Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its this or the Haitink, 6 Mar. 2013
By 
John HOLLAS (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always favoured Bernard Haitink's Debussy, which I remember from way back when he made serveral superb recordings in state of the art sound. Well, Ashkenzay and the Cleveland Orchestra seem to be almost their equal. This is a bargain not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeply expressive & colourful performances!, 24 May 2011
By 
Scriabinmahler (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Debussy: La Mer/L'après-midi d'une faune (Audio CD)
Having learnt all the art of conducting at this stage of his career, Ashkenazy made many good recordings with Cleveland Orchestra, and these DECCA recordings of La Mer, Nocturnes and Prelude are fine examples. He creates the maximum dramatic effect and the deep atmosphere in La Mer, while capturing the subtle nuances and colours of Debussy's orchestration masterfully in the other works. The sonics of the 80s' digital recording are just amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a superb gift for a lover of Debussy, 5 Jan. 2011
This review is from: Debussy: La Mer/L'après-midi d'une faune (Audio CD)
I bought this as a gift for my mother who is painter and loves to paint with her favourite music. This has been a great hit.... fine sound quality, and a price that cannot be considered anything other than fine value for money! This is not classical music of the coldly intellectual variety, but the romantic music of an era where painters were discovering the wonders of light in the open air, abandoning their studios for the forests and the riotous colours of poppies in fields and gardens. Music for the heart and the soul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The performance was very good. I just love Debussy's laid back style, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debussy: La Mer/L'après-midi d'une faune (Audio CD)
I found the music very relaxing. The performance was very good. I just love Debussy's laid back style. But when it really gets going to hear the sheer sound of the height of the waves. Then as the tide withdraws peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good recording, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debussy: La Mer/L'après-midi d'une faune (Audio CD)
As expected. Most enjoyable. A replacement for older/lost copy. Arrived in good time and. in good condition. wold recommend to Debussy lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debussy: La Mer/L'après-midi d'une faune (Audio CD)
Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Debussy La Mer, 11 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debussy: La Mer/L'après-midi d'une faune (Audio CD)
Love this cd. Good quality and tone partifularly love 'sirenes'. I often feel Debussy is a bit underated but this is a good introduction at a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 27 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Debussy: La Mer/L'après-midi d'une faune (Audio CD)
I haven't really got anything to compare these recordings with, but they all seem very good! The sound is very clear, so no complaints there.

Definitely a good purchase, if you want some of Debussy's orchestral works!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Debussy: La Mer/L'après-midi d'une faune (Audio CD)
vg
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First music download from Amazon, 1 May 2011
By 
M. L. Orr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
BEING MY FIRST MUSIC DOWNLOAD FROM AMAZON I WAS, AT FIRST, A LITTLE APPREHENSIVE BUT I NEED NOT HAVE BEEN.
IT ALL WORKED VERY SMOOTHLY, THE SOUND QUALITY WAS GOOD, IT ARRIVED VERY QUICKLY, AND WAS ADDITIONALLY PLEASING
BECAUSE I HAD HAD DIFFICULTY FINDING THE TRACK FROM OTHER SOURCES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Debussy: La Mer/L'après-midi d'une faune
Debussy: La Mer/L'après-midi d'une faune by Claude Debussy (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews