Christmas.
All over the world, people will recognize classics such as O come all ye faithful, Little drummer boy, Mary's boy child, Hark the herald angels sing, Joy to the world, What child is this, God rest ye merry gentlemen, Ave Maria, O holy night and Silent night. Of the remaining songs, several American singers have recorded When a child is born - these include Johnny Mathis (who had a UK number one hit with it), Kenny Rogers and Judy Collins, but the song is not especially well known in America.
Charlotte is in fine voice throughout, supported by excellent orchestral backing. While this is not typical of the various styles of music I normally listen to, I can appreciate the sheer quality of this album and it's always good to have something different to listen to, especially at Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet Charlotte enhances the Christmas spirit, 17 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Charlotte Church - Dream a Dream (Audio CD)
A friend sent me the North American version of Charlotte's latest CD release, Dream a Dream, some three weeks ago. This is a very different Charlotte to the one we've come to know and love. Gone is the almost uncontrollable vibrato of her earlier must-buy recordings, "Voice of an Angel" and the self-titled "Charlotte Church". Arrived is the beautifully maturing voice of a young singer I've dubbed "The Welsh Daffodil". If this is the only purchase you make this year - buy this album now - and really enjoy the seasonal festivities. My favourite track? "A Child is Born" - A truly excellent release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Christmas music, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charlotte Church - Dream a Dream (Audio CD)
Was given this when it first came out but with a move lost it. Brought it again several years later and still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charlotte at her best, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charlotte Church - Dream a Dream (Audio CD)
I bought some of her more pop CD's I didn't like them, but her more traditional one was great, her voice is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charlotte Church - Dream a Dream (Audio CD)
Good bought for Xmas present. Arrived quickly. Would recommend to anyone who likes this type of thing. All ok ta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easily my favorite Christmas album, 12 Dec 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charlotte Church - Dream a Dream (Audio CD)
Dream a Dream is hands-down my favorite Christmas album. Released in 2000, this was only Charlotte Church's third album, but the young soprano's angelic voice was already perfectly suited for invoking the most beautiful strains of season's tidings and awakening the Christmas spirit in even the most unrepentant of Ebenezer Scrooges. Mixing traditional hymns with a few modern classics, Charlotte Church has made herself, in the form of this album, an essential part of my holiday preparations year in and year out.
The album opens with Dream a Dream (Elysium), Charlotte's duet with young Billy Gilman; granted, this is not exactly a Christmas song, but it is a beautiful, soul-stirring piece of music I can't keep myself from playing over and over again. It is a wonderful introduction to the other songs to follow. Among the tracks are several secular songs that all will recognize. Charlotte's unmatched professional musical styling imparts a refreshingly new spin on Winter Wonderland and The Christmas Song. The more serious When a Child Is Born, a song I was unfamiliar with, and The Little Drummer Boy, along with the joyful Ding Dong! Merrily on High stand somewhere between secular and religious pieces, providing an easy transition to the spiritual songs Charlotte was seemingly born to sing.
One comes to feel as if one knows certain hymns such as Joy to the World, O Come, All Ye Faithful, and Hark! The Herald Angels Sing from singing them in church every December, but no one I have heard has ever imbued these songs with the power and splendor that pours out of Charlotte's soul. The final verse and chorus of each of these hymns is simply amazing, with Charlotte gracefully lilting over notes far too high for most talented sopranos. The same can be said of O Holy Night; to me, this is the quintessential Christmas hymn, and only a rare few have the voice to sing the song the way it was meant to be sung. Of course, Charlotte's voice loses none of its power and beauty in songs written in a less vocally challenging register. Songs such as Mary's Boy Child, What Child Is This? (Greensleeves), God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen, and Silent Night reflect a somberly respectful quality, and Charlotte more than does these songs justice. She brings equal amounts of passion, warmth, and respect to each of the songs on this album.
Charlotte also provided me with a wonderful introduction to several songs I had never heard before: The Coventry Carol (Lully Lullay), Draw Tua Bethlehem/Far Over Bethlehem, Gabriel's Message, and Lo! How a Rose E'er Blooming. Draw Tua Bethlehem features both Welsh and English lyrics, and Charlotte's voice is equally beautiful in any language. For me, this entire album is nothing short of perfect. The contributions of the London Symphony Orchestra and Choir as well as the New London Children's Choir should not be overlooked, especially given the fact that several of these songs basically require the backup of heavenly choirs proclaiming the good news, and Julian Smith deserves recognition for his superb arrangements of most of the tracks on the album. With so much talent brought to bear on this project, it is only natural that this CD should find an important place in many a music lover's Christmas traditions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Classics!, 23 Nov 2002
By 
T. Milnthorpe "pipkiin3" (W-S-M) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charlotte Church - Dream a Dream (Audio CD)
This is my favourite of her albums. I love christmas so much, and ALL of these songs have a special christmassy feel to it. Charlotte sings perfectly through out, and never misses a note. Therer is a range of songs, from 'Winter Wonderland' and 'Dream A Dream' to traditional songs like 'Silent Night' and 'The First Noel' and 'Little Drummer Boy'. This is a fabulous album, that will really give you christmas cheer! If there one classical Cd you buy this year, make it this one! It really is WORTH IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9df9378)

This product

Charlotte Church - Dream a Dream
Charlotte Church - Dream a Dream by C Various (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews