Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everything Humble Pie did for Immediate, then some, 1 Oct 2011
By 
70s "arrow" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Natural Born Bugie - The Immediate Anthology (Audio CD)
Great sounding set of cds as mentioned before, lovely warm sound. I never realised that Pete Frampton added so much hammond to these discs. What you get is the complete first 2 albums and 9 unreleased tracks.Some instrumentals, a couple of backing tracks sans vocals and an alternate mix, plus a studio jam. Excellent, this is all the Humblie Pie from the early years that you need, sounding great and a cheap, wonderful way to get the first 2 albums and much more. VERY highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Never too old to Bugie, 21 Nov 2011
By 
Smitty Werbenjaegermanjensen (real name) (Thread rehab facility 37) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Natural Born Bugie - The Immediate Anthology (Audio CD)
I had never heard Humble Pie before and was always curious to find out if I could hear what it was about Steve Marriotts singing that a lot of folk raved about, so I bought this. What a bargain!

2 cds packed full of this cracking band from the early 70's that had slipped under the radar. Marriott is an amazing singer, full of soul and gutsy rock vim.

If you are curious just go ahead and buy it, you won't be disappointed! If you are familiar with the band and are missing a few tracks then go ahead, the sound quality on this compilation is first class.

I really enjoyed the bonus tracks, possibly more than the "main" tracks. They were even more stripped back/primal than the main body of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All part of the industry of human happieness, 20 Jun 2001
By 
Nigel Atkinson (Ryton, Tyne and Wear United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Natural Born Bugie - The Immediate Anthology (Audio CD)
Well, Andrew was right in backing the first of the supergroups. This document from a turbulent year could be subtitled as what Steve and Peter did next. The Steve and Peter relate to Marriott and Frampton respectively. Credit must also mention the most underrated rhythm section of Jerry Shirley and Greg Ridley.
So what has history left us? Well, in this cold digital age, its hard to find a warmer human earthy and soulful sounding set.
For those already who know the band I won't regurgitate the history of Humble Pie, but for those of you joining the party late I'll add the following musical references. Mix equal parts British Blues with American soul and add a touch of Olde English pastoral values and you'll get the picture.
For further help bear in mind its hard to hear the likes of Traffic, Bowie, Led Zeppelin, Free and latterly Weller, Oasis and the Black Crowes without hearing Humble Pie.
On a different note credit must be given to however was responsible for this reissue. Although the ground work was done down at Olympic studios in '69 this set sounds fantastic in its digital format, whoever works at the Castle formatting suite should be congratulated for the mastering on this set. Oh, and the artwork and liner notes are great as well!
So what are you waiting for?? Haven't I said enough? Go and buy these CD's !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a nice slice of Pie Humble Pie that is!, 18 Feb 2005
This review is from: Natural Born Bugie - The Immediate Anthology (Audio CD)
Marriot and Frampton two genius the two albums from Humble pie mark 1 this collection is a rough but yet wonderful mellow entertaining batch of songs to rock out with all your mates on a friday night. Every mothers son needs this album in there collection sorry for the pun but it had to be said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Joy!!!, 9 Mar 2010
By 
Silver Alchemist (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Natural Born Bugie - The Immediate Anthology (Audio CD)
I can't possibly better the review by Nigel of Newcastle, so I'll just add that I fail to see how you could get more for your money, than buying this collection.
It's worth the price, just for the sublime version of "For Your Love"
Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Catching up with the Pie., 8 Dec 2013
By 
C. Williams (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Natural Born Bugie - The Immediate Anthology (Audio CD)
Always loved the Small faces and the Faces with Rod. Never really sampled the full Humble Pie bought Thunderbox a mixture of covers and originals and enjoyed it. Still getting to grips with Natural born bugie, I'm sure it's going to be a grower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Natural Born Bugie - The Immediate Anthology (Audio CD)
Peter Frampton and Steve Marriott - what more could a music lover want!! Such a combination of raw talent. Excellent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Wonder of Stevie, 26 Jan 2006
This review is from: Natural Born Bugie - The Immediate Anthology (Audio CD)
As a Small faces fan, who hadn't heard any Humble Pie stuff, I really warmed to Humble Pie. Although Humble Pie are a great collective band,it's still the Vocals of Marriot that stand out for me personally. If you like down home bluesy rock n' roll (think Wham Bam era Small Faces), then I think you'll like this collection. Saying that, there are some nice slow burners as well. If you love Steve Marriots voice, then C'MON CHILDREN!, buy this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Natural Born Bugie - The Immediate Anthology
Natural Born Bugie - The Immediate Anthology by Humble Pie (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews