Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars105
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2003
In my opinion one of the best comedies I have seen.
With Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short all on top form as the three dim-witted unemployed Hollywood actors who are enlisted to help a little mexican village from the terrors of a man called "El Guapo"! The thing is...they think its just a show, that is until the real bullets start flying.
This film has some truly brilliant slapstick moments which I won't ruin for you (but the "my little buttercup" song and "male plane" joke had me in fits).
This film will keep everyone entertained with the various gunfights, a fight with invisible swordsman (doesn't last long), singing bushes, sing alongs and "male" planes. What is not to love about this film. It is Highly recommended.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2001
I love it every moment of it is so funny and I can watch it over and over again. The singing bush, Little Neddy, Germans, Mexicans, and pretty ladies this film has it all. Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short are so funny and it is there best film. In one words this film is Brillant and a must buy.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"We're just going to have to use our brains."
"Dammit!"

Back in 1986, Three Amigos! was considered a bit of a disappointment considering the talent involved, but it's aged surprisingly well even if it's more pleasantly amusing than side-splitting. The idea's pretty foolproof, replaying the old Seven Samurai/Magnificent Seven plot of a village beset by bandits (led by Alfonso Arau, Emilio Hernandez's sidekick in The Wild Bunch, but promoted to lead villain duties here) calling on a bunch of down on their luck heroes to defend them. Only this time, instead of ronin or guns for hire, after mistaking a movie for the real thing they call on three silent movie stars who have just been fired by their studio without even the shirts off their back in the form of Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short. The hapless trio aren't any the wiser either because the poor villagers couldn't afford to send them a detailed telegram, and from the ten peso version they ended up with they think they're just making a personal appearance south of the border where they still have some fans left...

It never quite makes enough of the comic possibilities, but even if it's more of a steady canter than a gallop it throws in just enough that does work or raise a laugh, much of it based on the various characters' ignorance (no-one knows what infamous, plethora or foreplay mean). It's a thoroughly good natured film, filled with a love of old movies and old Hollywood, and along the trail there's an invisible swordsman, Joe Mantegna playing his studio chief like Jimmy Durante, co-writer Randy Newman cameoing as a singing bush, a genuinely charming campfire singalong that attracts the local wildlife and a splendidly rousing and heroic Elmer Bernstein score that plays it all perfectly straight. And it's a lot more fun than A Bug's Life.

While the DVD release was barebones - just a trailer on the PAL DVD and not even that on the US DVD - HBO's remastered US Region A-locked Blu-ray makes up for it. From the surviving deleted scenes included, it's clear that it's a film that was badly compromised by a studio in too much of a hurry to get its three hapless heroes to Santo Poco. While it's understandable cutting some of the additional footage of the Amigos on the Hollywood backlot, it's pretty hard to explain the rationale for dropping the rather well-staged original opening sequence of El Guapo raiding the village, especially since it's what sets the whole plot in motion. Sadly too much is missing for a proper director's cut - most of Fran Drescher's scenes as a rival star and all of Sam Kinison's part as a cannibal mountain man were thrown out - but the 18-minutes of scenes taken from an earlier cut of the film are pretty decent quality and worth keeping in the picture. Aside from unedited footage of a brief and very flat on-set interview with the three stars that finishes just as they're starting to cook a little and a booklet containing a reprint of an Empire article reuniting the stars and director it's the only extra but, aside from a slightly oversaturated opening scene, it boasts a very impressive transfer.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 December 2011
An overlooked comedic classic (and pretty darn silly, too) "The Three Amigos" was overdue for a Blu-ray release.

Three silent film stars (Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short)known as the Three Amigos from their westerns. When the three are fired by their producer Harry Flugleman for demanding more money they desperately take the only job offered to them by telegram--to "perform" in a small Mexican village unaware that the villagers have mistaken them for real heroes and are hiring them to get rid of the bandit El Guapo.

Playing as a delicious parody of "The Magnificent Seven" (which was, in turn, an adaption of "The Seven Samuri"), "Three Amigos" plays with the conventions of the western genre and Hollywood personas. Written by Steve Martin, Lorne Michaels and Randy Newman (who also composed the campfire song), it was a box office flop when released back in 1986 but has gained a cult following since then. The premise worked so well that it appeared again in the film "Galaxy Quest" and even "A Bug's Life".

While I'm happy to finally have this on Blu-ray the transfer itself suffers from some compression problems and grain management is a bit inconsistent with some shots appearing grainer than others. The transfer also shows evidence of over processing over processing. This looks to be pulled from an old HD master but it is evidently a recent transfer which makes the sometimes sloppy presentation even more inexcusable. The film comes on a 25gig disc and while grain is quite prominent at times there are some problems with moire (which appears as "strobbing")aside from these problems the film looks pretty good if inconsistent in its presentation here. I'm guessing that most folks won't notice any of these issues.

Audio sounds exceptionally good with a lossless DTS-Audio 5.1 mix. It would have been nice to have an isolated score for Elmer Bernstein's marvelous music (which parodies his own score for "The Magnficient Seven")but it's possible the individual elements no longer exist.

We get deleted scenes some of which were cut by the studio when Landis was preoccupied with his trial for "The Twilight Zone" debacle (Landis could only edit the film at night and work on the post production then because his time was spent during at the trial during the day). These include an alternate opening sequence for the film. The deleted scenes were pulled from a preview copy of the film and are in decent shape but lack the sharper detail and presentation of the finished film. The rest of the deleted scenes and trims were sadly trashed years ago. We also get a vintage interview from 1986 with stars Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short. It's not color corrected and hasn't been restored. It was shot on video. We also have a reproduction of the interview the three comedians and director Landis did this year that appeared in Empire Magazine.

Although the presentation of "Three Amigos" isn't flawless, it looks pretty darn good for a mid-80's film. It's a pity there isn't a commentary track from the stars and director Landis but the limited extras we do get are quite nice and it's hard to argue with the price.

Recommended.
33 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2002
I first saw the Three Amigos a number of years ago and recently bought it on DVD. Along with digital enhancments it is still one of those comedy classics. Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short all give brilliant performances with great individual touches to the characters they portrait. There isn't a moment without comedy, "toungue in cheek" romance or mass gun fighting (with amazing gun skills) in this film.
Buy it! Its one of those movies you will want to watch over and over again.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Three Amigos!" is the kind of film comedy fans would want to own. But therein lies a problem for British buyers.

At present (March 2014) this American HBO Disc is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

It'll get a release on this side of the pond in the future no doubt (Region B). But until then - hold off and avoid an expensive disappointment...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2000
I think this is a very good film, especially if you have children. My son thinks it is great and is always singing the opening song. The whole family can watch this film many times always picking out bits we hadn't noticed before. The film may be unrealistic and silly but isn't that the point of comedies, it would be a very dull film if it stuck to real life.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
I love this movie. I have seen it several times and it still makes me laugh out loud. I love the way it starts, the misunderstanding which means the three actors are mistaken for real cowboys and the whole pastiche of The Magnificent Seven plot, music and setting.

The 'My Little Buttercup' sequence is brilliant. The guys in the bar are so dirty and believable and the bar tender looks so scared. It is very, very funny. The script is brilliant and never lets up and acting superb. Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short work together to produce truly one of the funniest movies ever. They must have had a permanent party making it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My brother has raved about Three Amigos for years, and somehow I had never managed to see it. On a recent visit, we fixed that. While I didn’t find it quite as funny as he did, I certainly did enjoy it.

The movie tells the story of Lucky Day, Dusty Bottoms, and Ned Nederlander (Steve Martin, Chevy Chase, and Martin Short), three stars of silent films who have starred in a series of Westerns together. They always win against overwhelming odds no matter where their picture is set. This catches the attention of Carmen (Patrice Martinez), who doesn’t realize she is watching a movie. Her village has been attacked by the evil El Guapo (Alfonso Arau), and she is trying to find someone to drive him and his henchmen away for good.

Her request comes at the perfect time since the actors have just been fired. Mistaking her request for help with a request for a personal appearance, they quickly set off for Mexico. Will they realize they are in way over the heads?

This is a cornball comedy. Don’t be expecting anything too serious or at times even logical. There are a couple of very random scenes in the film. You’ve certainly got to be in the right mood to watch the film.

I had heard about some of the lines and scenes from my brother over the years, yet I was able to enjoy them again when I saw them in context. This is absolutely a movie where knowing the punch line doesn’t diminish the humor at all.

And it is funny. The film is 30 years old, but it still brings the laughs. While I wasn’t laughing as hard as my brother was, I was certainly enjoying it. And I have a feeling that repeated viewings might make it even funnier for me.

The actors do a great job. Of course how could three comedy legends in the lead roles miss? All three are brilliant and deliver many of the laughs. The rest of the cast holds their own and get laughs when the occasion calls for it.

This isn’t a film that calls for much in the way of special effects, although there are a few moments that do. They work, although they don’t work quite as well as you’d expect today. Remember the age of the film and the genre, and you’ll be fine. There are many stunts in the film, however. They aren’t anything elaborate, but they work well.

So if you are in the mood for a funny movie with some pretty random moments, Three Amigos will certainly fit the bill. Sit back, relax, and laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2000
It seems that every time I see this movie it just gets better. The lines are classic, the slapstick is brilliant - from invisible swordsman to "Sew like the wind!" it's ridiculously funny all the way...
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)