Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are the three aaaaaaaaaa....migos
In my opinion one of the best comedies I have seen.
With Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short all on top form as the three dim-witted unemployed Hollywood actors who are enlisted to help a little mexican village from the terrors of a man called "El Guapo"! The thing is...they think its just a show, that is until the real bullets start flying.
This film has...
Published on 7 Nov. 2003 by J. L. Kelly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Excuse us, we're not Mexicans..."
"We're just going to have to use our brains."
"Dammit!"

Back in 1986, Three Amigos! was considered a bit of a disappointment considering the talent involved, but it's aged surprisingly well even if it's more pleasantly amusing than side-splitting. The idea's pretty foolproof, replaying the old Seven Samurai/Magnificent Seven plot of a...
Published on 4 July 2012 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are the three aaaaaaaaaa....migos, 7 Nov. 2003
By 
J. L. Kelly - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Three Amigos! [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
In my opinion one of the best comedies I have seen.
With Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short all on top form as the three dim-witted unemployed Hollywood actors who are enlisted to help a little mexican village from the terrors of a man called "El Guapo"! The thing is...they think its just a show, that is until the real bullets start flying.
This film has some truly brilliant slapstick moments which I won't ruin for you (but the "my little buttercup" song and "male plane" joke had me in fits).
This film will keep everyone entertained with the various gunfights, a fight with invisible swordsman (doesn't last long), singing bushes, sing alongs and "male" planes. What is not to love about this film. It is Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant, the best Steve Martin film you can buy, 27 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
I love it every moment of it is so funny and I can watch it over and over again. The singing bush, Little Neddy, Germans, Mexicans, and pretty ladies this film has it all. Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short are so funny and it is there best film. In one words this film is Brillant and a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it Amigo!, 8 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Three Amigos! [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
I first saw the Three Amigos a number of years ago and recently bought it on DVD. Along with digital enhancments it is still one of those comedy classics. Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short all give brilliant performances with great individual touches to the characters they portrait. There isn't a moment without comedy, "toungue in cheek" romance or mass gun fighting (with amazing gun skills) in this film.
Buy it! Its one of those movies you will want to watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Excuse us, we're not Mexicans...", 4 July 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
"We're just going to have to use our brains."
"Dammit!"

Back in 1986, Three Amigos! was considered a bit of a disappointment considering the talent involved, but it's aged surprisingly well even if it's more pleasantly amusing than side-splitting. The idea's pretty foolproof, replaying the old Seven Samurai/Magnificent Seven plot of a village beset by bandits (led by Alfonso Arau, Emilio Hernandez's sidekick in The Wild Bunch, but promoted to lead villain duties here) calling on a bunch of down on their luck heroes to defend them. Only this time, instead of ronin or guns for hire, after mistaking a movie for the real thing they call on three silent movie stars who have just been fired by their studio without even the shirts off their back in the form of Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short. The hapless trio aren't any the wiser either because the poor villagers couldn't afford to send them a detailed telegram, and from the ten peso version they ended up with they think they're just making a personal appearance south of the border where they still have some fans left...

It never quite makes enough of the comic possibilities, but even if it's more of a steady canter than a gallop it throws in just enough that does work or raise a laugh, much of it based on the various characters' ignorance (no-one knows what infamous, plethora or foreplay mean). It's a thoroughly good natured film, filled with a love of old movies and old Hollywood, and along the trail there's an invisible swordsman, Joe Mantegna playing his studio chief like Jimmy Durante, co-writer Randy Newman cameoing as a singing bush, a genuinely charming campfire singalong that attracts the local wildlife and a splendidly rousing and heroic Elmer Bernstein score that plays it all perfectly straight. And it's a lot more fun than A Bug's Life.

While the DVD release was barebones - just a trailer on the PAL DVD and not even that on the US DVD - HBO's remastered US Region A-locked Blu-ray makes up for it. From the surviving deleted scenes included, it's clear that it's a film that was badly compromised by a studio in too much of a hurry to get its three hapless heroes to Santo Poco. While it's understandable cutting some of the additional footage of the Amigos on the Hollywood backlot, it's pretty hard to explain the rationale for dropping the rather well-staged original opening sequence of El Guapo raiding the village, especially since it's what sets the whole plot in motion. Sadly too much is missing for a proper director's cut - most of Fran Drescher's scenes as a rival star and all of Sam Kinison's part as a cannibal mountain man were thrown out - but the 18-minutes of scenes taken from an earlier cut of the film are pretty decent quality and worth keeping in the picture. Aside from unedited footage of a brief and very flat on-set interview with the three stars that finishes just as they're starting to cook a little and a booklet containing a reprint of an Empire article reuniting the stars and director it's the only extra but, aside from a slightly oversaturated opening scene, it boasts a very impressive transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One to watch again and again, 24 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
I think this is a very good film, especially if you have children. My son thinks it is great and is always singing the opening song. The whole family can watch this film many times always picking out bits we hadn't noticed before. The film may be unrealistic and silly but isn't that the point of comedies, it would be a very dull film if it stuck to real life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Three Amigos!" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With This 'USA-ONLY' Disc..., 18 Mar. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"Three Amigos!" is the kind of film comedy fans would want to own. But therein lies a problem for British buyers.

At present (March 2014) this American HBO Disc is REGION A LOCKED - so it won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

It'll get a release on this side of the pond in the future no doubt (Region B). But until then - hold off and avoid an expensive disappointment...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Terrific movie, so-so transfer, 12 Dec. 2011
By 
Wayne Klein "If at first the idea is not absu... (My Little Blue Window, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
An overlooked comedic classic (and pretty darn silly, too) "The Three Amigos" was overdue for a Blu-ray release.

Three silent film stars (Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short)known as the Three Amigos from their westerns. When the three are fired by their producer Harry Flugleman for demanding more money they desperately take the only job offered to them by telegram--to "perform" in a small Mexican village unaware that the villagers have mistaken them for real heroes and are hiring them to get rid of the bandit El Guapo.

Playing as a delicious parody of "The Magnificent Seven" (which was, in turn, an adaption of "The Seven Samuri"), "Three Amigos" plays with the conventions of the western genre and Hollywood personas. Written by Steve Martin, Lorne Michaels and Randy Newman (who also composed the campfire song), it was a box office flop when released back in 1986 but has gained a cult following since then. The premise worked so well that it appeared again in the film "Galaxy Quest" and even "A Bug's Life".

While I'm happy to finally have this on Blu-ray the transfer itself suffers from some compression problems and grain management is a bit inconsistent with some shots appearing grainer than others. The transfer also shows evidence of over processing over processing. This looks to be pulled from an old HD master but it is evidently a recent transfer which makes the sometimes sloppy presentation even more inexcusable. The film comes on a 25gig disc and while grain is quite prominent at times there are some problems with moire (which appears as "strobbing")aside from these problems the film looks pretty good if inconsistent in its presentation here. I'm guessing that most folks won't notice any of these issues.

Audio sounds exceptionally good with a lossless DTS-Audio 5.1 mix. It would have been nice to have an isolated score for Elmer Bernstein's marvelous music (which parodies his own score for "The Magnficient Seven")but it's possible the individual elements no longer exist.

We get deleted scenes some of which were cut by the studio when Landis was preoccupied with his trial for "The Twilight Zone" debacle (Landis could only edit the film at night and work on the post production then because his time was spent during at the trial during the day). These include an alternate opening sequence for the film. The deleted scenes were pulled from a preview copy of the film and are in decent shape but lack the sharper detail and presentation of the finished film. The rest of the deleted scenes and trims were sadly trashed years ago. We also get a vintage interview from 1986 with stars Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short. It's not color corrected and hasn't been restored. It was shot on video. We also have a reproduction of the interview the three comedians and director Landis did this year that appeared in Empire Magazine.

Although the presentation of "Three Amigos" isn't flawless, it looks pretty darn good for a mid-80's film. It's a pity there isn't a commentary track from the stars and director Landis but the limited extras we do get are quite nice and it's hard to argue with the price.

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chuckles from the beginning, 14 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Three Amigos! [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
I love this movie. I have seen it several times and it still makes me laugh out loud. I love the way it starts, the misunderstanding which means the three actors are mistaken for real cowboys and the whole pastiche of The Magnificent Seven plot, music and setting.

The 'My Little Buttercup' sequence is brilliant. The guys in the bar are so dirty and believable and the bar tender looks so scared. It is very, very funny. The script is brilliant and never lets up and acting superb. Steve Martin, Chevy Chase and Martin Short work together to produce truly one of the funniest movies ever. They must have had a permanent party making it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy for all the family, 29 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Three Amigos! [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
It seems that every time I see this movie it just gets better. The lines are classic, the slapstick is brilliant - from invisible swordsman to "Sew like the wind!" it's ridiculously funny all the way...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars What is a plethora...., 17 Nov. 2013
This review is from: The Three Amigos! [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
When silent film stars Lucky Day, Dusty Bottoms and Ned Nederlander get fired, they take a job offer from Mexico, doing a show with El Guapo, supposedly the most famous actor there.

Traveling there in expecting good money, they arrive only to learn that El Guapo is a cruel gang leader suppressing people.

He abducts the mayor's daughter Carmen, in revenge for the people's cry for help.

Now, all hopes of the village folks rest on the weak shoulders of three actors.....

Martin was one the biggest comedy actors at the time of this film, as were Chase and Short, so they could do anything they wanted, and with Landis at the helm, that's exactly what they did.

The film is way ahead of its time, and its almost Monty Python in its execution, meaning that many of the jokes would go over most people's heads. The first act is pretty slow, but its the build up to the main event.

As soon as the Amigos enter Mexico, the film ups its game, and it turns into something not as generic as you would have been led to believe, eg. Its not a studio safe comedy.

From singing bushes, invisible swordsman, and song and dance numbers, the movie is beyond bonkers and the three leads play it straight all the way.

Its not your typical eighties comedy, hence the poor box office, but its a funny movie, a great companion piece to Tropic Thunder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Three Amigos! [DVD] [1987]
The Three Amigos! [DVD] [1987] by John Landis (DVD - 2001)
£3.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews