Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning recording, 12 Aug 2007
This review is from: Górecki: Symphony No.3 (Audio CD)
Much less familiar than the famous Dawn Upshaw recording, this is in many ways even better than that superb recording. Here the orchestra is recorded to better and fuller effect, with the basses and cellos given wonderful prominence particularly in the First Movement. Joanna Kozlowska gives a heart-rending performance. For anyone who wants their appetite for this important work whetted anew, I strongly recommend this. Perhaps it is the pure Polishness of the performers -- one feels this is the whole tragic 20th century history of Poland being unfolded before one. Quite marvellous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, sombre and beautiful., 11 Jan 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Górecki: Symphony No.3 (Audio CD)
This is a dark and sombre symphony but don't let that put you off. If ever a piece of music was guaranteed to make the hairs on the back of your neck stand on end, this is it. You can feel the pain in Gorecki's music and Kozlowska's voice simply soars. An essential CD for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorecki with heart and soul, 28 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Górecki: Symphony No.3 (Audio CD)
This is a moving and cleanly recorded performance. Koslowska has a more vibrant and emotive voice than the more familiar and rather over-played 'Clasic FM' version. She beautifully conveys more of the pain and feeling that lie behind the piece. These are 'Sorrowful Songs', and complete serenity, after all, may not be what most people associate with holocaust. The Warsaw Philharmonic too have obvious reasons to put their heart into this powerful music. This is a haunting recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gorecki symphony no.3, 11 Jan 2012
By 
A. N. Beckwith "chef" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Górecki: Symphony No.3 (Audio CD)
brilliant music even if your not a classic ,music lover.
the story behind the theme of the whole symphony needs to be understood.
such emotion and no hatred of the oppressors that begat the writing of such a masterpiece.
it makes me cry. thats all i can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful piece, good version., 23 April 2014
By 
lumi (Northern hemisphere) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Górecki: Symphony No.3 (Audio CD)
I am very fond of this piece, and this recording also my expectations. Good orchestra and solist interpret this sad piece very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting requiem, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Archie (South Woodham Ferrers, Chelmsford, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Górecki: Symphony No.3 (Audio CD)
If you haven't heard it this is a haunting piece of music that moves everyone who hears it. I think it is one of those pieces of music that elevates its composer into the genius bracket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov 2014
By 
pa.D (Northumberland, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Górecki: Symphony No.3 (Audio CD)
Fabulous performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tragic, 9 Jan 2010
By 
A. M. Ross "chunkolini" (herefordshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Górecki: Symphony No.3 (Audio CD)
Made me cry on classic FM when I was doing the washing up, I was just able to write down the title.
Play it quiet and it is relaxing, crank it up loud and it can be scary.
As another reviewer says it sounds like a polish history, grim and tragic but not angry, a very special piece of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Górecki Symphony No. 3, 7 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Górecki: Symphony No.3 (Audio CD)
Incredible piece of music. Always takes me to a wonderful place then sets me back down in the real world again feeling nurtured and content. This production is good although I haven't compared it to any others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GORECKI SYMPHONY OF SAD THINGS, 29 May 2009
By 
Alvaro Caro Zezza (Cáceres, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Górecki: Symphony No.3 (Audio CD)
BEAUTIFUL, SLOW, A TOUCH OF SADNESS (SYMPHONY OF SAD THINGS), EASY TO LISTEN...A GREAT RECORD TO RELAX WITH
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Górecki: Symphony No.3
Górecki: Symphony No.3 by Kazimierz Kord (Audio CD - 2000)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews