Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, gripping film
I also remember with fondness the TV series and agree that the movie is not a replacement for the series. But, in its own right the movies is well worth watching. Modern viewers will probably be disappointed by the lack of graphic violence, but what is there is shocking in its suddenness and brutality. It also shows what can be done with a few blows. The acting throughout...
Published on 4 Oct 2007 by Harsh Critic

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Movie
This movie is a slightly extended version of the original play and adds bits to show more of Callan's sometimes vicious nature and Callan's and Lonely's more friendly interaction.

The performances of Edward Woodward and Russell Hunter as Callan and Lonely are up to their usual high standard but I missed actor Anthony Valentine in the role of Toby Meres as he...
Published on 26 Jan 2011 by Nigel At


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, gripping film, 4 Oct 2007
By 
Harsh Critic "Fan of Great Music" (Ramsgate, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Callan: The Movie [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
I also remember with fondness the TV series and agree that the movie is not a replacement for the series. But, in its own right the movies is well worth watching. Modern viewers will probably be disappointed by the lack of graphic violence, but what is there is shocking in its suddenness and brutality. It also shows what can be done with a few blows. The acting throughout is first class. All who have seen the TV series will miss the classic opening sequence of lightbulb which set the tone for the whole saga.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Movie, 26 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Callan: The Movie [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is a slightly extended version of the original play and adds bits to show more of Callan's sometimes vicious nature and Callan's and Lonely's more friendly interaction.

The performances of Edward Woodward and Russell Hunter as Callan and Lonely are up to their usual high standard but I missed actor Anthony Valentine in the role of Toby Meres as he did in the early TV series, he completed the strong triangle of main characters.

Whilst I think the film is only worth having if like me you get it for a very low price and as an introduction to the TV series the DVD does also include an excellent (one way) interview from Edward Woodward which in itself justified the price I paid.

I would strongly recommend Callan - The Monochrome Years [DVD] [1976] [1967 with the original play and what remains of the first and second series an excellent DVD and good value, 11 episodes and the play, all good and interesting stories, good screen quality too and of course Edward Woodward's fine portrayal as the troubled assassin.

Personally I'll wait and see if the prices of the colour episodes sets drop before buying but I might give in before then as I remember some great Callan stories that I've not seen since early Sky satellite days.

If you like this type of high quality of acting, story telling and characters then I also suggest you look at another fantastic TV series with good quality DVDs and another great actor and character made for each other - Public Eye with Alfred Burke as Frank Marker - starting with Public Eye - The Complete 1969 Series [DVD] [1965.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wetwork, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Callan: The Movie [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
Callan a former intelligence officer, was been forcibly retired, he is called back into service to handle a `Wetwork' assignment, the assassination of a German entrepreneur. His former boss Colonel Hunter (played by Eric Porter), he assures Callan that he'll be reinstated to active status as long as he complies. As other reviewers have commented some `modern' audiences will probably not appreciate this movie, as they have fed a diet of so called high octane thrills, spills and CGI. For me the acting is good and the story line well played out, I did miss the absences of the rather visceral swinging light bulb, from the rather excellent television series - well worth a good five star rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Callan, 4 Feb 2012
By 
James N. Beatson "Jim Beatson" (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Callan: The Movie [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
I loved the TV series, although looking at videos of the "monochrome years" I have to say it was clearly made on the cheap. The TV version of this story, "A Magnum For Schneider", was set almost entirely in three locations; Callan's flat, Hunter's office and Schneider's flat. It worked fine at the time, but this remake has far better production values. Much as I love the original this is superior, with Schneider living in a country mansion and the action spread over several locations. Callan fans will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bolder than Bond, 13 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Callan: The Movie [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
Strong characters and subtle dialogue make this a favourite of mine. The environment and the people therein are presented as rich and full bodied.The screenplay isn't action packed at all and has less in common with Bond than it does with Sandbaggers or Spooks for instance. David Callan's cold scripting depicts a man of the particularly cerebral underclass and I find him satisfyingly well rounded. The underlying torments that exist between Callan and his employers eek out beneath a series of quietly seething exchanges in which Callan expresses his distain for his boss and the work they do. Despite being at odds with authority and having being put out to pasture into a seeminly mundane office environment, Callan wants back in, something inside him wants the excitement, he's good at what he does and he knows it. However, all is not as it seems and his quarry is closer than he thinks. Callan's mission is a slow burner, espionage style, up close and personal and swapping character development for car chases, make it all the better.

The most telling exchange is between Callan and the younger man sent to replace him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars well acted, but daft plot, 21 Jun 2011
By 
Graham R. Hill (Ilkley) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Callan: The Movie [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
The film may not be true to the television series (and probably never could be), but it is true to the sixties/seventies spy film genre. The hero is an outsider, motives are unclear, there is much double crossing, sub-plots are left unresolved, and vast resources are deployed by the security services from their secret headquarters in a run-down part of town. I defy anyone to have the remotest idea what is actually going on, but it's well acted, the model soldiers are very nice and not for the last time Dave Prowse has his voice dubbed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant British Drama, 27 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Callan: The Movie [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm too young to have watched the Callan series, but my parents introduced me to it when we watched this DVD and I'm hooked. Brilliant characters, brilliant acting, brilliant scripting... I cannot praise this film highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice to have, 6 July 2004
By 
J. Clark "hyperbolelad" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Callan: The Movie [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
Not as satisfying as the tv series,but given how much of the Callan tv series has been lost its great having this movie which is based upon the first ever tv play of Callan and gives it the more expensive production values than tv could at the time. This dvd is particularly worth having for the excellent interview with Edward Woodward in which he manages to cover just about all anybody could ask about the Callan programmes. Woodward comes across as being a very honest intelligient, articulate and thoroughly nice unpretentious man.

I was only ten when the series originaly aired on London television,but I do remember it being a favourite with my parents and watching the series via the wonders of dvd all these years on I can see why because they are just thoroughly absorbing dramas. You cant help but wonder what makes the lead character ie Callan tick, he's far too caring a man to be involved in the dirty tricks department of the British secret service.

In the movie Eric Porter (best remembered for playing Sherlock Holmes's arch enemy Moriarty in the definitive Jeremy Brett Sherlock Holmes series) plays Callans commanding officer, Hunter,and in the tv boxset Hunter is played by the even more interesing William Squire. I reckon there is a fair bit to compare in the evil genius Moriarty and the scheming ministry of murder commander Hunter.Both are Napoleans of misdeed presiding over their minnions like evil puppeteers pulling the strings. Hunter in the tv series does occasionaly have an almost fatherly touch particularly in the way that he has such enormous belief in Callans ability to do the job despite Callan's uncalled for character trait of having compassion for the victims. Watching him in the movie one can definitely see why Eric Porter was chosen for the part of Moriarty in the Granada tv Holmes,his portrayal of Hunter is totaly the epitomy of Sherlock Holmes's reptilian opponent which he was called upon to play over a decade later . Interestingly William Squire went on to play superbly another Holmesian character the litigious busy body (nosey neighbour on the moors)Stapleton in the BBC's 1982 "Hound of the Baskervilles" Sherlock Holmes tv dramatisation played by Tom Baker so yet another Sherlockian connection.

Regards.

Jim Clark..London..England aka poetryanimations at youtube
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top drawer stuff, 13 July 2014
By 
Quackers (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Callan: The Movie [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
Spin-off from the classic series.

Top drawer stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A cracking film, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Callan: The Movie [1974] [DVD] (DVD)
The late Edward Woodward at his finest (apart from the Wicker Man) in a role i don't think anybody else could have played as the killer working for british intelligence. This is nothing like Spooks so some people maybe disappointed that there's not loads of action in it, this film like the long running tv series shows the human side and the price paid by those working for the security services. Woodward is brilliant as the reluctant spy doing the dirty work for the establishment and we follow him as he fights a constant battle with his conscience over some of the things he has done. Quality acting and a storyline to match well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Callan: The Movie [1974] [DVD]
Callan: The Movie [1974] [DVD] by Edward Woodward (DVD - 2001)
5.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews