Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What short memories a lot of people have.
Got one of these for my daughter at Christmas. Initially felt a bit guilty as a lot of her friends either got a PS2, gamecube or an X-box. However I picked up the console, 3 pads, memory cards, 12 games-around 9 which are damn good, steering wheel and dance mat for just over £140. This may sound a lot for what is essentially labelled an 'obsolete console' but try picking...
Published on 10 Feb 2003 by Pinky4

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed
After waiting a week to get my order, which I understand it's Xmas time so mail is slow. I was
very disappointed. The console came over packaged and next to impossible to get into. With no controller, which it clearly says in the description should be included. With a ruf connector, which doesn't fit on any of my televisions. So I now have to go out and buy a...
Published on 16 Dec 2010 by PURE


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What short memories a lot of people have., 10 Feb 2003
By 
Pinky4 (Irvine,Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PSone Console (Video Game)
Got one of these for my daughter at Christmas. Initially felt a bit guilty as a lot of her friends either got a PS2, gamecube or an X-box. However I picked up the console, 3 pads, memory cards, 12 games-around 9 which are damn good, steering wheel and dance mat for just over £140. This may sound a lot for what is essentially labelled an 'obsolete console' but try picking up 9 good games and one of the other consoles for that price.
Anyway my point. I got this machine Christmas 2002, X-box and gamecube released early/mid 2002 and the PS2 shortly before Christmas 2001. Now that is essentialy just a year where the PSone has had any REAL competiion (sorry Dreamcast loyals!)and look how many people now laugh at,dismiss and generally slag off this machine that no doubt just over 1 year ago they were perfectly happy with. Are they ashamed or something?
Comparisons to the new 'big 3' are also laughable.
It's old - well YES it is nearly 8 years old now.
It's graphics are poor/flickery - No they are not,SNES,Saturn and even N64 (the Playstations original rivals)now THEY had flickery, blocky graphics.
It has no real new releases - Harry P's, Dance games, Treasure Planet 3 that prove that one wrong.
It's only a Ps-one - No it IS a PS-one. A damn fine machine in it's own right.
I have a GBA and have not played it ONCE since Christmas day, such is the attraction ,playability and satisfaction that can be gained from this machine.
I have also priced several of the games I bought my daughter for Christmas on the big 3 and have found, in some cases, that where I paid £12-17 for them they cost between £35-£44 on them.
What is they point of owning a machine, or buying one for your children, that you can't afford to run?
Also I hear replacements for the big 3 are almost complete and could be out as early as 2005, talk about longevity!
In short yes I can see that it's days are numbered, new release wise anyway, but with over 1200 games avaliable (if you can find them)and the imminent replacment of the competition,it should not be discounted as a serious choice if you are looking for a dedicated games console for yourself, a pressie for the kids or something to take your mind off your upcoming final exams! (like me)
Cheap as chips gaming that is extremely enjoyable, in my humble opinion anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW AS I SPENT A LOT OF TIME WRITING IT., 16 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: PSone Console (Video Game)
I think that the playstation is fantastic.I don't see why everyone is buying playstation 2.I personaly think that playstation 2 is a waste of money,you had to order it three or four or even five months ago.Who cares if it has a DVD player.My Dell computer has a DVD player so i don't have to buy one.And even if you dont get one the games are limited and really expensive.I think that the original playstation is better value for money and for the games and the games prices as well.The playstation is compact so that you can fit it nearly anywhere.Also the controls are easy to use and all of my friends agree with me on all of the things that i have wrote.So over all i think that i will give the playstation a 5 out of 5.Thank you for taking time to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomeness., 25 Sep 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: PSone Console (Video Game)
Now, in 2010, many people would simply laugh and think you're joking if they hear you've bought a PS1. The thing is, after all, getting on for 15 years old now, and games being released for it are practically non existant.
However, the PS1 gives ten times the amount of friendly entertainment than anything else on the market - seriously. It's the single most fun thing to play on with your mates in the universe. Sure, the graphics are blocky, the technology antiquated and it sounds like your old cassette player you threw away five years ago, but the huge mountain of games you can get for it are the sort of games you can play again and again, and they never get old. The controllers are simple and slim which can sometimes make you feel as if it's more natural to play with the pad on the left as opposed to the analogue sticks on dualshock controllers. The actual style of gameplay is addictive and fun, and the games can be very challenging - don't underestimate the quality of gameplay and think it'll be a walk in the park. It isn't. Games are just as demanding on the PS1 as modern games consoles, and it keeps willing you on to continue playing.
If you don't have the money for a PS2 or 3, then I implore you: Buy a PS1. In my opinion, it's better than the other two, and you won't ever tire of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A games console that doesn't cost the earth, 11 Feb 2005
By 
This review is from: PSone Console (Video Game)
Okay so Playstation One a bit dated when you think of what other consoles are out and about in the 21st Century but there is something almost timeless about the Playstation One, especially as it plays all those oldies/goldie games that have yet to make it to Playstation 2.
I like the Playstation One because it is SO compact and streamlined. Not only that but you can by an attachable LCD screen for it so you don't have to rely on the TV.
If you are like me, someone who travels a lot, then this is a console that is easy to pack along with the LCD screen and it doesn't take up a lot of room in your luggage.
There are still accessories that you can buy, like a Playstation one carry case, extra handsets, cheat systems and memory cards and they don't cost the earth.
Also Playstation One games are a lot cheaper than some Playstation 2 games, you can buy them second hand for a few quid, one the downsides is that new Playstation One games are now in decline so eventually it will become an obsolete console at some point but that is a few years away yet so you might as well enjoy it whilst you can like I am doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Neat, 8 Sep 2008
By 
Frederick Graham (Whitley bay, Tyne and Wear, The UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: PSone Console (Video Game)
I loved the PS (the chunky one). It was a revolutionary console, bring ing gaming into the 3D - so untill we find 4d, no console has a chance of juming as larger barrier (still true 15 years from its release).

This was the first home console I owned, and it served me well. Don't bothere buying one now - just go for a 6th era console if you want cheap thrills. I got a copy (just for sentimental purposes) for £2 (or the £1.78 change I had left) at a local market. For me, it marks a simpler time - before I moved on to 6th era and eventually PC (the best platform) gaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good console at a great price., 27 Feb 2006
By 
Accidents (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: PSone Console (Video Game)
For those of you who used to own the original Playstation but, like me yours mysteriously stopped working when it was stepped on by an unbelieveably foolish visitor, this is a must have. A classic console, this slimline version looks so nice and is so compact that you can literally put it anywhere. I'd also like to point out to gxay that the Gamecube (while being the greatest console ever) is a generation ahead of the PSOne and so the two should not be compared. This console is great for fans of the classics, as a Nintendo fan through and through I don't own that many games, but Final Fantasy VII, VIII and IX are timeless classics that no one can resist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Playstation one, 11 Mar 2008
By 
J. Porter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: PSone Console (Video Game)
So, after buying this console i was firstly quite amazed at the size of it. Even after looking at numerous pictures of the ps1 i was still shocked at the dvd box sized contraption.
I think it should be also noted that the memory card DOES NOT come with the system. The memory card enables you to save your progress on the individual games, and quite rightly, some may assume it does come with the console, 'fraid not. Luckily its going for £3-£5 on amazon so its not an expensive addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Playstation Goes portable?, 1 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: PSone Console (Video Game)
This amazing new invention from those wonderful people at Sony, allows you to take your console with you wherever you go! It is a first for gaming systems as it is the smallest gaming console EVER! It plays normal Playstation games and has the same gaming capabilities as its big brother, but only a third of the size. A must have for gaming fans who want a portable games console.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PSone-The Playstation mini, 30 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: PSone Console (Video Game)
An excellent and innovative idea, The PSone allows a well thought of alternative to anyone who only wants a taster of the Playstation. Although it doesn't have the speed of the Playstation, nor can it compete with the 'first'- factor. However it over-compensates with its sleek and chic design (and its great value). A great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Opinion, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: PSone Console (Video Game)
The PS1 came in good working condition and came with all the necessary cables (RFU adapter/Scart and the power cable) Plus it came with a perfectly working PS1 controller that has no visible damage and all buttons and triggers work !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

PSone Console
PSone Console by Sony (PlayStation)
Used & New from: £19.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews